Goat Soup Wahala

10 Nov

GoatSoupGroupI was invited to a friend’s house for Thanksgiving.  Actually, my boyfriend’s best friend is the person who invited us and like last year, I was asked to make a Nigerian dish.  I made moimoi last year.  This year, I have decided to make goat meat pepper soup (which by the way my mistakenly-born-in-america oyinbo boyfriend loves so much).  Since I was making quite a sizeable pot, I asked the organizer, a co-worker we shall call K, if she wanted me to bring some to the office Thanksgiving potluck.  

Now – before you all panic – my co-workers know of pepper soup.  They ask quite a lot about Nigerian cuisine so I thought it would be a nice gesture to offer to bring some.  K’s face turned pale and she said she could not eat goat meat because she thought they were cute and smart. 

I can already hear you naija people snickering and guffawing so you can imagine that I must have had the most bewildered and befuddled look on my face.  She tried to explain that her mother or grandmother had a pet goat when she was little and yada yada yada.  I started to laugh so hard.  I was like, “I think cows are cute too but they look better between hamburger buns.”

Soon K was joined by J, another co-worker.

Those of you that remember J know that she won’t kill spiders or roaches or rats.  She would rather buy ‘humane’ traps so she can release them outside.  (Who get time?  Release them so they can find their way back in?  Nope).  J does not like to hear about animals getting killed.  She gets really upset when you describe the process of killing a chicken or cow animal.  Yet she enjoys eating chicken and beef.  WTF?

I told the two ladies that I don’t understand the concept of non-vegetarian animal lovers. How can a person not mind eating fish, beef and chicken yet find the idea of eating goat meat cruel?  It is not like they are refusing to eat it because it does not look palatable to them.  If you serve them veal or mutton, they will munch on the meal happily.  As long as they don’t hear the word ‘baby cow’ or ‘baby sheep.’  Hypocritical eaters.

I kinda wish they could be stranded on a deserted Island with their pet dog or cat. And maybe a few bush rats.  With no food.   Is anyone thinking what I am thinking?  Yes! Reality Television idea. 

Anyway, this whole thing made me decide to buy the cheapest pre-packaged coleslaw at Food Lion (not Kroger or Publix) for the potluck.

18 Responses to “Goat Soup Wahala”

  1. Omosi T November 10, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

    LMAO, some people are just silly, if you cannot bear to watch the animal get killed, you should not be eating said animal.

    • Rosie November 12, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

      *sigh* i tried telling them this but they are so stuck in their idealized – only non-cute animals should be butchered.

  2. Myne Whitman November 10, 2009 at 8:03 pm #

    Reality TV idea, that got me laughing. You’re very right jare. Sometimes I appreciate the genuine humaneness of some oyibos, other times I’m like smh. Different strokes sha, you for cook beef peppersoup….

    • Rosie November 12, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

      Humaness is quite different from hypocrisy. I won’t torture an animal before killing it. That’s wrong. A clean kill is always the best. But to not want to know how the food on your table is killed is funny to me. Modernity has really made us weak.

  3. Original Mgbeke November 10, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    LMFAO. Yes, I guffawed and snickered. Da heck? I aint mad at you o jare, if dem even sell am for dollar store you for buy sef. And an oyinbo man who loves goat meat pepper soup is a keeper. 😀

    • Rosie November 12, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

      LOL @ dollar store. That is quite a good idea!

  4. Joicee November 11, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    Serves them right…Instead of enjoying better goatmeat peppersoup….let them manage the cheap coleslaw.
    This is the funniest thing … They enjoy eating beef and mutton but can’t bear to stand the idea of a cow or sheep getting killed. smdh.

    • Rosie November 12, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

      Thank you oh my sister. U dey mind them. I felt a tad insulted.

  5. GoodNaijaGirl November 11, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    lol at your final decision to go with the coleslaw! And I totally laughed at your colleague’s comment about goats.

    I went to Naija last year and when I returned, I posted some pics on facebook. For one picture of an ornery goat the caption was “This unfortunate goat would become our *asun* (I ain’t gonna lie, it was yummy!)” and my sister’s comment was “delicious! I think he was tastier because he was so angry!”

    My coworker’s comment was “snif, snif, 😦 but he’s so cute!” and she followed that up with comments in person about how it’s so sad that we ate the cute goat.

    • Rosie November 12, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

      Oh my goodness. This is too funny for words. Animals are cute, yes, but plants are beautiful too, yet they eat salads. I don’t get it.

  6. Emeka November 12, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    good laugh… .lol. beats me but also was a huge learning when I happened upon this issue… was sitting out with colleagues some time back after dinner and somehow the conversation got around to the expression of “running around like a headless chicken” and since I had actually seen a few leap out of a the fleecing pot (?) -abi dat na the oyibo word for when you drop the okuko into a pot of mmiri oku – anyway as i told the story an uproar was already on the way.. u can imagine when i got to the part of actually dressing the chicken… and when i answered the question “what else have you killed?”…. serious wahala o..look of utter amazement laced with “nna-nye-kwanu-dis-guy-efe” -loose translation in pidgin : “give this guy space o” / loose translation in english “you need to be wary of this guy” …… .me had meself a good laff…. why? we had just done dinner where all the folks were munching away!!! abi na for cocoa plantation dey harvest the meat wey we chop??!!!

    • Rosie November 12, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

      Emeka! LOL! You know better than to go around scaring the bejeezuz out of your colleagues. I am just dying of laughter here….

  7. Tatababe November 14, 2009 at 2:53 am #

    LOL!!! I think ur co-workers are confused. Your Reality TV idea no bad sha lol…

    • Rosie November 18, 2009 at 12:07 pm #

      this kain confusion get as e be

  8. Reverence November 14, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    why did you go and find trouble sef?

    i almost choked when i read the words goat meat and company potluck. LOLLL

    *Dead* @ emeka buhahaha

    • Rosie November 18, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

      Rev – I was trying to be a team player, like my boss wanted me to be.

  9. culturesoup November 16, 2009 at 6:22 am #

    But goat is so tasty! Lol, I really should not have read this in class. I’m now struggling to keep a straight face and the prof is shooting me evil looks. I try to avoid sharing my enthusiasm about goat or meat in general to be considerate of vegetarians around me but i don’t see that leading me to give up on goat. In fact, i’m dreaming of goat peppersoup right now.

    • Rosie November 18, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

      Aaaah…so you are one of those people who play on their laptops pretending to take notes…lol

Leave a Reply

