This recession thingie…

9 Feb

…Or as I like to call it ‘austerity’ …has finally hit me.

If you lived in Nigeria in the 80s then you would not need to google the word.

And no, I have not lost my job. *knocks on wood*

Honestly, I feel like I have been in a recession ever since I moved to the United States. I have always had to budget, cut corners, do without, sacrifice and so on and so forth so when this recession came around, it was business as usual. I still budgeted, cut corners, sacrificed and went without. But this time, it is somewhat different. It is different because the cost of things have gone up. Everything costs more so your already tight budget has no breathing room. Literally.

It was appalling to realize that one lived like a King back in college. If I wanted a slab of ribs at the now defunct Farmer Jack’s, I got a slab of ribs. I could still afford to own a blockbuster membership then and comfortably rent two or three movies a week. I could buy myself one or two new outfits a month at the mall. I could afford two cars and rent and all this with considerably less money.

Fast forward to 2010. Rent, yes. New car payment …very iffy at this point. New clothes? Only if I go to Ross or Marshall’s. Ribs? If I can get over the calorie count, then maybe half a slab is as much as $10 will get me. Getting my hair did? LOL. *cue in the ‘fro*

The seriousness of the recession only went as far as what I heard/read in the news. Besides a pay and hiring freeze, my job was untouched. Last year, I only knew a few people that were out of work. This year, that number has quadrupled and if you add six degrees of separation…you get the idea.

Twice last week, I had a Jr. Double Bacon Cheese burger for 99 cents at Wendy’s because I was really determined to stick with my budget. I managed to finagle two new tops for myself this month…that’s as much as a splurge I will be seeing for a while. As for that new Remington 870 I have been dreaming of, I don’t think that will be happening any time soon. I think the day I start buying bottom shelf vodka would be my lowest point…BUT…don’t get me wrong, I know I am blessed but I figured a good gripe would help me cope mentally. I still don’t know which I can manage this year – a new car or a trip home to Nigeria. I want both so badly. So blogville, how are you coping especially you married folks with an army of kids?  AND you college students?

14 Responses to “This recession thingie…”

  1. taynement February 9, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    offtopic what does life as an NIA stand for/mean?

    • BBB February 10, 2010 at 2:29 am #

      its crazy
      2010 has really been d bunt of it all, i am like at my lowest so i guess iits time to start climbing up

      • lucidlilith February 10, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

        BBB: word. Nowhere to go but up I suppose.

    • lucidlilith February 10, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      It means Nigerian In America.

  2. GoodNaijaGirl February 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    You may have shared about it in an earlier post but if your car is still chugging along I’d go to Naija. It’ll be nice to get away!

  3. Vera Ezimora February 10, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    I’ll tell you how I’m coping

    1. I don’t know if my savings account still exists. And I don’t care to find out either. What’s the point??

    2. Whenever I manage to add some money to my account, I don’t bother checking the balance.

    3. I limit where I go to. Gas is expensive abeg.

    4. No new clothes, shoes, etc.

    5. My hair … is an apology!

    • lucidlilith February 15, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Vera, why don’t you ask your mother. the older you get, the harder it will be to get money from your parents. Do it now! Carpe Dollar!

  4. Caramel Delight February 11, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    No new clothes till winter is over. Hair is still every 6 weeks I don’t care. My biggest cut is that I don’t go out so much. I’m saving up for a car so I am channeling as much money as possible towards it. London is bad bad bad! My industry is worse. When there is a recession it’s the marketing/advertising/PR sector that gets the chop first.

    • lucidlilith February 15, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Ha! I pray that your job remains your job oh!

  5. Rose February 11, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    It hit home especially after the splurge of the festive season…though it’s been a bit tight ever since, I’m coping better than I expected. Budgeting has been of great help; the most important/necessary first then, few things may be added. Hopefully, it gets better soon. [exhale].

    • lucidlilith February 15, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      nne, I exhale with you.

  6. naija mom abroad February 13, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    My dear, when my baby’s formula finishes, i go like , ‘already?’

    right now, salon visits are limited to only retouching and single braids. the braids can last for 8weeks or more if i can help it. don’t care. austerity measures.

    • lucidlilith February 15, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      ha ha ha…lol. I always said breastfeediing achieves two things. It helps you lose baby weight and it’s cheap!

  7. Olaoluwatomi February 19, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    I remember austerity it was my first ‘big’ word!

Leave a Reply

