Adventure Course

26 Feb

This is gonna be a short one.

Last weekend my Leadership and Change Management tormentor professor had us up and about on a Saturday morning at 8:30 to participate in an adventure course. It was cold and since I am not a morning person I was not too pleased.

The adventure course is used to build team work and leadership. You are divided into teams and made to work together to overcome obstacles.

 We had to use planks to get over “water” from “island” to “island.” We had to pass invisible balls from one person to another where you could either “whoosh” the ball to someone else, “boing” if you needed a minute to think where to pass it next, “zap” it to someone else or “superfreak” if you wanted everyone to run around in circles while you thought about it for a minute. It was weird. But it made sense if you applied it to real life’s problems.

We had to “ski” across “snow” with “skis” that were connected to everyone else so we had to move as one body to get ahead. We had to walk across a “bridge” suspended above ground with nothing but a rope to hold onto and some classmates to stand around to catch you in case you fell. (Now I know why we had to sign waivers).

That's me behind the tall guy, checking to make sure others are set. Can't see my head.

I think we did pretty well but I damn near had an anxiety attack midway up the ropes course. I don’t like heights and having to trust a bunch of people NOT to drop me from a five-storey high structure was not what I had in mind for a Saturday morning. All in all, I learned something. You can’t do it all alone. For a proud independent soloist like myself it was humbling.

The Tower of Terror. I was totally panicked up there.

The Belay Team. The guys that are not supposed to drop you.

 

On a random note: I am thinking of migrating to blogger.   More widgets, I suppose.

I wish you all a wonderful safe weekend.

16 Responses to “Adventure Course”

  1. Vera Ezimora February 26, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Well done ehn! You put a picture where we can barely seen your face. What is that nonsense???

    LOL @ the tower of terror. That couldn’t have felt good. Well, better you than me.

    • lucidlilith March 1, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

      My prof took that photo. As for my face, I learned from the best on how to keep my anonymity…he he he…

  2. Mamuje February 27, 2010 at 2:51 am #

    Nice, unfortunately I didn’t have the opportunity to do this when I did my strategy course. Anyway good job, I am petrified of heights. I probably wouldn’t have done it. lol

    • lucidlilith March 1, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

      The hard part is just being mentally aware that you can do it. I had good classmates that cheered me on.

  3. Lady X February 27, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    LOL it looks so hard!!! But yay! You did all of it! Please join Blogger!!

    • lucidlilith March 1, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

      Yes oh, I am seriously considering it. WordPress is too rigid.

  4. joicee February 27, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    yeah come unto blogger,
    adventure course,sounds interesting, first time of hearing of such

    • lucidlilith March 1, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

      Well thank your stars cus it aint easy …especially the early morning part.

  5. Original Mgbeke February 28, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    Sounds like fun activities for a Saturday morning…NOT. LoL.
    Yeah, come to blogger. *wink, wink*

    • lucidlilith March 1, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

      I could not stop yawning all morning.

  6. Caramel Delight March 2, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Aarrrrrrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhhh adventure courses fill me with terror!!! That tower is freaking me out from the comfort of my chair.

    • lucidlilith March 3, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      lmao! I was defiant. I said i did not want to go up there but they made me do it.

  7. Adanne March 2, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    BIKO! don’t move to blogger, i like the cleanliness of wordpress layouts. All those blogger widgets make people’s blog look like myspace on crack.
    (i know i’m being slightly hypocritical, but blogger was not my first choice of a blogging medium)

    • lucidlilith March 3, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      lol @mayspace on crack! you should copyright that.

  8. solomonsydelle March 3, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    You would be one of the first to move from WordPress to Blogger, quite frankly. But if you do make that transition you will be welcomed!

    That tower of terror, well, better you than me, babe!

    • lucidlilith March 3, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

      Hmmmm…after Adanne’s comments and your view, I must agree that although Blogger has more widgets, WordPress has a neatness about it.

Leave a Reply

