You learn something new each day

26 Jan

Sobriety sucks.  That’s why we invented booze in the first place.

-Tommy Gavin (Rescue Me, Season 5, Volume 2)

Disclaimer: alright, if you in AA or you a born again/reformed party girl/boy you may want to go read another blog.

Turtle’s dad is a beer connoisseur with a bonafide beer club membership.  Over the holidays he took the time to show me his beer ‘collection’ in his basement.  I use the term ‘collection’ loosely because goodness knows we certainly imbibed more that we collected.

Anyhue – I was mildly surprised to see such variety because my basic experience with beer is this:

  • Heineken ruled until Yeungling came to town (same taste, half price)
  • Budwieser/Budlight tastes like piss water
  • Coors is manageable if you have no other options
  • Corona makes you look like you have discernable taste
  • Sweetwater is just plain nasty
  • You can never go wrong with Stella Artois
  • Becks is a good choice when hanging with the guys

…but these are all pretty common beers.  The basement collection seemed pretty unique to me.

Saranac Imperial Stout: found in the Adirondack region and has *gasp* 9% alcohol.  (‘scuse me but ain’t that more like wine ?)

Sprecker Dunkle Weizen: (try saying that really fast) is made in Milwaukee and is a wheat/ale beer

Moerlein Barbarossa: is a double lager that honors some German Emperor dude called Frederic I.  Slow aged and deep reddish brown with malt aroma.

Others brands in the collection are Genesse Beer (aka Genny), Stegmaier Brewhouse Bock, Buzzard Bay, Genny light, Yard’s Philadelphia ale (my favorite), Boulder Beer Flashback Anniversary Ale, Boulder Beer Mojo India Pale Ale (another fav of mine), and Tall Grass India Pale Ale.

No surprise -Rochester is one of the few places that has a Beers of the World store, the other I think is in Florida.

As for the Tommy Gavin quote above, I thought it was just  honest…and hilarious.  Nothing against those in AA…just saying…

9 Responses to “You learn something new each day”

  1. taynement January 26, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Tommy Gavin Rules.
    Beer Rules.
    Pale Ale Rules
    Long Live and (RIP) to Satzenbrau.

    …and that’s all I have to say .

    • lucidlilith January 28, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      aaaaw…poor satzenbrau.

  2. Azazel January 26, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    Niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee lol lilly

  3. Myne Whitman January 27, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    UCK…beer.

    Give me wine and liqueur any day, anytime….lol

    • lucidlilith January 28, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

      lol…after a nice long hot day..nothing like ice cold beer. wine is good too…i am not a fan of liquer. Too many nights waking up dressed in a toga and no recollection of the night before I guess…he he he.

  4. EDJ January 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    I HATE BEER. It tastes disgusting and I love sugary drinks. Also, I actually get an allergic reaction when I drink non-hard liquor like beer, Smirnoff Ice, etc. I am not even saying this to be funny. Anything that isn’t a vodka/rum type of drink gives me a bad rash. I can’t even drink some wines. Lol.

    • lucidlilith January 28, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

      Haaa. Na wetin with naija babes and hating beer. Mechie onu! Like you did not swigg Gulder and Star back home…lol

  5. Original Mgbeke January 27, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    Yeah, so not a beer chick. I tried Corona and it was mehhh. I sticks with the other kinds of liquor..lol.

    • lucidlilith January 28, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

      Nne..dis na epidemic oh. I will have to have a beer garden just for naija chics.

Leave a Reply

