Empire State of Mind

5 Jan

I’m baaaaaaaaaaaack!

Happy New Year y’all. After a week in upstate New York, we drove down to the city. It was an uneventful drive except for the fact that New York’s finest gave me a Christmas present. Yup. A ticket. Just when my last *ahem* violation dropped off my license and my insurance premium went down, I got a ticket. *sigh* Life’s not fair.

New York was is awesome. Frankly, I don’t know why I never bothered to visit before. If I had to rewind my life by 10 years and pick a city to live in, New York City would be it. No doubt. Something about the city makes your heart beat harder and you get the feeling that you are actually alive. It is so vibrant like it’s a living being…I can’t describe it.

Although he does not read this blog, I just want to give a shout out to Blackie for hosting us in his Manhattan home. Too bad he could not hang out with us for more than a few hours cus he had to go to California for his engagement party…congrats!

Things you should know about visiting New York City:

  • No matter how much money you have, it’s never enough
  • Figuring out the subway is a science
  • Chinese takeout menus are really elaborate
  • There is always somewhere/thing to eat
  • The city itself is a good weight loss program. Lots of walking. You burn off all you eat. This is the first holiday season I did not gain any pounds
  • In the winter, it is really really really really really really cold. Really
  • The food stands are a tad overrated
  • People are nice and helpful but be careful … some of them could send you in the wrong direction
  • For a city of 8 million people, it’s quite clean…at least the Manhattan part of it
  • Driving in the city is not as hard as people make it out to be but I would not recommend it

We had a blast touring the Empire State Building, Public Library (which I had to see because of the movie “The day after tomorrow”), caught the Rockettes at Radio City Music Hall, saw really nice window displays, the Statue of Liberty (from the Staten Island Ferry), ice skating at Central Park (he skated while I tried not to keep count of how many times my butt hit the ice), China Town (I bought a really nice Sake serving set, Japanese soup bowls and spoons and colorful bangles) and finally we spent New Year’s Eve at Times Square.

Yes. It’s as tough as people say. I recommend standing for six to seven hours minimum in freezing temperatures (without a bathroom break) to watch a ball drop at midnight – once in your lifetime. There is nothing like it. Of course by 9 pm I could no longer feel my legs and my toes were in danger of being frostbitten but my stubborn self gritted my teeth and muttered, “bring it!” And mother nature responded by sending down freezing rain. After my third shivering, “bring it!” Turtle begged me to stop messing with mother nature and just shut up.

A few words of wisdom for those of you brave enough to try this:

  • If you can afford it, spend $150-$400 to get into a party near Times Square.  Parties usually have open bars, free buffet, free breakfast and then you get to watch the ball drop later in a space reserved for you.
  • If you are not a high roller and would like to tough it out with the rest of the minions, bundle up. You can never get too warm. Truuuuust me. Have a lot of feet and hand warmers.
  • Do not drink anything from noon. There are no bathrooms. If you leave to go to the bathroom, you cannot come back to your spot.
  • Bring your mp3 player, crossword puzzle, Sudoku, cards, or a book to pass time.
  • Bring cash to buy hot pizza from vendors who walk up and down the aisle. Avoid the hot cocoa or coffee. You will want to pee after a couple of hours. Avoid sneaking in a flask of liquor. If the cops don’t find and confiscate it, don’t drink it. You will want to pee after a couple of hours.
  • Don’t worry about the crowd. It is organized chaos.
  • Have a sense of humor. It’s all you got for the long wait.

Anyhue – after ringing in the New Year, I was happy to go back to the apartment … I had my first fight of the year because Turtle wanted to go out and party and I wanted to go to bed. I permitted told him to go by himself, put up my stiff frozen legs and enjoyed a midnight Memosa (sounds like a good name for a book eh?).

It’s good to be back blogville.

14 Responses to “Empire State of Mind”

  1. Caramel Delight January 5, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    I’m first!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Caramel Delight January 5, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Sounds like you had a great time. When I visit NYC I think i’ll aim for spring/summer , it looked freezing!

  3. taynement January 5, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    sounds like mucho fun! I love new york too, like you said, it’s so alive.

  4. Ms. Sula January 5, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Welcome Back!

    Something about the city makes your heart beat harder and you get the feeling that you are actually alive. It is so vibrant like it’s a living being…I can’t describe it.

    This is so very true about New York… but I figure in the long run, your heart beating faster can’t be good for you. 🙂 … which is why Chicago is my favorite city in the US… You get all the vibrancy and excitement of NYC, without the heart beating faster.

    Glad you had fun! And don’t worry NYE’s disputes are rituals couples seem to love. I had a stiff myself for bloody what I can’t even remember. Glad to see you back!

  5. Andrea January 6, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    happy newyear and welcome back.. I have never being to new york… Hopely oneday…its sounds like fun.

  6. Tatababe January 6, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Lol @ ” After my third shivering, “bring it!” Turtle begged me to stop messing with mother nature and just shut up” sound like you had a blast though. Happy new year! and welcome back.

  7. lucidlilith January 6, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    OMG Guys! I had so much fun. I really wish to move there someday.

  8. Nice Anon January 6, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Drive in NY? That would be the day! It is a fun city I must say . Happy New Year!

  9. Lady X January 7, 2010 at 3:46 am #

    You sound like you had a lotta fun! I LOVE Japanese and Chinese food. Yeah…I don’t like cities where I have to walk around a lot. I’d rather just take cabs. Lazy me! You sound like you had to go pee a lot haha!

  10. Adanne January 7, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Happy new year! I love NY too! The two times I’ve been there I felt the exact same way you did. It’s too bad I can’t get a job in my field there and even if I did the pay is pitiful given the cost of living.

  11. Original Mgbeke January 7, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    Welcome back! I’m glad you had a good time in the NYC. The parts of Manhattan wey I don observe no too clean sha o. I can imagine that it must have been crazy cold. Brrrrrrrrrrr.

  12. Ms.O January 8, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Ohh sounds like alot of fun. I might do it next yr! Happy Newyr!!!

  13. Helene January 10, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    I have always wanted to visit NYC!!! It sounds amazing!!

  14. Azazel January 11, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    Happy New Year hun

Leave a Reply

