Be gentle. It’s my first time.

20 Aug

Okay, okay, I give, I give!!!

I have finally caved into this webpit called blogging.  As a first time blogger … arguably inspired by the blogger Vera, whose blog verastically living is the like the cat’s meow … I will do my very best to make her and  blogville proud.  Should I introduce myself?  Probably.  I am female (like that’s a surprise), originally from Nigeria, now living, working and loving in the USA. 

FLAG_NigeriaUnited_States_Flag%20(Small)Like most immigrants, I have a love/hate relationship with my adopted land.  I feel like I am married to Nigeria and cheating with the United States.  I mean, this country is like a jealous mistress.  She loves you, cares about you, gives you all the attention you need.  But when it is time to go home to your wife and kids, she clings to your pants, threatening to commit suicide if you leave.  Okay, that was  bit dramatic but you get the gist.  Those of you that have been here longer than five years, ya’ll  know what I talking about, right?  I can’t even dream of going back home.  The thought of leaving the 24-hr power supply, good road, awesome cable channels, easy transportation etc gives me hives.  Infact the only thing I hate about my mistress, the US, is that she spends too much of my money and by that I mean TAXES.  Oh yes.  The good ‘ol USA Inc.  I give her my credit card (W2s), she goes over the limit, and I don’t even know until the bill arrives.  The new bank account? (Government Bailouts), that was me. The new car? (Cash for Clunkers), oh year, I paid for those.  Those new Guccis she has been eyeing for a while? (Healthcare reform) , I will be paying for those.  But I love my mistress, even though she has kept me from home for too long.  I love my wife too.  But anytime I go home, I get headaches because nothing in the house works.  Not the driveway (roads), not the electricity, (need I explain?), even the kids’ tuition have not been paid, so they stay home from school.   Enough about my domestic problems.  Just enjoy this blog and keep me in check when I get out of line.  Not.  Ha ha!  Ciao.

10 Responses to “Be gentle. It’s my first time.”

  1. Bennie August 28, 2009 at 9:30 am #

    Hey Rosie,

    Had a feeling that lucidlillith was you but wasn’st quite sure. Congratulations on your blog. P.S I know what you mean with the love/hate relationship-lol!

    Are you on facebook?

    • Rosie September 4, 2009 at 8:46 am #

      Bennie! Thank you for visiting. I am still trying to figure out this blogging thing sef. so far I am having fun. Yes i am on facebook but it should be easier for me to find you.

  2. DiAmOnD hawk August 30, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    welcome to blogging.!

    • Rosie September 4, 2009 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks Hawk. I hope I don’t mess up.

  3. tobenna September 2, 2009 at 2:53 am #

    Thanks for dropping by mine.
    Welcome onboard.
    Apparently you have been writing for a while so this must be a small thing 🙂
    Nnoo..
    Hope you visit regularly?

    • Rosie September 4, 2009 at 8:50 am #

      Tobenna. – After reading your blog, i know feel mine is like a tiny mosquito. Is possible I have blog envy. Regards to your wifey.

  4. yinkuslolo September 6, 2009 at 2:08 am #

    Nice metaphorical write-up Rosie

    and welcome to blogsville!

  5. ibi September 6, 2009 at 2:37 am #

    welcome on board

  6. Good Naija Girl September 8, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    Welcome to blogville, Rosie! I remember being certain that you must blog once I knew you wrote for NIA. Now you do! hurray!

  7. Rosie September 8, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    @yinkuslolo thanks for the welcome, so far so good oh.

    @ibi thank you my dear

    @Good Naija Girl figured it was about time I started blogging. Me and my opinionated self need an outlet.

Leave a Reply

