Dreaming of a Staycation

20 Oct

Have you ever felt like you were screaming out loud on the inside and yet when anyone looks at you, all they see is a calm and collected individual?  Lately, I have become so busy with my real life and my virtual life that I don’t feel like I have a life at all. With work and school and writing and blogging and trying to keep a relationship from hitting the skids, all of a sudden, I just want to disconnect from everything and hit CTRL-ALT-DEL.  I feel like a good ole staycation…like I used to have before I moved from North Dakota back to civilization…you know…forget facebook, sign off twitter, get off the e-mail train, log off the computer, turn off your cell, get groceries for four days, rent all six seasons of sex and the city and do a marathon, eat, sleep, shower if I feel like it, and basically just love being a couch potato.  No body to bother me in the outside world.  Just me, the remote, finger foods, my couch and my Michigan (Go Blue!) blanket.   couch_potato_cat

When I emerge from my self-imposed seclusion, I usually feel re-calibrated or rejuvenated – fresh.  But that feeling disappears when I open the first e-mail at work and it starts all over again and all I want to do is crawl back into seclusion with an entire season of my favorite Korean dramas.  Yes.  I love Korean dramas – they are my guilty pleasure.  Some people love Spanish soaps, I love k-dramas.  But let’s leave this discussion for another day.  Where was I? Aha, seclusion.  When I open that first e-mail all I want to do is run back home and shut the world out.  It’s not that I am a recluse by nature, it’s just that life has gotten so complicated with 24-hour cable television, cell phones, social media, work, meetings, deadlines…even when I take a personal day, chores take over. And I am single.  With no kids.  How the heck am I going to cope when I start to reproduce? Just thinking about kindergarten, doctor’s appointments, cooking and cleaning and dealing with fevers and infections ….*shivers*

Enough about my mental re-calibration needs.  Just wanted to plug in Vera’s blog radio for November 7 which I will be co-hosting called, “What do Women Want?”  Yeah, I know…what was she thinking asking me to co-host right?  Ha ha.  Make sure to tune in.  It should be interesting.

7 Responses to “Dreaming of a Staycation”

  1. Myne Whitman October 20, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    Ahhh, to just sit down, relax and tune out the rest of the world. Hmmmm. But like you said, sooner or later, the rat race continues. I see women with children and fear really catches me, make I no lie, LOL. E no easy. But sha, take time out to rest oo, no need to burn out.

    We’ll be watching out for you on Vera’s radio then.

  2. Original Mgbeke October 22, 2009 at 12:22 am #

    Girllll, I’m with you. I need a staycation for like a month. Just back to feeling kinda overwhelmed, tired and blah-ish.

  3. blogoratti October 22, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    Dreaming of a staycation,hnnm don’t we all !!
    Time out from everyday hassles…

  4. Rosie October 22, 2009 at 11:48 am #

    Myne: I am feeling so exhausted. Do you know of any writers’ retreat or something? I can’t wait for Vera’s show…exciting!

    Original: If could get a month off work, it would be a miracle. This nation is the only one that is so stingy with vacation days. I should move to france. They get six weeks off every year.

    Blogoratti: If only we had pause buttons…if only…

  5. Afronuts October 22, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Its good to seclude oneself and not go with the flow.
    Its the best opportunity to do one of life’s most important exercises – THINKING!

  6. Ms.Sula November 13, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    Ok, I know this post is old but I have been catching up on you and I have to say you are quite HILARIOUS!!

    But what made me come out of lurkdom (old blogger who went bust) is this:

    Yes. I love Korean dramas – they are my guilty pleasure.

    OH MY GOD! And I thought I was the only one. In my previous apartment, I didn’t have AsianTV at home so I used to spend hours on the treadmill at the complex gym just to get my fill of Korean Soap Operas. My Asian friends call me Boston Cream Donut… you know chocolate on the outside yellow-ish on the inside. Very happy to find a kindred soul!

    Lol! I’ll keep reading your adventures and maybe that’ll make me get back to blogging?

    • Rosie November 13, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

      Well, well, if I am responsible for getting you out of retirement, then blogville owes me a round. K-Dramas are so awesome. In fact, I just went off on a Netflix Customer Service rep for ruining the order my discs were sent to me. I was bristling with anger. No one messes with my series oh! Ha, maybe we can exchange notes on what we have watched and what we havent. Also, I have a few series I purchase. Those DVDs are expensive sha.

Leave a Reply

