Grown up tastebuds

19 Jan

What was your childhood beverage of choice ?

Most Americans were raised on omnipresent milk – a glass with breakfast, lunch and dinner. I was raised on hot cocoa and tea as well as other sugary ‘minerals.’  Before austerity (if you don’t recognize this term then you are making me feel old) we had hot cocoa – mainly Ovaltine and Peak milk with sugar cubes – not granulated sugar. Then times got tough and many households switched to Lipton Tea with condensed milk –remember Carnations?

What about when you brought home good grades? Remember how our moms and dads would reward us with a trip to Mr. Biggs.  I know now that we have all kinds of fast food places like Crunchies, Chicken Republic, Pizza Inn etc…but back then Mr. Biggs was ‘ebe ano’.  It was almost a monopoly.  There we  had our choice of scotched eggs, spicy chicken, pastries,  and either Coke or Fanta?  The king and queen of sugary beverages or ‘minerals’ was Coke and Fanta…Pepsi was good but secondary, and once in a while Fanta Ginger Ale and Limca were adequate substitutes.

Haaaa – Sprite! Can anyone remember how Sprite launched a campaign where you had to collect 13 animals imprinted on the bottle caps? I was very little but I remember how there was a collection frenzy for mere freebies back in the 80s for tortoise, elephant, rabbit/hare and I think the toughest one to get was the eagle? Correct me if I am wrong blogville – and by blogville this time I mean those old enough to complain of knee pain.

Due to all the Lipton I drank in my childhood, I have become a strong defender of tea. I look down on coffee consumers as uncultured and many amongst many. Drinking tea always set me apart. I enjoy going to the tea room downtown and drinking actual tea with desserts. As a tea snob, I was a little disturbed that I got gourmet coffee and cappuccino as Christmas. What is a girl to do? Re-gift? 

This morning, I bravely brewed my first instant capp and added some whipped cream. Delicious. Where had cappuccino been all my life? I felt all yuppie with my foam moustache PLUS I had a good buzz going. I think it is official. I am leaving my childhood sweet tooth behind. It is time to ditch the sugar hot cocoa/tea train and step into adult shoes. It is time to save the Lipton tea for a cold rainy day or when I have the flu. It is time for my tastebuds to ditch the mama-tie-me-for-back taste and slip into sexy jeans and t-shirt.

It is time.

17 Responses to “Grown up tastebuds”

  1. taynement January 19, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Aww, I’m a coffee gial. Drank so much Nescafe ( without milk I might add, I hate that stuff) my hands were shaking. So feel free to regift this way! My mom and bro used to drink Horlicks to “fatten up”. I’ve never seen Limca in this bottle just the green one. Remember Tandi Guarana?

    • lucidlilith January 20, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Lol…Tandi Guarana..I remember the commercials but never tasted the drink..I think.

  2. BBB January 20, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    oh ovaltine used to be so good does days…….. they dont make them like that anymore..
    still yet to try capuccinno but we just got a machine at d office might try it soon……

    • lucidlilith January 20, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      …and so expensive back in the day too.

  3. Myne Whitman January 20, 2010 at 2:56 am #

    Ahh..I also drank a lot of hot tea and cold cocoa growing up, got introduced to coffee when I got to Uni. Now I drink all three depending on the weather and my mood. Where did you dig up those pics from? LOL

    • lucidlilith January 20, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      You know what I do for fun…I go to youtube and watch all those old 80s commercials. Priceless I tell you.

  4. Caramel Delight January 20, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    “If you want to dance together
    If you want to drink together..
    If you want to dance together lalalim drink together!
    All you to drink, Limca!
    Lalalim drink Limca!
    All you need to drink Limca!!!
    Lalalim drink Limca!!!”

    Hahahahaha!

    If that doesn’t show I’m an 80’s baby, I don’t know what will!

    I am still a tea girl. In Nigeria growing up it was Milo, then I got to uni and my best friend got me unto tea and I have never looked back. If I need a kick, then coffee, but mostly tea. PS Lipton is a poor reflection on tea (real tea snob right here LOL)!

    • lucidlilith January 20, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      lmao….i was actually humming the sone while i typed up the post. Jeez girl…your memory is amazing!

  5. Andrea January 20, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    oh… memories.. I still love carnation milk.

    • lucidlilith January 20, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      remember the commercial…how they got all those people from around different countries to say:

      Carnation. Yes.

  6. Caramel Delight January 20, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    I only remember because I loved the tune and the dancing ladies on the island. Everytime the ad would come up I would jump up and start dancing 🙂

  7. Lady X January 20, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    Choco Milo!!! And Condensed milk!!! I and my siblings still go hunting down Choco Milo and Condensed milk. But they sell one packet of Choco Milo for 500 Naira now. An Outrage I say! And Gala! And Goody Goody! I would give a LOT for a hot piece of Gala right about now…

    • lucidlilith January 21, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      Choco Milo is responsible for my missing teet

      I still looooove Gala.

      Remember GoGo…very much like M&Ms.

  8. Helene January 20, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    I remember the days of powdered milk….I hated it! I would refuse to drink it unless my dad put Quik in it. Now, my kids are the same way!

    • lucidlilith January 21, 2010 at 10:20 am #

      Most of us went to boarding school back in the day, so powdered milk was pretty much a way of life….no choice in the matter. I learned to be just okay with it.

  9. Lady X January 21, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Condensed Milk! That one that was called Ptit. It had a cow on it!

  10. Rita January 22, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    I just remember the good old days. It was bournvita oh but if i go to my neighbour;s house and see ovaltine, i wont come back home in a hurry…

    And liquid peak…gosh…i drank it so much.

Leave a Reply

