Shit People Say to “Africans”

31 Jan

_______________________________________________________________

Come on people, you all know this is what life is really like in the good ole US of A.  Check this.  This was typical of my daily life in college and also why I anglicized my first and last name.  Without Regret:

 

Place, college.  Semester, every semester.  Week, doesn’t matter – happens all the time.

 

Professor:  Anderson, John

Student: Here

 

Professor:  Beecher, Patrick

Student: Here

 

Professor:  Conrad, Jessie

Student: Here

 

Professor:  Embrel, Samantha

Student: Here

 

Professor:  Ayzzz….Ayzzzz…Easy?

Me: *sigh*

 

Professor:  Ayzaygwaaaaahhhh……? Ewww?  Eeeewch.  Ewwwkrea? Ewwchaaariiiiah?

Me: Here

 

Professor:  Can you pronounce that for me again?

Me: Eucharia Ezeagwu

 

Professor:  Interesting name!

Me: *facepalm*

______________________________________________________________

 

After college, proud of my newly minted degree, I send out hundreds of resumes.  No calls. No interviews.

I anglicize my name when I get my citizenship and send out more resumes.  Dozens of calls, a lot of interviews.

 

______________________________________________________________

 

Meanwhile….many many years later

 

Boss:  Hey the name on your degree is different from the name you use now.

Me: Yeah, it was pretty hard for people to pronounce so I use my dad’s first name now.

Boss: Oh, so how do you pronounce this?

Me: Eucharia Ezeagwu

Boss: *silence*

Me: *blank stare*

Boss: Well thank goodness you changed it.

Me: *blank stare*

__________________________________________________________________

 

Ah, to be Americanized.

 

4 Responses to “Shit People Say to “Africans””

  1. JustDoyin January 31, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    waoh! ok…y did i think it was only here in the UK that we get these name issues and the resulting challenges? you dont want to know the many variations of my name and surname that i’ve been subjected to…if only I could anglicize/westernize my names too – life would be easier won’t it?

  2. Ginger February 2, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    smhahol. I havent seen this kinda rabid illiteracy here so i shall assume these are Americans who truthfully understand little about countries beyond their borders.

  3. bobbie February 9, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    coooooooooool video..
    Can we also get our team to post a link to http://shitpeoplesayabout.com/ shit people say about

  4. worshipandswag February 10, 2012 at 6:17 am #

    Hahahahaha I saw this video on Facebook and was cracking up for real. The conversation with your prof, I’m all too familiar with it myself. I don’t pronounce my last name to teachers anymore, I spell it! Well unless they specifically ask for a “lecture” on how to say it then I have to explain blah blah blah. Lol :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

