A random of sorts

16 Feb

This was the most productive Valentine’s day weekend ever.  And it had little to do with v-day.  I just was up and about getting things done partly because Turtle and I had a fight and did not get to spend it together ‘cus we were both sulking.  All is well now though.

I left work early on Friday because it snowed.  We had like 3 inches.  And if you live in the south that means that things pretty much shut down state-wide.  Yay!  Thank goodness for southerners who can’t handle a little bit of snow.

The fact that I got off work early meant I could start cooking early.  I set about dicing … chopping… stirfrying …boiling.

By the end of the evening, I had a sizable pot of Okro Soup (trick for making it less drawy…machine blend no more than one cup of okro for ten seconds… don’t chop it – then – overcook it by about ten minutes before adding your vegetables).  Notice that there are rarely any seeds?  I hate the seeds.  To make it healthier, I use no more than 2 tbsp of palm oil mixed with another 4 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil.  Palm oil has too much saturated fat but it does bring out the flavor of the soup so use it sparingly.  For health nuts, nix the palm oil and just use olive oil mixed with tomata sauce.

The  Turkey Sausage Rigatoni and Stuffed Bell Peppers did not look bad either.

The best part is that I could enjoy them from this selection:

The pasta went well with the Ropiteau red wine.  The Hans Schiller I saved for my Bel Gioioso cheese snack time.

My whole weekend was not about only food.  I manage to read four chapters for my exam on Wednesday, finished ‘Time Between Dog and Wolf’ (korean drama), and caught up on latest movie releases and caught up on sleep. 

I wish every weekend was like this.

20 Responses to “A random of sorts”

  1. Caramel Delight February 16, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    I bit the bullet and made okoro soup with out any palm oil, only red peppers for colour and a lot of stock and it came out divine! I hope your Turtle got a chance to taste some of your good cooking?

    • lucidlilith February 16, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

      I am yet to try okro without palm oil. I just love the flavor but not the health problems it can create. So I minimize the use. Turtle keeps nagging me to make him goat pepper soup. I tell him to go buy goat meat.

  2. Caramel Delight February 16, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Yipee, I’m first.

  3. Adanne February 16, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    What’s the point to okra if’s not draw-draw and full of seeds

    • lucidlilith February 16, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

      Some people (like me) hate too much draw-draw. I am not a fan of the seeds. I don’t mind them but I would rather not see them. Same thing with onions. I have to dice my onions to tiny bits OR I use powdered onions if necessary. Big onion pieces are a no-no for me.

  4. BBB February 17, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    dont even like okro at all
    cos its too drawy ‘guess i wud try ur method might like it…
    that soup look divine….

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2010 at 10:58 am #

      I did not like Okro as a child oh. But I learned that overcooking okro reduces its drawiness. Blending it too makes the consistency more palatable to me at least.

      • Adanne February 17, 2010 at 11:32 am #

        ahhh…okay. Okra was (and still is) my best soup growing up, seeds, draw-draw and all. The way you make it, it might as well be ogbono! But hey you’ve found a way to enjoy it which is what counts 🙂

        • lucidlilith February 17, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

          funny you should mention this but I add one table spoonful of ground ogbono to my okro soup. It’s weird that I detest ogbono by itself and okro by itself. the combo goes down well for me….i guess we can call it okrogbono soup.

  5. Azazel February 17, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    In this recession na people like u come dey enjoy. Na wa o

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2010 at 10:59 am #

      LOL. My dear bestie, i am still in a recession oh. I for add ribs and chinese cellophane noodles and seafood but for where I go get money na?

  6. Andrea February 17, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Next time you cook, transfer the food over and we sha be best friends..

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2010 at 11:00 am #

      If you are ever in Georgia, pleas stop by and I will treat you to the best Egusi soup you have ever tasted.

  7. Helene February 18, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    I’ve never tried Okra before but the way you prepared it looks really good! And the rigatoni looks amazing too…it’s been a long time since I’ve had a good rigatoni dish!

    • lucidlilith February 18, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks Helene! But I must say it pales in comparison to your Lasagna.

  8. naija mom abroad February 18, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    your okra looks good, though I don’t mind the seeds myself. I also go slow on the palm oil for health resons.

    Meanwhile, your kitchen looks so tidy and organized with all the ingredients chopped in their plates. Just imagining if my toddler were to step foot in that kitchen of yours. you won’t dare keep all those dishes out!

    • lucidlilith February 18, 2010 at 10:25 am #

      LOL…yes i tend to be anal retentive about things being in order when I cook. I arrange ingredients in the order of use and according to dish. I need to relax a little. And no. I don’t allow children in my kitchen when I cook. After – they can stuff their faces as much as they want.

  9. JoaR February 18, 2010 at 2:12 am #

    The soup looks REALLY good, and the Rigatoni doesn’t look that bad either. Seems like you had a good ‘ol valentines day – nothing wrong with indulging yourself…

    • lucidlilith February 18, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      Thanks J. The best was that it was very relaxing. Those come so few and far between.

  10. Emeka February 19, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    lol… …the things the sight of this okro soup did to me! chineke!!

    kai!! and it seems to have an appreciable amount of activity happenin’ in there… ..hunter(meat), fisherman(fish) and umunne and umunna ha(other accessories that make for ntaghari onu)

    permit me to digress a bit… …couple this with some pounded yam(strictly done with mortar and pestle… rapu that instant mix poundo or yam pounder contraption)… repeat every day of the week and if you were kickin’ it with a tru igbo man (Anambra state to be precise) …. ….nne(in my best anambra igbo voice) a 2010 vehicle will be sitting in your parking lot!!

Leave a Reply

