Retirement plan update

12 Oct

I promised to apprise you guys of my retirement plans aka the ‘fro movement.  I did it.  I cut my hair.  I remember walking into the salon and telling the barber to take it all off.  He was like, “are you sure?” I said, “yes, but hurry up before I chicken out.”  He rubbed his clippers ( I swear he did) and said, “I am going to enjoy this.”  All the women in the salon stared open-mouthed as my lengthy hair fell off in clumps all around me.  After he was done cutting off my hair, the lady next to me said, “congrats.  Your’re free.”

I waited to get home before freaking out.  I am ashamed to say I was in a fetal position for about 15 minutes questioning my decision.  Turtle was cool … he said I looked great.  I knew I looked like an “mgbeke.”  (No offense to you Original Mgbeke). I have been wearing a wig to work…no need freaking my co-workers out too although one guy is on a one-man campaign to make me reveal the budding ‘fro.Low Cut

I know I will actually come to love my new look.  I will probably grow it out for a couple of months before rocking my low fro cut.  I am a renegade.  A freaked out daring renegade that defies society’s eurocentric standards.  A renegade wearing an Asian woman’s hair. Okay I take that back.  My reasons have nothing to do with self hatred of my kinky nappy hair.  Nappy’s good.  It’s natural.  But I am doing it for money.  Besides my $30 wig, I have not spent another dime on my hair.  Now – that’s emancipation from relaxers, hours at my hairdresser’s, buying extensions, spending an entire evening washing my hair.  Now, I jump in the shower, giggle as the water tickles my scalp, get dressed, don wig, out the door.  I save a good half hour per day getting dressed without wrestling with my tresses.

Isn’t it strange that Chris Rock is out and about promoting his Sundance film, ‘Good Hair.’  I can’t wait to see it.

8 Responses to “Retirement plan update”

  1. Good Naija Girl October 14, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    You did it! How low did you go (colour me embarrassed if that picture on the right is of you)?

    It’s tempting to just chop it all off but I’ve always said I can’t ever go too low because of all the scars on my scalp from all the RELAXER BURNS over the years (I guess my scalp is supersensitive).

    I love the idea of being able to throw on a wig and not having to worry about the hurr!

    • Rosie October 14, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

      Yes, I did it! Ha ha ha…not without a lot of stomache churning moments. I did go as low as Solange (above). I thinks she is fayyyyyyn! And balsy. I can’t believe you have relaxer burns on your head. Really???? That must have hurt really bad. This wig thing..people are loving it. and so am I. But I can wait to grow mah fro and rock the establishment.

  2. yinkuslolo October 14, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    Oh, I just did that too. maybe not for the same reasons tho.

    GNG, the lady in the picture is solange.

    • Rosie October 14, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

      Girl, we should start a movement.

      btw- what are your reasons?

      • yinkuslolo October 19, 2009 at 2:41 am #

        lees stress over hair. ba kudi also. i dont have its time anymore

  3. NoLimit October 14, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    Well done gal…
    I think there is an Afro revolution going on…no???!!!

  4. Original Mgbeke October 15, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    Hahahaha, welcome to the club. Hopefully you grow to love it.

  5. Rosie October 19, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    NoLimit: i think so, oh. More of us are kinda taking off the shackles.

    Original: Oh yeah! I am can imagine my poufy hair a year from now all big and threatening. With me looking like Jill Scott, I may be able to get into Jazz Clubs free…he he he he.

Leave a Reply

