Scrooge, No. Bah Humbug, Yes.

20 Nov

Yes.  I HATE CHRISTMAS.

The reason for my early xmas rant (believe me I wanted to do this the moment I saw the first xmas commercial in October) is that every time I hear the word or overhear people planning, I get a strange throbbing sensation somewhere in the front of my head or sometimes it moves the base of my skull.  I mean, was xmas not just like – 10 months ago?  Are some of us still not paying off our credit card debts for last year’s holiday?

Remember Christmas like our parents celebrated it.  They buy you a new outfit.  Just One.  And probably a new pair of shoes and one Sunday hat.  Even with the little you got, you felt like little Miss Sunshine.  On Christmas Eve, you either celebrated by going to church or you get up early on Christmas day and go to church with your family.  Yes oh, my people: CHRIST  is in CHRISTMAS.  Not that little decorated box that shows up on all commercials. After church, you came home to a nice Jollof or Fried Rice lunch either at your house where other relatives show up and visit or you go and visit your relatives.  If you are lucky, your dad takes you and your siblings out for Boxing Day; maybe the Beach, a nice restaurant, where you dined on rotisserie chicken and as many minerals (soda for you guys that have been here too long) as you would like.

Christmas back home was simple and fun.   Now, I have to deal with whether or not I am in physical shape for BLACK FRIDAY. (Law and Order Sound Effect *DOINK DOINK*) I have to fit in a couple of travel plans to visit people here and there and the ever annoying list of people you can’t forget to send cards or gifts to.  I really want to curl up in a ball sometimes.  I am one of those people who need a holiday from the xmas holiday. 

Another reason I hate Christmas is that most of my family members are back home so I don’t get to spend the most wonderful time of the year with them.  Sure, I call and chat for a while but it’s not the same.   I wish I did not hate Christmas but I do.  Our consumerist behavior took CHRIST out it and put in SANTA CLAUS and a whole lotta stress.  This year, everybody gets a gift card.  They should deal with it.

20 Responses to “Scrooge, No. Bah Humbug, Yes.”

  1. Tatababe November 20, 2009 at 5:15 pm #

    Haha! see rant!!! you’re right though celebrating Christmas back home was “simple and fun”

    • Rosie November 21, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

      I was long overdue for one of these xmas rants…

  2. blogoratti November 20, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

    Simple and fun..exactly how Christmases ought to be. Don’t spend what you don’t have…

    • Rosie November 21, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

      ..exactly…but…i get a lot of crap for not putting up an xmas tree. I live alone for heck’s sake. who’s gonna look at them lights? me? they’ll prolly give me a headache.

  3. Olaoluwatomi November 20, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

    You are not being a scrooge not giving presents, the adage cut ur coat according to ur size is very much in force especially around xmas time:))
    Like your blog

    • Rosie November 21, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

      Thanks for visiting my blog. I have not heard that saying in a long time. “Cut your coat…”

  4. Original Mgbeke November 21, 2009 at 2:46 am #

    I normally hate the holiday season but this year, I’m actually looking forward to it for some reason. Sha, I was just telling my friend that those darn email offers for ‘holiday shopping’ and what not is starting to clog up my inbox and piss me off. I dislike the malls during the holidays and I have never even attempted the madness that is black Friday.

    • Rosie November 21, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

      Oooh … pray tell why you are looking forward to it? He he he..share pls!

  5. mike November 21, 2009 at 4:29 am #

    I just feel i am going to have the worst xmas this year. first time spending xmas in another man’s town. and with this weather, hmmmmmmmmm. Which one be black friday?

    • Rosie November 21, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

      Black Friday is the day after Thanksgiving when all deal seekers wake up at 2 am, stand in all at dept stores and trample one another to death three hours later. It’s the American Way of Life.

  6. taynement November 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    blah – that’s what christmas is to me in obodo oyibo. Those freaking ads are killing me. There is this radio station that plays just christmas songs till the season is over, it was preprogrammed on my car radio, umm yea I have removed that station. I guess I am just a grinch.

    • Rosie November 23, 2009 at 11:35 am #

      I refuse to listen to christmas songs unless it is at least five days to Christmas. What kind of punishment is that sef?

  7. BBB November 23, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    one word
    GRINCH

    lol
    but i feel for u…

    • Rosie November 23, 2009 at 11:36 am #

      Grinch – not. Just being realistic. I am just friggin tired of the circus.

  8. Ms. Sula November 23, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    See? I am one of those people who do NOT do things “by obligation”… I have never felt obligated to give a gift to anybody… I’ll give gifts if I so choose. And I think it’s possible to keep it simple if one wants. We usually just have a nice dinner at home on Christmas eve, followed or preceded by church, netflix some good movies and drink warm drinks till we pass out… On X-mas day, we just hang out, stuff ourselves some more and call it a day.

    I think people who stress about it, have a way not to stress about it: just don’t do it! 😆

    Christmas is still simple, it’s people who make it a hassle.

    What I am mad about though is New Year’s eve. What happened to beautiful, fun and elegant house parties? Why do I have to go to a club and spend with some strangers in confined quarters. Ugh! It’s on new year’s eve, I really wish I was home…. *sad face –> 😦 *

    • Rosie November 24, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

      Girl. you are a woman after my own heart! Hurrah for stuffing ourselves and watching Netflix after church!

  9. Sting November 24, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Just stopping by to say, thanks for ur comment on my blog. Very much appreciated.

    • Rosie November 24, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by mind.

  10. Azazel November 24, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    Mehn I feel u..
    i miss christmas in Naija jare

    • Rosie November 24, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

      Especially the goats and/or chickens we get to kill in the backyard. I can’t get the smell of roasting goat hair out of my mind.

Leave a Reply

