Balloons, Games and Toilet Paper

22 Jan

Wow. It seems like I have been going down memory lane these last few weeks. Hmm…. I wonder why….

When I left a message on Vera’s blog wishing her a happy birthday, I wished her lots of jollof rice, chicken and hard icing (naija-style) cake. I also wished her lots of blomh-blomh – an expression I had not used since I was … I don’t know … ten years old maybe? I still don’t know why I used it but it got me thinking of all the expressions and words we used as children like:

Knicka – shorts (probably from the English derivative Knickers), Chuwingum – Chewing Gum,  Blomh-Blomh – Balloons, Suweeti (sweets) – Candy

Our creativity did not stop there. We were capable of taking any random thing and making it a toy. A stick and an old bicycle tire was all the boys needed to run up and down the street. For girls, hopscotch or a game of ten-ten was all we needed to divide the entire neighborhood into feuding teams.

Kites nko? While our western counterparts went to party stores and got fancy supplies to build kites, we collected old newspapers, broom sticks, left over threads after aunty Ngozi/Veronica/Patricia plaits her hair, and left over eba from last night’s dinner. If you ever watched the Kite Runner, it is pretty much the same thing. All kites and their owners tested the strength of the kites and pity the fool whose kite “jalo-ed” (got lost due to windy circumstances or cut threads) or worse, got captured by another kite flyer. The feeling was worse than the death of your pet dog.

An addition to my post:

So I went running this afternoon on a trail on the campus where I work. The trail is a hardcore wooded area, with wildlife peeking at you from the bushes but I digress. Before I started running, I drank a small bottle of Nesquik milk chocolate. Now- let me tell you all, I am slightly lactose intolerant. But I figured I would be alright since it was only a small bottle. I planned to do a quick 4 miles but as soon as I hit the 1 and ½ mile mark, my intestines decided to do “the wave.” I had to go really really bad and if I had had the wherewithal to take toilet paper with me, I would have dashed into the woods, wildlife or no wildlife.  If it was summer and there were leaves available….you get the gist.

 I did an about-turn and ran the longest and the fastest 1 and half mile I ever ran. It was a test of my will and the strength of my sphincter. I ran so fast that I was pretty sure my co-workers were really impressed. Little did they know my speed had nothing to do with my stamina. So be warned. If you carry a fanny pack when you exercise, you might want to add a wad of toilet paper right next to that water bottle…just saying.

Did this post just turn all random on me?

14 Responses to “Balloons, Games and Toilet Paper”

  1. Original Mgbeke January 22, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    LMAO, you really took it back. Remember how we would use the empty cartons of sugar…I forget the name but it was a blue square box, attach strings to it and call it a telephone?
    Ooh and those terms, I rolled at blohm blohm. LOL

    • lucidlilith January 25, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

      Yeah…that term just jumped at me from nowhere. Remember this song:

      Suweeti
      Chuwingum
      Na alaputa umu agbohun
      N’ enu bed Anthony

      Translation:
      Sweet
      Chewing gum
      Lures young girls
      On Anthony’s bed

  2. Azazel January 23, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Lmao hahahahahahhahahahahahahahaha Mgbeks I know the box ur talking about lol

    • lucidlilith January 25, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      I can’t remember the name of that brand for the life of me…do you know?

  3. El-Divine January 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    wow…that was real as f. reminds me of a similar incident when I had to ride an ‘okada’ home during break bcos i wont go to a communal toilet.

    • lucidlilith January 25, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

      LOL! I am guessing that each time the okada hit a pothole the shock was enough to make you crazy…

  4. BBB January 25, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    lol
    i have run back home before cos of running tummy, its not funny at all oh

    • lucidlilith January 25, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

      I had all kinds of scenarios playing around in my head. What if…what if…

  5. solomonsydelle January 25, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    hahahahaha! You had the ‘runs’ – all puns intended. Okay, sorry oh but lol!

    • lucidlilith January 25, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

      yeessh …you are baaaad!!! LOL. I did not think of that.

  6. Helene January 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    OMG, that’s classic!!! As soon as you mentioned the chocolate milk I was like uh-oh!! My husband is lactose-intolerant too and he’s had moments like that!

    I remember playing hopscotch when I was a kid…and 4-square! Oh to be young again!

  7. Quaggar January 26, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Oh my.. the memories!

  8. Rose January 26, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    I certainly remember those days! The sugar brand was st. louis or so with one lion on the box?: I don’t remember any other brand of sugar..rotfl.
    Oh, I do remember ten-ten and the rivalry it caused! And short-knicka too!

    • lucidlilith January 26, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      Yeeesss!!!!! It is St. Louis…with the lion on the box!

Leave a Reply

