Vision 2010

30 Nov

Does anyone remember that government program called Vision 2010 that General Sani Abacha was trying to promote before magun got him?  I guess the vision went kaput with the man.  I have been thinking about this program all year because I remember thinking as a child that 2010 was so far away.  I mean who in their right mind would plan that far ahead.  Like – really.  But dang, it showed up fast.

Anyhue – this post is not about Abacha’s pet project.  It is about New Year resolutions.  Not for me though, I never make resolutions.  I just don’t have the temerity for such.  I just wonder why people make resolutions when they know that by the third week of January, all they resolved to do  would be a resolved to dont. 

 I find resolutions somewhat useless since I do constant self-assessments.  I look over what has worked in the past few months/quarter/season and figure out what to get rid of and what not to.  For two weeks now, I have been doing my self-assessments and a few of the things I found out about myself (okay, some I already knew about but I was in denial) really shocked me.  For one thing, I have found that any unhappiness or depression is never because of things that I do but rather how I react to those things and the fact that I am usually unwilling to change my situation because I value rituals and hate drastic changes.  So I have made a mental list of the things in my life that will definitely need to go ‘cus they are not working for me.

  • Start speaking up about what I NEED.  Most of my frustrations are because I feel people deliberately do things in order to get me.  Not true.  If I communicated my NEEDs more efficiently to others most of my frustrations would not exist.  Unless the other individual is a complete @sshole.
  • Talk about and do more of what is important to me.  I need to let people know about the things I am most interested in so they don’t waste their time trying to get me involved in things I don’t want to do.
  • Get rid of old things so you can buy new things.  For example … my tattered gym clothes that make me look like a hobo, my old bras that won’t let me breathe, my sketchers which is one size too small…if I don’t throw out old furniture, I won’t have room for new ones. This also applies to negative thinking.  You need to get rid of old ways to thinking to make room for new ideas.
  • If something does not feel right, I need to either change my attitude about it or change the situation.  Whining about it or getting frustrated about it is no longer an option. 
  • Get rid of shame and/or guilt.  They are worthless emotions that drain my energy.
  • Try not to make the same mistake twice. I am just too old for that.
  • And my favorite: quit doing the same things over and over again while expecting different results. This oneliner is really hard because I am a creature of habit.

I am sure there are more that I will come up with as time goes on…but I just felt it would be a nice tidbit to share with you guys as you prepare your New Year Resolutions.

10 Responses to “Vision 2010”

  1. akaBagucci November 30, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    pretty straight forward, minimalist list you have here.. Nice one!

    • Rosie December 1, 2009 at 11:57 am #

      minimalist…what a nice description…I think I will steal this one from you bagucci

  2. Azazel November 30, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    Yayyyy am first.. Lemme go read

  3. Azazel November 30, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    So yeah Lily i feel u mehn but this is something else.
    I remember that vision 2010 thing and I really really remembered thinkin it was to far..

    • Rosie December 1, 2009 at 11:58 am #

      Meeehn! Can you imagine how much older we have become???? I remember sitting in front of our tv and watching NTA interviews about 2010 and how much it would blah, blah, blah…

  4. taynement November 30, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    Azzie you be #2 and 3 oh! lol

    Really nice one Lilith..

    • Rosie December 1, 2009 at 11:59 am #

      I should make a formal announcement like when Prince changed his name to a symbol. Yes. I will do that.

  5. Original Mgbeke November 30, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    I’m feeling this your vision 2010. Very much on point, keep us posted as to your progress. 🙂

    • Rosie December 1, 2009 at 11:59 am #

      I will. I hope it makes me feel better and happier.

  6. ~Sirius~ December 1, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    Aaaaaah
    I used to hate change, until i found out the hard way that it’s “INEVITABLE”…and guess what els I found out?

    It’s not that bad either!

Leave a Reply

