Saving for retirement

1 Sep

I have the secret.

And I don’t mean that questionable book that tells you to wish upon a star while living life as a couch potato.  I have figured out the best way to save for retirement. This advice is meant for only women of color as we are the ones that spend a small fortune on our hair.  What’s the secret?  Fire your stylist.  Yup!  I said it.

For those of you in the hair business, don’t get your panties in a bunch.  This is not an attack on your profession.  It is just plain common sense.  I spend close to $150 a month on my hair.  That’s $1800 a year minus day-to-day maintenance i.e. hair cream(s), color, shampoo, conditioner, hair oil, hair food, mousse, gel … etc… you get the gist.  It was the first monthly check I made out to TIAA CREF (to fund my Roth IRA) that bummed me out as I found it would take a big bite out of my regular monthly allowance for ‘just stuff.’ I could not get rid of my Netflix subscription. That’s just lunacy.  My boyfriend will have a fit if I get rid of my internet.  Cable is a must.  And there is no way I could go any lower on groceries.  I am already buying generic-only foods (tried Great Value yogurt lately anyone? Tastes great and is cheaper than those other guys.  Now, Wal-Mart, pay up for this free ad)

That left grooming.  Make-up is a no-go area.  Girlfriend needs her face.  Skin care is definitely a must since aging is a b***h.  Hair on the other dog-frohand…I found I could easily partially fund my IRA if I eliminated trips to my hairdresser.  I have spent at least two decades beating my tough hair into submission with relaxers and curling or straightening irons.  Maybe if I just let it be, I could save money.  To get the optimal low cost hair, I have to go eau naturale, as in grow out my real African hair – a ‘fro is you must.  I am in week one.  My co-workers don’t know what to make of my sudden African-ness.  I went from the perfectly coifed, relaxed and straightened, non-frightening, non-confrontational black woman, to this, poufy-curly look.  It’s like they keep expecting me to yell out: “Black Power!”

Meanwhile, I am still doing my research.  Turns out, it will take me about a year to grow out my processed hair.  A year is a long time.  And $1800 is a lot of money – a brand new HD 50 inch television to be exact.  Or a portion of my yearly IRA contribution.

I’ll let you guys know how it goes.

11 Responses to “Saving for retirement”

  1. Temmy Tayo September 5, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    I swear your psot cracked me up. Why do we need to spend so much on hair. I tire.

  2. lifeofastranger September 6, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    too funny. Thankfully I am already on that view. Been au naturael for decades.

    Welcome to blogville.

  3. chayoma September 6, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

    Gurl i knw what u mean
    this month i spend only $10 as oppposed to my usual $100.
    Slowly getting there. Taking great care of my hair now.
    Keep me informed on the transition. i actually thot of that, really i did. i love the naturalle look.

  4. ShonaVixen September 7, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    LOL!! First time here and loving it!!

  5. ochuko September 7, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    ‘They’ said we should make you feel welcome!!
    So feel welcome!! lol..
    Ok lemme go read your post 🙂

    • Rosie September 8, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

      your are doing it backwards. you read first then come back and tell me I am awesome..lol.

      • ochuko September 9, 2009 at 3:21 am #

        No, i din’t do i backwards…
        lol @ post.. DIY is the new order as I’m made to believe.
        ‘Black power’ is doing you some good savings.. lol..
        Update us on the ‘movement’. Cheers

  6. Vera Ezimora September 7, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    LOL!!!!!!!

    You know, I have thought about this several times, but I have often quit the idea once I get to the part where my hair becomes due and too painful to comb.

    So week one ey? Lemme know how it goes by week 8. LOL @ Black Power. hehehehehe.

  7. webround September 7, 2009 at 11:51 pm #

    hahahha.. guys already figured that one out.
    2 – 3 weeks after a guy arrives yankee from Naija, he goes and buys a hair clipper and instead of going to the barber’s shop (you first have to find one that cuts African American hair) every week, he indulges in DIY (Do it yourself) hair cutting..

  8. Rosie September 8, 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    Chei! i did not know a lot of us in blogville already figured this out. Why una no tell us now?

    @Temmy Tayo us women like punishment no be small.

    @lifeofastranger abeg tell my how it is going for you. I am having some kind of image crisis.

    @Chayoma $10! haaaa na you biko. You are really hard core. I on the other hand am beginning to experience a little breakage. Me thinks hair mayonnaise will do the trick.

  9. Rosie September 8, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    @ shona vixen thanks! I am glad i am not making you snooze big time. would have eba-riced Vera.

    @Vera so na today you remember me enh? I for don divorce you pata-pata.

    @webround I envy men oh! They know how to uncomplicate their lives. We can learn a thing or two from you.

Leave a Reply

