Bah Humbug Update

24 Nov

Yup!  It’s another holiday excess rant.  And this time, I am so mad at myself for making all these yeye plans instead of staying home and watching, “Hotelier,” “Freeze,” “Damo,” or “Full House.” (All K-Dramas), sipping Moscato or Riesling, snacking on BBQ rib tips and crab legs… oh joy to the friggin world! 

So, last Saturday, Turtle and I went to our favorite Mexican restaurant and over killer Texan Margeritas we budgeted for the holidays with the calculated the cost of gifts, (cards) and travel.  My total is about $1200.  And this is with my cutting of a lot of people from my list.  Most of the cost comes from travel; to Upstate New York and of course NYC to visit friends and Turtle’s family.  Hanging out alone in NYC is gonna cost us at least $400 per person.   I am upset at myself, yet I am excited about the fun I will have.  So maybe my Bah Humbuginity will be silenced while I am away, at least until I look at my bank statement. 

Looking forward to a five-day weekend y’all!  HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!  Eat, drink and be merry.  And don’t forget to exercise those calories away.

16 Responses to “Bah Humbug Update”

  1. Azazel November 24, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    Damn lucidlith lol i finally stumbled on ur blog. Please forgive me for my late appearance..
    I only have a 4 day weekend and I am yet to find a ride back home.

    • Rosie November 24, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

      Don’t worry I won’t fine you any fowls for your late appearance…lol

  2. LP November 24, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    Have fun in upstate NY (yikes for the cold though!) and enjoy NYC!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Rosie November 25, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

      Goodness I am looking forward to the cold! The atl heat is getting to me. It’s November and its friggin 65 degrees. I miss snow.

      • Ms. Sula November 27, 2009 at 11:32 pm #

        You miss snow? You’ve gone native! 😆

        Have fun dear!

  3. taynement November 24, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    Enjoy your holiday! 🙂

    • Rosie November 25, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks love!

  4. Original Mgbeke November 24, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    Haaave fun, NYC should be a blast. Why is it gonna cost that much? Are you staying in a hotel/for an extended stay?

    • Rosie November 25, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

      No, its just that we have a few activities lined up for the holiday. NYC is expensive so we are being prepared. A nice dinner in a fancy restaurant wont be cheap.

  5. Vera Ezimora November 25, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    Biko, stop complaining! At least you even have $400 to spend. What of those of us that don’t even have it to spend??? Rosie, don’t make me rush you oh!!!

    Ehen… hope you’re planning for “our” show?? I was going to call you last night, but it was 9:50pm, so I didn’t want to to disturb your sleep or late night TV. I’ll call you soon. And you better be telling me what I want to hear (i.e. you’re indeed preparing for our show).

    $1200 sha???? Ouch. Hehehehehehe.

    • Rosie November 25, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

      LOL. Don’t worry after your graduation and first new job, you will be the one to help me ‘wash’ your newly minted paycheck.

      I have made a mental list of things to talk about but I have not yet gone over the details. Jeez I have a few horror stories about going home to naija.

  6. Vera Ezimora November 25, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    I don’t like that you call him ‘Turtle.’ I think “Mbe” would be a much better term of endearment, no?

    • Rosie November 25, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

      LOL. I just told him about your suggestion, he said, “I don’t care. It’s just a translation, right?”

  7. Vera Ezimora November 25, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    Or at least, the Nigerian way, Tortoise.

    …. But I still like Mbe better.

  8. Adanne November 25, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    Remember this song from primary school in Nigeria:
    Some have food but cannot eat
    Some can eat but have no food
    We have food and we can eat
    Glory be to God, Amen!

    Nne, thank God you’ve been blessed.

  9. Rosie November 25, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    You are soooooo right. I am missing the whole point of the holidays. Okay. No more rants, I swear.

Leave a Reply

