Nostalgic for naija life

30 Oct

Getting around: bolekaja (cargo trucks), okada (scooters/bikes). I hate danfo.

Everyday people: obioma (seamsters), madam put (roadside eatery), gate man (security)roasting

Food: nkwobi, obacha and palm oil, real ogiri smell, goat head pepper soup, real ewedu and amala – not the processed crap you find here, Agabalumo fruit, road side food like pear, corn and suya!

Places: Victoria Island, Lekki Beach, Ajao Estate, Festac

‘Normal’ things we do: killing goats and chickens in the backyard, haggling in the market, fetching water from the next door neighbor’s bore-hole, playing ten-ten, playing team lekki1hopscotch on wet sand

Celebrations: Ji Ofuo (New Yam Festival), Id-Il-Fitri (no school plus our Muslim neighbors give us a lot of ram meat), thanksgiving at church, Boxing Day (day after Christmas)

Sounds: Muslim call to prayer at 5 a.m., conductors shouting destinations, hawkers shouting out wares, Harmattan wind in December, fights in face-me-I-face-you (one-room apartments)ZIMBABWE CHOLERA

Things I am not so fond of: fetching water, washing dishes in the backyard, washing clothes in the freezing Harmattan morning, walking to the market and NOT coming back with what my mother wanted, getting mugged in the market, cooking, (at the time was a pain, now I love it…thank goodness for kitchen gadgets), being dropped off for catechism while my siblings went out to Federal Palace Hotel or Bar Beach, my brothers hogging the TV (which explains why I always have two TVs), waking up at 5 a.m. for early Sunday mass.

Things I miss doing: having akara or moimoi and ogi after mass, having rice and stew for lunch on Sundays, enjoying a rare “serve yourself” (buffet) my father hosted for the entire family including the boy-boys, maids, uncles, aunts, cousins, next door neighbors, in fact anyone who walked in the door, going on family outings

 Feel free to add yours in the comments box.

 

19 Responses to “Nostalgic for naija life”

  1. Tatababe October 30, 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    I miss

    Food: suya

    Fruit: Agbalumo, Mango, Corn (the corn & mango at my end are so not cutting it for me)

    People: my family, my friends especially from high school….I went to a boarding school too…

    I miss being a little kid

    • Rosie November 2, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

      Ooooh…I forgot about Mango…the real stuff not the one you find here that tastes like last years fruit. I don’t miss board shool. I was miserable there.

  2. Myne Whitman October 30, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    I miss the harmattan, the thunderstorms, curling up and telling stories as it got cold and dark. Running in the warm rain, fetching rain water…too many to count. I love naija!

    • Rosie November 2, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

      I miss ‘Tales by Moonlight’

  3. Harry October 31, 2009 at 3:52 am #

    LOL… I don’t miss anything…I am still in Naija

    • Rosie November 2, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

      Send me some corn and pear na…

  4. parakeet October 31, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    oh my my…this post made me miss Nija so much. I miss having Suya and bread…phew!

    • Rosie November 2, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

      Bread and tea on a cold December morning…..especially Ovaltine.

  5. Original Mgbeke November 2, 2009 at 1:23 am #

    LMAOOO, funny and very nostalgic post.
    I miss: Suya, walking across the street to buy phone credit from the MTN ‘dealers’, all the various fast food zones…meatpie and sausage rolls, yum. CHEAP braids, Uni in Naija (too much fun but I don’t miss the strikes sha), the weather etc etc. It’s a lot of stuff I miss about home mayne.

    • Rosie November 2, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

      Meat pie and sausage rolls…yum. Remember scotch egg from Mr. Bigs?!

  6. Carlang November 2, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Lol.
    Sounds like you miss a lot. I’m with you on most of them.

    But if you do return , you’ll probably be writing a blog on all the things you miss about the states.
    How much you miss all those fantastic cable stations and series, the good old hot dog, the fantastic donuts being able to kiss in broad daylight whenever you want…

    Sigh.

    We can’t win them all..

    P.s You can leave a comment on blogspot if you have a gmail account ID… you just need to sign in with that.

    • Rosie November 2, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

      LOl so true. We are doomed to be stuck btw two worlds.

      I don’t have a gmail account. Is there a way to enable OpenID on your blog?

  7. BBB November 2, 2009 at 4:20 pm #

    oh nothing..
    am still here
    thanks for stopping by

    • Rosie November 5, 2009 at 11:30 am #

      Thanks for stopping by triple B!

  8. blogoratti November 3, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    Loads of fun you had back then..good memories.
    Thanks for dropping by mine’s..

    • Rosie November 5, 2009 at 11:30 am #

      Oh yeah, good times.

  9. GoodNaijaGirl November 5, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Aww, some of these ring a few bells in my memory. I sometimes wish I had grown up in Naija o!

    • Rosie November 5, 2009 at 11:30 am #

      You must have come here as a teenager – 13 perhaps?

  10. Anya November 5, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    My my..I miss a lot of these things too! I miss boli & palm oil. I miss road side roasted yam & palm oil. I miss fresh suya & kilishi from the mallam. I miss Naija a lot!

Leave a Reply

