Ten Things…

2 Feb

I hate  dislike  wish I could change will openly admit about me.

I am a slightly neurotic.  I hate change.  Just this past weekend, I discovered that Cover Girl had discontinued my compact shade.  I nearly blew a gasket, running from store to store trying to find it.  I finally had to switch to another similar shade. I am still getting over it.

I scare people.  Or so they tell me.  Just a while back, Turtle cracked some joke about something….he must have referred to my belly fat or something.  When I turned to glare at him, he raised his hands defensively and said, ‘please don’t hit me.’ Anyone watching would have assumed I was an abusive chick.  Pscheeew!  And this mini ‘fro is not helping.

Jennifer Beals has nothing on me.  On a quiet weekend evening just before going to bed, I like to put on my ipod and dance to my favorite beats.  And by dance, I mean shake my thing like no man’s business. I probably look like a crazy woman but who cares…it’s not like anyone can see me.

I can’t function without lists.  Very OCD, I know but that’s how I roll.  On any given day, I am working with about four or five lists.  A personal to-do list for the month, a weekly personal and work task list, a daily list I make first thing at work, another list for reminders…this one is for things I may or may not choose to do.  Maybe I should not have stopped therapy ….*ahem* … moving on…

I love to cook.  As a teen, you could not drag me away from my novels to boil hot water for eba, but as an adult, goodness, I love to create new recipes and tweak old recipes I find online.  Not to brag but – I am a goddess with egusi, okro, afang and bitterleaf.  I am a priestess with anything pasta… cavatini, pasta sauce, sauceless pasta, rigatoni…I enjoy making simple meals like stuffed peppers and stuffed pork chops.  I dazzle with fried rice made with chicken gizzard, jollof rice made with baked chicken.  I guess all those cold days in North Dakota with nothing to do but potter around in the kitchen paid off.

I have little patience.  I will give you the finger if you cut me off.  I will slow waaaaaay down if you tailgate me and if you hold up the line at the grocery store, you will probably hear something from me.  I usually tell food prep people at the deli to start all over with my order if they don’t wear gloves and I have confronted a lady smoking at a gas station.   

I hate tardiness.

I have been told I am a germaphobe.  I don’t understand exactly how not wanting to share other people’s germs makes me a germaphobe.  Isn’t that called being clean?

They don’t know this but I can’t say no to my mom or my sisters.  They have me wrapped around their fingers.  My brothers can take care of themselves.  Yes, I do partia (play favorites).

I obsess over my tummy.  The only part of me that refuses to play fair.

30 Responses to “Ten Things…”

  1. Rayo February 2, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    I do the same thing with the lists. I have two notebooks in my purse just for lists and budgets.

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 10:20 am #

      oh my you just reminded me…i have lists for budgets, groceries, and wishlists for things i want like new jeans, new car, new purse.

  2. Lady X February 2, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Oh I HATE belly FLAB!!! Smoking at a gas station? She wan kill somebody? I love to cook when I’m in the mood but sometimes I just don’t want to. It feels nice when you cook something new and it tastes good.

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      belly fat is annoying. I hate to get special pants for my belly fat which is not really so bad BUT the fact that i used to weigh 109 pounds and had super flat (skinny) abs haunts me.

  3. taynement February 2, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    I’m with you on little patience and whoever is concerned MUST hear about it. I don’t care if I don’t know you.

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      he he he…be careful oh…some peeps are just crazy.

  4. Helene February 3, 2010 at 2:33 am #

    Wow, we sure have a lot in common! I’m a total germaphobe and not ashamed to admit it either. If my kids dare walk out of the bathroom before washing their hands in warm water for at least 20 seconds, I start yelling, “20-second rule!! Get your butt back here and scrub your hands!!”

    And I have very little patience too. I can literally feel my blood beginning to boil when I’m about to lose it!

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      Military mom Helene. LOL. I can just imagine the little ones whining and scamperiing back in to wash their hands. And having a smart come-back detailing the reasons it is a waste of time to wash their hands.

  5. Rose February 3, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    I can’t function without lists either. I make lists for everything and I’m always revising them, I would like to change that about myself. It makes me prone to worry. I try to be as patient as possible though sometimes, I let the situation dictate the limit of my patience.

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      People who make lists are prone to worry. That’s true. I guess that is how we control some things around us.

  6. Andrea February 3, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    We have things in common.. Oh..how I love my list.. I make list for everything..

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      …hmmm…perhaps a group or club about list makers is in the offing?

  7. Myne Whitman February 3, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    You’re a bit like my SO on the list thing. I’m the laid back one but I dislike tardiness and other people’s germs too. My belly fat? Let’s not go there, lol…

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

      Chei Myne! I tell you…the only way my belly fat goes down is when i starve myself. It is depressing.

  8. naija mom abroad February 3, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m not a list person (though I think I should be). I always feel I’ll remember things, but guess I’m getting old and my memory is failing me these days.

    Saw your blog a while ago and loved it but didn’t bookmark it (usual me). Been searching all over for it, and I’m glad I found it. Love it!

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

      aaaw! thanks so much for coming back! i don’t know if there some kind of subscription thingie for this blog but I will find out.

  9. Adanne February 3, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    Are you a doctor? They can be so impatient…

    • lucidlilith February 3, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

      Doctor? lmao! *sputter* *gasp* I only wish. I just did my taxes and I feel like crying ‘cus the country is killing me.

      • Adanne February 4, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

        Lol just wondered cos the way you describes your impatience mirrors how doctors are kpom-kwem.

  10. taynement February 4, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    I just read your comments on Myne’s blog. You are silly. LOL!

    • lucidlilith February 10, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

      abi you no like NIKE? he h ehehe…

  11. Original Mgbeke February 4, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Very interesting stuff. Come and cook for me na, I don’t think that I love cooking sha o. I can go for months without cooking.

    • lucidlilith February 10, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

      Months?! I will die of hunger…I have to have at least one Nigerian soup dish in the fridge at all times along with two other dishes…either rice and stew, jollof rice, moi moi or pasta.

  12. Tori February 8, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Try ebay re: discontinued compact color and buy like 10. Should last you till eternity. 🙂

    Cooking? I have accepted that I will never be described as that woman who can “THROW DOWN”. Das life.

    • lucidlilith February 10, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

      Thanks my dear. It looks like that’s what I will have to do. ebay to the rescue.

  13. GoodNaijaGirl February 10, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I want to be like you when I grow up, especially with respect to cooking, hating tardiness (I do already, but I am sometimes tardy myself) and being so irked by my belly that I do something about it!

    • lucidlilith February 10, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

      aaawww! That is sooo sweet. But it makes me sound soooo old.

  14. mpb March 14, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Oh wow!!! How have I been missing the gold mine that is your blog???? LOVE LOVE LOVE it and already feel like you are one of my long lost dear friends. I started from teh very beginning oh…Lmaoing at Veeeki and multiple selves and schizo nigerian and sperlunking. Chei! anyhow, i love making lists, esp grocery lists and Yes, I am a worry wart. Now teh question is do i stick to my lists? Hee hee. Thanks for the birthday wishes.

    • lucidlilith March 14, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

      You are welcome to my parry! I cant believe you started from the beginning…jeez…i feel so flattered and overwhelmed all of a sudden. Now I have to up my game.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How much…. « The Lilith Dairies - March 24, 2010

    […] my 10 Things post about being a germaphobe?  Well, it turns out that I had always been a neatness freak. I just […]

Leave a Reply

