TRX kicked my @ss

5 Mar

We have this enormous fitness center where I work.  It’s free for the staff so I go there four to five times week.  I do some cardio, some HIIT, some strength training and generally enjoy my workouts.  There are also free group fitness exercise with include yoga.  On Wednesdays, there is a fitness session called TRX Suspension Training.  I noticed the group do these exercises hanging off straps on walls.  You know me, anything that looks like S & M gets my attention.  For months I watched them out of curiosity until one day, I decided to try it.  My boss and one other co-worker attend this session religiously, so I figured if they could do it, so could I.

This innocent looking piece of equipment was developed by an ex-navy seal (like, duh!) and simulates athletic movements.  No wonder it is also used by the military.  It works your entire body. 

Long story short… I learned about muscles that I did not know existed in my body.  I felt like jello when I was done.  Yesterday (Thursday) and Today(Friday) the best I have been able to do is hobble around. Everything hurts…even breathing.

I am no slacker.  I work out three to five days a week:  HIIT, strenght training, cardio, so I believe myself to be as fit as I can possibly be (except for those pesky ten vanity pounds and belly fat I never seem to be able to lose). This workout IS VERY TOUGH.  I was sweating like tourist in the Amazon when I was done.  But I was also glad to have found a workout that challenged me.

So come next Wednesday, BRING IT!

22 Responses to “TRX kicked my @ss”

  1. Jaycee March 5, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    I need to gym!

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

      We all need to. The heart is willing but the flesh is weak.

  2. Mamuje March 5, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Nice one. I am looking forward to when I can remove the excess belly fat……………………….soon 🙂

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

      from your lips to God’s ears!

  3. Neefemi March 5, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    awww pele, felt like that on Monday after my spin class but been sick since then, cant wait to go back to the gym

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      You know. I think I should try spinning. I love punishment.

  4. naija mom abroad March 5, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    lol. good you have the challenge. sure you’ll feel better by the next work out. pele.

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      thanks. By Sunday, I was able to manage a long three mile run/walk.

  5. KG March 5, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I’m jealous that you have easy access to a free gym. And mehn, I would love to experience that jello feeling. I need to gym up stat!

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

      Yes o! The fact that it is free is just the bee’s knees. And it is state-of-the-art brand spanking new.

  6. Funmi March 5, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    And those of us who haven’t smelled a gym (let alone enter one) for years officially hang our heads in shame… ***sulking***

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

      Aaaaaw. Dont beat yourself up. Even with all my gym-gym, I still battle with belly fat.

  7. Helene March 6, 2010 at 12:16 am #

    I’ve so been there…when everyone muscle in your body hurts so bad that even taking a breath makes you want to keel over in pain. Usually that’s about the I quit! Sounds like you a lot more stamina and persistence than I do!

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

      am just plain ole stubborn…he he he…

  8. Kenna March 6, 2010 at 2:07 am #

    I see I need to test out that thing…oh boy..looks like WORK!!!

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

      *wonders if a disclaimer is needed here*

  9. Lady X March 6, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    Yay to working out! Hmm I tried doing this Yoga Video once and it looked easy but when I started I was like WTH! So I just stick to skipping and doing exercise videos. I crave toned arms.

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

      You know, some days I feel great but some days I stand in front of the mirror and I go “ugh..is that a fatty deposit?”

  10. Original Mgbeke March 7, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    I’m slightly jealous reading this. I really do miss the gym/active lifestyle and once I resume I need something hardcore and challenging. Do you do the P90X that everyone talks about?

    • lucidlilith March 8, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

      We do have a P90X session at the gym but am not THAT brave. LOL. I heard getting your toe nails ripped off is less painful.

  11. Ms. Sula March 9, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Funny you talked about this on Friday… as I just started my Insanity schedule…

    I, too, like torture for some reason. When my body is aching (like right now), I somewhat feel like I am alive. 🙂

    • lucidlilith March 10, 2010 at 11:07 am #

      Oh my goodness. Insanity is really for crazy people. Between that and P90X, I don’t know which is harder. But…BIG KUDOS to you. Tell me how it works out for you.

Leave a Reply

