Money does buy happiness…

19 Mar

… at least temporarily.

So, as you can see, I have recovered from my mini meltdown (thanks to you guys in blogville).  I must say, it took me a while to get over it.  Poor Turtle had to listen to me b*tch and moan for hours. Only a bottle of D’autre fois calmed me down. 

Until Monday.

I sat quietly by myself in my little corner of the office and things would have been fine if some individuals did not take it upon themselves to come and ask me what is wrong and if I could ‘talk it out.’  If there was ever a time Iwanted to hit someone, Monday was the day.  And so was Tuesday.

Then came Wednesday. 

Out of boredom, I checked my account online to see how broke I was and BOOOOOOM!  Uncle Sam came through for me in a big way.  I was expecting just a little over $200 in federal refunds but what I saw in my account made me jump and squuuueeeeeeee!!!

Then I did a double take.  Like, wait a minute.  Uncle Sam never gives you money it does not take back one way or another.  At first, I was afraid to spend a dime…you know how they say Uncle Sam is like the relative that sexually abused you as a child then pays for your college tuition.  So I asked a few individuals and found that sometimes the IRS makes adjustments to your tax returns.  

As soon as the shock wore off, I forgave the people who left me out to sleep in the cold,  cut Turtle a check for some holiday expenses he paid for, gave old faithful (my 1995 Lexus) a tire rotation and balance, bought myself a dutch oven and a sauteing pan (whoot!  whoot!!), four bootles of french, chilean and italian wines that I had been meaning to try and today am off to the vendor at the corner of 27 and summerville to buy 800 count Egyptian cotton sheets.  Maybe if I have enough, I can put a down payment on this baby:

Oh yeah.  A Remington 870.  Perfect for Turkey Hunting.  I can’t keep postponing my hunt because of lack of funds.  I need an outlet and a serious hobby.  Since leaving North Dakota, I have become too aje-butter (soft).  Getting manicures and pedicures and such.  Turtle has offered to get it for me for my birthday but this is something I need to do for myself.

Money does buy happiness.  At least for this week.

TGIF bay-bays!!!

20 Responses to “Money does buy happiness…”

  1. Neefemi March 19, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    awwww glad you are better and yes you are right…it temporarily helps make you happy, glad you are one who can just enjoy life, somebody else would have saved that money…which isn’t a bad thing either, but u get my point i hope…going to a shooting range this weekend, first time…cant wait…you should totally buy it yourself, i agree

    • lucidlilith March 19, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

      …yeah…after your comment, i kinda felt like I should have saved it …but…everything I bought was something I actually needed. I havent purchased the 870 YET but i can make a case for it: Therapy. Yup 🙂

  2. Funmi March 19, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    LOL! WOW… The irony of ending a happy post with a picture of a gun is seriously cracking me up right now. If this is what you do when you are in a good mood, those colleagues of yours need to watch out! You don’t steal ideas from someone who hunts when they are happy… Lord knows what they could do to you when they get mad…

    Good to see you’ve cheered up, though… Now if only you could spread some of Uncle Sam’s love to good old Queen Lizzie’s people as well, then I could be a happy bunny too… 😉

    • lucidlilith March 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

      Oh come on funmi! Everybody knows that is you guys with your FREE health care that enjoy life better than us yanks. LOL.

  3. justjoxy March 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    You’re calling your co-workers turkeys? I know say na dem you wan hunt, you just dey use code. Seriously, I’m glad you’re doing better now 🙂

    • lucidlilith March 19, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      Lmao! abeg no carry style send FBI come inside my house oh. You know say we don become part of the ‘naughty list’

  4. taynement March 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Oh Lucid I love how you love life. Yay to the money and your list was so interesting. Mine would have been boring and probably saved. I dunno about that gun tho, wishing you many lovely edibles with your new cookware and hope they go well with the wine. have a lovely weekend.

    • lucidlilith March 19, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

      lol about the gun..relax bestie! I fell in love with hunting when i lived in North Dakota for almost three years. It can be fun. Also, you learn a lot about life from being in the wild. I am not big with deer but pheasant-hunting suits me fine. This time, I am obsessed with Turkeys!!!

      I cant wait to blow one away and then say, “gooble gooble mother f****r!”

      te he he he…

  5. Mamuje March 19, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    A remington? Girl…now you scare me.

    • lucidlilith March 19, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

      LOL…check out my response to taynement….i have a lil bit of redneck in me…just a tish…

  6. Nice Anon March 19, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    You lived in ND? Now I thought I was worse. Gun shooting?

    • lucidlilith March 19, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

      Nice Anon, oya tell me where you lived. I don’t think that anybody has gone as far as I have. Perhaps Alaska? If Alaska, then you win!

  7. Lady X March 19, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    LMFAO! You want to hunt turkeys? Don’t let those Animal Rights people get you! Is Turtle the boyfriend?

    • lucidlilith March 19, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

      Abegi! animal rights people can go take a seat. God gave us dominion abi? Christianity has got to be good for something…

      yes..i am obsessed…just because I heard it is tough to hunt turkeys because they are NOT color blind and can spot you a mile away…hence all the camoflauge…

  8. Helene March 19, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    Whoa, girlfriend…that is one serious hunting gun!! Congrats on the extra unexpected money…that’s always a nice surprise. And good for you on getting some things you needed and some things you wanted!

    • lucidlilith March 21, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      …yeah…it got me dreaming about all that I would do if I had a million dollars…like the Bare Naked Ladies song…lol

  9. LovePaprika March 21, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    oh no!!! pls do not buy the remington I am scared of what u will do with it! lol

    • lucidlilith March 21, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

      LOL! I guess posting that image AFTER serious venting was not a good idea. Jeez am I gonna get arrested for this? You know big brother may be watching…

  10. GoodNaijaGirl March 22, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    I hope you’ve got a few extra dollars to buy me a little something to brighten my day. If you insist on shelling out more so you can get me a used automobile, I won’t complain!

    Glad you’re in good spirits…hope the week started off well.

  11. Femme Lounge March 24, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    money sure works wonders! thanks to uncle sam for coming through. stay up and have a great week

Leave a Reply

