Turtle aka Mr. Clean aka Speedy Gonzales

29 Sep

When it comes to cleaning, the most a man is likely to do when it comes to spillage is throw a paper towel over a mess and hope for the best.  Yes, yes, I know I sound like a man-hater but the truth is that this whole cleaning lady phenomenon boomed because single men hired these professionals to clean their bachelor pads.  And married men hire cleaners because their wives nagged requested it because everyone else on the block had a cleaning lady.

I don’t think I will be one of those that will be getting a cleaning lady no matter how much I nag ask because last weekend, while Turtle and I watched the Dexter Season Three marathon over the SpeedyGonzalesweekend, he did something quite remarkable.  Half way through episode eight, he spilled his glass of red wine on his cream colored carpet.  Next thing I know, bobo was up and out of the couch in a flash.  He went into the bathroom, grabbed some cleaning stuff and raced back into the room.  Then he was on his hands and knees splashing this and dabbing that, then using a rag to scrub vigorously.  Before my very eyes, his carpet was back to how it was before.  This RED WINE we are talking about people!  The killer of fabrics!  The ruiner of carpets! The maker of drycleaing fortunes!

At first I was like ‘WTF.’  This dude is making me look bad.  Then I was like ‘wow’  since I could recall numerous battles with carpet stains that I had lost.  I had new-found respect for him.  I was said, “whoa.  How did you do that?”

He stood up, flicked his eighties hair back and said, “It’s all about speed, baby.”mr-clean2

I am in awe.

P.S. Just figured I can’t call him Mr. Clean since he has a full head of eighties hair.

2 Responses to “Turtle aka Mr. Clean aka Speedy Gonzales”

  1. doja September 30, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    Well some girls have all the luck.

  2. Original Mgbeke October 5, 2009 at 1:20 am #

    LOL, not to pour sand on your garri but it was his carpet. Who wants a red wine stain on their carpet. Let’s see if he’s quick to wipe mess off his counters.

Leave a Reply

