Aaaat Laaaassssst…..

15 Dec

…my love has come along….

Exactly a year ago, one the VPs at my job threw an xmas party in her cottage.  I relunctantly went because as you all know, xmas is not exactly my thing.  As you also know, I avoid drinking during work related events because of …okay that’s another story.

Anyhue, while there, I spied a giant blue glass sticking out of an ice bucket.  It was a Johann Falkenburg Riesling.  I poured myself a small glass and I was transported to wine heaven.  The stuff was (STILL IS) good!  I asked my host where she got it and she gave me directions to some wine shop.  Later, after the holidays, i found the store but was unable to locate the wine.  The shop owners even called around trying to find this Falkeburg fellow.  I criss-crossed town like a woman possessed, checked online for wineries but could not locate this big blue beautiful bountiful  bottle (okay i am done with adjectives). 

Anyhue….so I was doing my monthly sam’s club shopping in the giant wharehouse a couple of weeks ago, when I turned my head to figure out where the bottled water section was and boooooom!  I ran smack into a huge…HUGE.. stack of …wait for it…..JOHANN FALKENBURGs!!!!!!  There must have been at least 150 cases piled in the middle of this warehouse.  I did a small victory dance… a little whoo whoo! … startled a bunch of shoppers and then proceeded to buy a bottles for my personal consumption, one for Turtle’s parents, and a whole case for…I don’t know…the entire year?  (Yeah, like that’s gonna last another month).  Turns out this actual German Reisling is a seasonal item and only comes out during the holidays…go figure. 

As I type this, I am getting ready to head to the VP’s cottage for another xmas party – where my love affair started.  I broke open the case and will be giving my host a bottle to thank her for finding me an alternative to Turtle.  Yep…I am telling Turtle that if he misbehaves, I am spending the evening with Mr. Falkenburg.

14 Responses to “Aaaat Laaaassssst…..”

  1. Vera Ezimora December 15, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    Mr. Falkenburg, huh?

    If this is your way of distracting me from Turtle and sending me on a wild goose chase after Mr. Falkenburg, it is sooooo not working!!! Turtle is my first choice, and Turtle it is!

    That said, I might grab me a bottle from Sam’s Club – just for the heck of it. I might.

    • lucidlilith December 16, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

      I told Turtle about your request and he was like..”sure give her my number.” I was like, “she is too young for you old man.”

  2. justjoxy December 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Any bottle bigger than a microwave is definitely worth hunting for. Wishing you and Mr Falkenburg many happy times.

    • lucidlilith December 16, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

      LOL…it kinda reminds me of a baseball bat.

  3. taynement December 15, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    That is a mighty long bottle, Lucid. Enjoy!

    • lucidlilith December 16, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

      O yeah…it’s on.

  4. Azazel December 15, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    Lmao i don’t know why seeing the word ‘cottage’ is trippin me up.. Why didn’t u just say cabin or house? Been a long time since I heard the word cottage

    • lucidlilith December 16, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

      We have about half a dozen cottages where I work. That’s what they are cottages…all built between 1870 and 1950. Most are historical buildings and registered with the national registry.

  5. BBB December 16, 2009 at 6:37 am #

    have fun

    • lucidlilith December 16, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

      thanks luv!

  6. Ms. Sula December 16, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    I bought this bottle a couple of years ago at Sam’s club as well… That Riesling is like pure heaven… The only comparable and superior wine in this genre is IceWine but I digress…

    You just reminded me of what to add to my Xmas list of Secret Santa… Especially now that I am no longer part of Sam’s club. Lol!

    • lucidlilith December 18, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

      Gurrrl….it is like heaven. As for Sam’s Club, mooch of someone…I did it all the time until Turtle got me my own card.

  7. Lady X December 16, 2009 at 8:03 pm #

    That is one LONG bottle LOL

    • lucidlilith December 18, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

      When you buy one, hold it like a baseball bat. People will stare. and you will get a good chuckle.

Leave a Reply

