Something your parents never told you…

6 Nov

…is that getting old sucks. 

I was on my blogville rounds when I came across list of Life’s Lessons.  I can’t remember whose blog it was but I copied and pasted the 44 lessons and put it up on my office wall.  Lesson number  35 resonated with me.  It stated: Growing old is better than the alternative – dying young.

I’ll cling to that with every fiber of my being.

Two years ago, my knees told me something I did not want to know.  I am getting old.  They would not stop creaking, making popping noises and protesting in agony especially just as I reach my third mile when I run.  Once, after a game of wally ball, I actually had to apply ice.  ICE!!! That was something my mother did, not me. I ignored my knees and went into denial. Then a neurologist I went to see for back pain told me that I was nearing the age my body would start to go downhill. I thought he was being mean but now I know that in his own way, he was trying to prepare me for the future. 

HATEGETTINGOLDER

Let me take you down my depressing lane of things that are beginning to fall apart.  Call it an inventory if you will:

Face: five years ago, I hardly used make-up, now I won’t take out the trash without it. Okay that was an exaggeration but you get the gist.

Back: beyond repair.  A successful day is when I am not smelling like Ben-Gay.

Knees: you know the story already.  Damn traitors.

Buns and thighs: *sigh* thankfully, getting on the Stairmaster® three times a week keeps the cellulite and other fatty deposits away.

Endurance: I went from running 15 to 20 miles a week to 7 to 9 miles a week.  Hey, don’t tsk tsk me!  At least I get up and get going considering what I have to work with.

Midsection: the bane of my existence.  I don’t care what anyone says, the only way to get rid of belly fat is to stop eating.  Period.

Cholesterol:  this b*tch shot up from normal to high risk within two years.  I don’t even know where this one came from because I eat quite well, exercise regularly (maybe I can cut my partying down a little) and I have no family history of any yamayama diseases.  Thankfully everything else – liver, triglycerides, kidney, thyroid etc…is just fine.

Afternoon naps: back in the day, I was superwoman, I get to work at 3pm, work a double shift until 7 am, go home, sleep until 2 pm, get to school at 3 pm, leave school at 10 and get to work by 11 pm.  Now – I can’t even make it past lunch without having to take a 30 minute power nap.  It’s just wrong.

Dancing: I love to dance but with all the gravity defying moves out there, I have learned to make peace with the side-to-side shuffle.  Pathetic.

Growing old is better than the alternative – dying young.

I’ll cling to that with every fiber of my being.

9 Responses to “Something your parents never told you…”

  1. Nice Anon November 6, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    LOL@ stop eating. Na hunger go wire you die! You know running is very harsh on the knees. I learnt that a long time ago and i stopped running.

  2. Original Mgbeke November 7, 2009 at 12:25 am #

    Hahahaha, this was quite a funny read. I hear you o! Maynee growing older no easy at all. My right knee has certainly taken a hit, I can’t sit for extended periods of time without having to stretch it out or it gets really uncomfy…dunno if I should attribute it to old age or that darn elliptical. As per the cholestrol levels and things, I need to consult the doc. Haven’t been in a very shameful period of time.

  3. Myne Whitman November 8, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    Why did you go and remind me? LOL

  4. joicee November 9, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    Where did you get that picture from lol

    At least you exercise and eat well… You should not worry too much…As you rightly pointed out…

    Growing old is better than the alternative – dying young.

    I ´ll hang on to that as well

  5. Rosie November 9, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    Nice Anon: abi I lie? I saw Amber Rose’s (Kanye’s GF)flat tummy last week and just went into deep depression

    Original: thank you my sister for concurring

    Myne: misery needs company

    Joicee: I laughed so hard when I found it and tot it was the perfect image for my blog. (disclaimer: my boobs are not that saggy)

  6. taynement November 9, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    Life lessons were on my blog. yay me! lol.

    Lol, I concur with all, my body is just has a mind of it’s own.

    • Rosie November 9, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks for the lessons. For the life of me I tried to figure out where I got it from when I wrote the post. Didn’t want to be accused of blogarism.

  7. GoodNaijaGirl November 9, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    You, dear Rosie, are too funny! You currently run 7-9 miles a week? I won’t be tsking you o: I’m in AWE.

    I totally hear you on the gravity defying moves. I just do my thing on the dancefloor: no sudden movements and GNG won’t have to be rushed to emergency.

    re: belly fat: did I have to read this entry as I’m chomping on pizza? God save me sha: this belly fat and I will be besties till the end if I don’t stop eating 🙂

    And yeah…better to grow old than die young – Amen to that!

    • Rosie November 9, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

      GNG: lol @ emergency room. I can’t remember the last time I had pizza. Since this cholesterol thing, I have been on a low fat diet. In fact I went rogue this past weekend and had some ribs. My doc will be upset when she finds out.

Leave a Reply

