Pill Popping Nation

11 Dec

I hate medication of any kind.  I am only willing to medicate myself if I am in pain or have an infection because I am believer in the body’s ability to heal itself.  I am also against the pervasive use of anti-depressants.  Being someone who has been (a) diagnosed with depression (b)been on medication for it and (c)  dumped all her meds in the toilet after a few months because feeling like a zombie did not work either – I feel I am qualified to make that statement. 

IMO whatever ails you cannot be fixed with a pill.  You have to do some serious self assessments to determine what you can do to control your depression.  I have to continually fight myself mentally to avoid thoughts that bring about anxiety and depression.  So I eat well, exercise a lot (exercise is a natural anti-depressant) and try to stay stress-free.  Sure, I still get a lot of pressure from my doctor to get back on medication but I am acutely aware of the influence of this society that tells you to solve all your problems by taking a pill. It’s scary but there are pills for everything these days. In fact, chances are that during an episode of your favorite show, you are likely to see two or more brands of medication being shoved into your living.  You know…happy smiling people with an image of [insert medication here] superimposed on the screen.  Commercials would actually help you diagnose yourself – bypassing the doctor.

We forget that anxiety and depression are natural feelings that only become dangerous when we can’t control them.  So I advocate not running  to the medicine cabinet when the first wave of anxiety hits….just take a deep breath – keep your mind blank and give yourself time.

This post was actually not meant to be a lecture on anti-antidepressants.  I was going to talk about the fact that the pharmaceutical companies have graduated from targeting adults with normal day-to-day problems, to young children.  I mean, when we were growing up, were there any ADD or ADHD or other such crap that they are spewing out there in the medical world?  My little brother was a typical kid who in this day and age would have been diagnosed with ADHD yet he turned out to be a normal young man.  If kids act up, we give them pills instead of parenting.  Worse – animals are now being giving medication!  My boss’s dog is on Prozac.  Yeah.  No kidding.  He says it’s to stop the dog from constantly licking its paws and making it bleed.  My co-worker gives her dog sleeping pills so it does not wake up and bark all night and wake the entire neighborhood.  Yup.  We are the pill-popping nation.  Of course there are several alternatives to medicating children and animals but taking the time would be quite an inconvenience, now wouldn’t it?

P.S. I will be co-hosting a blogradio talk show with Vera  tomorrow at 10 a.m. ET .  Be sure to tune in!  The discussion will be on what to expect when going to naija.  Oh yes.  Call in your stories.  Let’s make it a paarrr-tay!

14 Responses to “Pill Popping Nation”

  1. taynement December 11, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    Say whaaaa! I am fest.

    yup yup, i went to the doctor once for a cold and came out with steroids, nasal spray and some other strong pain suppresant. they love to prescribe.

    • lucidlilith December 12, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

      He he he…just like going into the hospital for one procedure and coming home with multiple wahala. Yes. Drs like to prescribe….

  2. Tatababe December 11, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    I like this your post, I’ve always felt depression is a state of the mind and one just needs to excercise control over it instead of popping pills. The annoying thing is that virtually all these drugs have side effects that sometimes outway the benefits of taking them.

    • lucidlilith December 12, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

      Yep!
      *voice over*
      “Side effects include, headache, diarrhea, vomiting, dizziness, dry mouth, constipation, decreased sexual urge, and the need to b*tch slap your next door neighbor.”

  3. Azazel December 11, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    Wow @ ur boss dog beingon prozac..
    The problem is that Americans do not like pain of any kind. Pain is discouraged in this culture and it’s so sad.

    • lucidlilith December 12, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

      Do you know it is illegal in most states to leave a patient in pain?

  4. Myne Whitman December 11, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

    It scared me the way we’re all rushing down the pill road. I saw this documentary on PBS on children and medication and I almost cried. What child abuse!

    I will listen to your show tomorrow but probably late. All the best

    • lucidlilith December 12, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

      To them that is not child abuse. Spanking your child is considered child abuse but zoning them out like zombies is not. Shio.

  5. Lady X December 12, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Hmm I don’t mind pills! I hate injections! And I don’t really take pills for small things like a cold or something. If it’s a headache I MIGHT take a pill or just go and sleep it off which usually works. But you’re right, pharmaceutical companies just prey on people.

    • lucidlilith December 14, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

      I hate shots too! I think pretty much everyone would rather not have an injection. I hate pills …even ordinary tylenol….i have to be in bad shape before I take it.

  6. Joicee December 13, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    Your boss’s dog is on prozac!?!?! Geez!!!!!
    I am in medschool so I have an idea of the horrible sideeffects of drugs especially antidepressants…. sometimes they are so bad you figure you are better off without them.

    I like the way you have taken control of your life and your health …kudos to you!

    • lucidlilith December 14, 2009 at 1:59 pm #

      It’s like being between a rock and a hard place. You actually feel like a zombie…you know…like the drugs just kind of put out the flames that surround you but gives you nothing for your burns.

  7. Good Naija Girl December 14, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    You’re right about North America being big on popping pills. Everyone should make the decision that makes sense to them but I am not a fan of taking medication for a condition like depression because I always think it’s like going on a diet: once you go off the diet you’re back at square one.

    A friend of mine stopped taking her antidepressants cold turkey and my only concern was that maybe she should have weaned herself off them a bit more. I think she got sick of me constantly checking on her though…so I sort of leave her be on that matter. I also wish she had told her doc that she’s off the medication now like you did…but it’s been a good year and she seems alright…

    • lucidlilith December 14, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

      I got off mine cold turkey and I honestly did not feel too bad. IMO you build a high tolerance for antidepressants once you start taking them and the doctors keep adjusting your dosage and making it higher and higher. It’s like legal crack.

Leave a Reply

