My very first….

18 Dec

…random post!

I hate posting random things.  I like to pick a topic and discuss it but today…I’m in a weird blog slump.  I have too much on my mind and not enough focus to put strong thoughts down.  So for the first time, I will lose my random-post-virginity.  Here we go:

Is it only women that have shelf lives or do men also have shelf lives?

Biologically women have things that are in their favor; we live longer, mature faster, are emotionally stronger and able to handle crises better than men, are the basis of both genders (all fetuses start out as female…hence the reason men also have nipples), and the planet requires more of us to sustain its population. Disadvantages?  When it comes desirability, we have expiration dates…shelf lives so to speak. Don’t get me wrong…as members of society, we never expire – our minds, our work, our contributions are important and valued. However, when it comes to being desirable, many put our shelf live at 40 tops.  After that, you should be looking forward to raising your grandkids, not gallivanting in high heels and short skirts.

Is it fair to attribute aging as a negative thing for women?  In child bearing, sure…biology has dealt us a horrible blow.  But maybe it could be a blessing in disguise.  Do we really want to be pushing and sweating after the age of 40?  Isn’t that time-consuming, strenuous affair better suited for younger women?  As for looks, I feel we are at the most disadvantage.  Our looks fall apart really fast. Especially if we don’t take care to ensure we maintain it.  Even that won’t guarantee that your husband won’t seek to replace you with a younger woman. 

The good thing is that women are gradually fighting this so-called shelf life by refusing to ‘age gracefully.’  A lot seem to be saying, “whatever age, I am hot dammit.”  With the help of plastic surgery, yoga, diet and exercise, woman can stave off wrinkles and old age and remain sexually vibrant for a long time.  Any wonder why this cougar phenomenon is really booming right now?  I think women took a hammer to the damn shelf and smashed it to smitherins.

The way I see it, we all have shelf lives for one thing or another.  Men fight receding hairlines, erectile dysfunction, gray hair, career crossroads and many issues just as women fight cellulite, wrinkles, saggy boobs, and career crossroads.  IMO – everyone runs out of time.  Eventually. 

What does this mean?

I hate plants.  Or so I think.  My mother hated plants because she thought they brought snakes into the house so I grew up with this hatred of plants in the house.  Turtle never got the memo ‘cus this dude is always buying me flowers.  I never had the heart to tell him I don’t like live plants and I am glad I didn’t ‘cus nowadays, I am the one obsessively watering the office plants and making sure they are taken care of when I am gone for the next two weeks.  Does this mean that I am becoming *gasp* a nurturer????? 

Weight maintenance is hard (holiday or no holiday)

As I type this, I just had my first junk food in the last two or three months.  Yep.  Two Jr. Bacon Cheese burgers from Wendys at 310 calories each.  This after running two miles and spending 30 minutes on the elliptical at the gym.  It was not planned…I just forget to pack my lunch from home and I did not want bother my brain over what to eat so I just went the easy route.  Weird thing is I want to eat Chinese takeout tonite.  This is my unhealthiest day ever.  Even with the exercise.  On a good note: I weighted exactly the same this morning as I did a year ago. So I am maintaining my weight….but I need to watch the junk and Chinese.  Junk I can avoid, but I love Chinese food especially pork fried rice, wonton soup, crab legs, bbq rib tips. *drool*

Laundry Day

Since I will be gone for the next couple of weeks, tomorrow I will be doing the biggest laundry load for the year.  One comforter, two blankets, one quilt, two sheet sets, and two or three loads of regular clothes.  I look forward to it.  I love to clean things…clothes, floors, bathrooms…but I HATE doing dishes even with a dishwasher…someday, I will tell you guys why.  Remind me.

Full House in the House!!!

I just rented the entire Full House series from Ramencity.  Noooo, the Korean Drama not the 80s show.  If you are a fan of K-Series, you will understand my excitement.  This stuff is better than sex, I swear.

I better stop before I make this the official longest post I have had.  I wish you all the very best this season.  I will try my hardest to post at least one a week the next two weeks but if I don’t – then catch you in 2010.  *mwwwaaaaah!*

16 Responses to “My very first….”

  1. akaBagucci December 18, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    lol.. totally randomI’d say.. shelf lives? every one has them.. different lengths maybe, but limited noinetheless…

    weight maintenance.. learning the hard way, that endless KFC chicken’s bad for the waist line…

    • lucidlilith December 20, 2009 at 4:51 pm #

      I have KFC…why? It was the very first thing I ate when I came to the states…it tasted like crap to me. So I never went back.

  2. taynement December 18, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    are you going to nigeria also or something?

    I have heard so much about k dramas, never tried it.

    I knew i forgot something, I didn’t do my friday randoms today.

    • lucidlilith December 20, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

      No, I will be in New York unti lthe 1st.

      Girl … K-dramas are so addictive. It can make you sell ya mama.

  3. lovedone December 18, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    You missed one major benefit women have over men: we still live longer than they do :-). hehe.

    • lucidlilith December 20, 2009 at 4:53 pm #

      Yeah….its in there…the first paragraph.

  4. Lady X December 19, 2009 at 8:51 am #

    I think the number of men that refuse to agree that they are ageing are way more than the women. And that’s why it’s USUALLY always older men you see at the club trying to holler at young girls and not older women trying to holler at young guys. Even where I live, everytime you see a nice sports car pass by and you look to see who is inside 9 times out of ten it is some man in his 40’s with some shades on deceiving himself that he is James Bond.

    • lucidlilith December 20, 2009 at 4:53 pm #

      LOL @ James Bond. You are funny.

  5. Helene December 20, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    I used to hate live plants too but my kids convinced me to do a summer garden this past summer and I was amazed by how much fun it was. There was something awesome about growing our own food. But will I do it again next year? Probably not..LOL

    • lucidlilith December 20, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

      Shhhhhh!!!!
      Don’t put ideas in my head!

  6. Original Mgbeke December 22, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    You’re back to the NYC? Niiiceee. Girll, I LOVE me some Wendy’s junior bacon cheeseburgers. Those are some kind of weakness, weight maintenance no easy at all sha o, sometimes I’m just like to hell with it.

    • lucidlilith December 23, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

      Nope. First trip. Previous post was about planning to go. I try to stay away as much as possible from junk food and I succeed but during the holidays with all the running around, it is soo easy to fall back to it.

  7. Nice Anon December 22, 2009 at 9:55 pm #

    My only way to make my self feel better after eating what I shouldn’t is to go work out at the gym. Yeah maintaining ones weight is so hard to do but one has got to keep at it.

    Happy Holidays!

    • lucidlilith December 23, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

      Happy holidays!

  8. solomonsydelle January 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    super random, babe! =)

    happy 2010!

    NIGERIAN CURIOSITY
    IT WAS SO MUCH EASIER WHEN I ONLY HAD ONE…

  9. Caramel Delight January 5, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    OMG!!!!!!! You are Rosie!!!! LMAO! I am probably the last person to get that but I don’t care jo! I really enjoy when you co-host on Vera’s show and thank you for dropping by on my blog. Happy New year!

Leave a Reply

