Deleted and Restored

12 Mar

I mistakenly deleted all the pictures on my memory card last week.  The old me would have freaked out over this but the new me figured it was not that much of a big deal.  BUT.  There were some random images that I had taken and wanted to show to folks.  However,  in keeping with my new system of self awareness and not sweating the small stuff, I shrugged off my disappointment and went about my life.

Then, I found out a co-worker of mine who is a photographer had this gizmo that restores deleted files from memory cards.  He successfully restored my photos and some of the random images include:

The first egusi soup I had cooked in like almost six months.  I was trying to cut back on the fat in my diet and since egusi is especially fatty, I decided to stop eating it for a while.  But it is also my favorite soup so I could not resist making another pot.  To help me with portion control, I stored and froze the soup in small containers with the idea that I won’t eat more than one container of egusi soup in one week.  So help me God.

I can’t remember why the heck I took this photo but I think I just took a shower (since I am in my bathrobe) and shaved my legs or just got a pedicure, I must have been admiring my feet while watching the BBC series “The Pallisers.”  That’s Plantagenet Palliser on the screen.  Who the heck names their child Plantagenet?  Who the heck names their child Phinneas Finn?  Some of the characters have strange names but oh well, those were Victorian times.

So I was about to leave for work one morning when I saw these two hens jejely (gently) walking across the driveway.  They were huge.  My first thought was, if this were Nigeria, they would be someone’s dinner.  My second thought was, who the heck owns these hens and what are they doing in my driveway?

So after last weeks’ TRX torture session, I was unable to move around much but by Sunday, I could manage a three mile walk/jog.  I took my camera along and took some photos of the trail.  In the summer/fall, it is really beautiful with flowers and colorful leaves.

I went to a Salvation Army store to buy some old 99 cent t-shirts I needed for exercising.  While there, I spied this Liz Clairborne handbag for $1.99.  Of course, being a bargain hunter I grabbed the bag, almost snatching it from another lady who had exactly the same thought as me.  I think I will go there more often.  One woman’s junk and another woman’s treasure, eh?

That’s all the show and tell I got folks!  Have a lovely weekend!

20 Responses to “Deleted and Restored”

  1. naija mom abroad March 12, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Liz Clairborne for $1.99? Jeez! that’s a steal. lucky you.

    meanwhile, this your egusi really looks scrumptious. i think i’ll make egusi next.

  2. naija mom abroad March 12, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Liz Clairborne for $1.99? Jeez! that’s a steal! lucky you.

    Mehn, that your egusi looks scrumptious. Think I’ll make egusi next time.

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:25 am #

      I know right? And to think I was thinking of going in disguise so no one would see me go in and out of a SA store.

  3. taynement March 12, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Hmm there might be something in this salvation army oh, make I try am one day. Have a wonderful weekend.

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      Yes. I found one cute jean dress for $2.99. A good summer wear.

  4. Funmi March 12, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    WOW… Bargain is an understatement! That bag is gorgeous… So is that egusi… I think I have found the source of the cooking lessons I so desperately need. My Naija soup repertoire no pass okro- not good enough.

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      If you need a recipe, holla at me at lucidlilith AT gmail.com

  5. Mamuje March 12, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Your egusi looks amazing oh….. and that bag abeg keep am for me…heheheheheh

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      …lol mamuje,u know get SA for your neck of the woods?

  6. Azazel March 13, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    The picture of the forest is so eerie to me lol Idk why

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      The first time I jogged there, men, I was a little scared. But I got used to it and i kind of like it now.

  7. akaBagucci March 14, 2010 at 4:11 am #

    Them chickens ar emaking me salivate already 🙂

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:29 am #

      Chei! Onye Olili! I know you were the type that stole the principal’s chickens in boarding school.

  8. KG March 14, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    That your egusi is off the chain. I didn’t know egusi was esp fatty *look of astonishment*

    Plantagenet is a weird name but Phinneas or Finn ain’t so bad…and no I will not be naming any of my future sheedren that in case you were wondering. The names just ain’t that cute…hehe.

    LOL @ the huge hens comment. For real, they would have been toast in Nig with immediate effect.

    That Liz Claiborne bag is so cute. Bargain is underestimating it oh. Girl, you pretty much got that ish for FREE!!

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      Egusi is fatty oh! One bowl of soup is about 600 calories.

      The show is actually interesting if you can get past the names…

      I toyed with the idea for a split second but as the only African in the neighborhood, suspicion might naturally fall on me.

      Still rocking my nice find….yes to free all the time!

  9. justjoxy March 15, 2010 at 4:38 am #

    The egusi looks scrumptious. The bag? Very pretty. The hens? If they stroll past my driveway I will forget my tushness and pursue them till they end up in my pot or I get carted away by the RSPCA, whichever comes first. Have a great week.

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      Joxy…u are crazy…lol.

  10. Caramel Delight March 15, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    Those chickens are REALLY random!

    • lucidlilith March 15, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      “random” is the perfect word for it.

  11. GoodNaijaGirl March 22, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    You just broke my heart by telling me egusi is fatty. Actually, what do I care? I can’t prepare it so since moving out of my parents’ place I’ve had it maybe five times in the last year? ::sob::

    lol at Joxy’s comment!

Leave a Reply

