I go to Food Lion, so what?

30 Mar

There are dog people (like me) and there are cat people.  There are liberals and there are conservatives.  There are Wal-Mart people and there are Target people.  At least before the current economic times.  We all live in a Wal-Mart economy now.  Everyone is pinching pennies and cutting costs.  The snubs that would not be caught dead at Wal-Mart are now die hard patrons, parking their SUVs and Sedans alongside the regular shopper’s station wagon and rickety old pickup trucks.  Sign of the times.

I have always been a Wal-Mart person.  It just makes sense to go to one store where you can get everything you need.  Almost everything you need.  I ignore all those nay-sayers who see Wal-Mart as one big evil empire.  They’re cheap, period.

Other grocery chains are also going the Wal-Mart way – pushing value.  And if that fails, kill the shoppers with customer service.  Lemme explain:

I live really close to a Food Lion which is very convenient for me because from time to time, I leave something on the stove while I make a mad dash for an ingredient.    Food Lion is old school…a notch above Piggly Wiggly, which makes them country.  Country cool, like the Dixie Chicks.  Although their selection is limited, it’s affordable.  Wal-Mart affordable.  And once in a while you can find some real treats like the steakhouse rolls I found last week…you know…those tasty wheat rolls they serve with dinner in Outback Steakhouse or Chili’s. 

When I first moved to the south, the overall hospitality of the people never ceased to annoy amaze me.  The Food Lion staff especially irked me.  Coming through the doors, you can be sure you will be greeted with, “welcome to your neighborhood Food Lion!”  And when you get to the cashier, you can be sure there is a, “did you find everything okay?” waiting for you.  While making your way down the aisles you are likely to bump into a manager/assistant manager/stockperson who will undoubtedly ask if you need anything. Sometimes the mean Midwesterner in me is tempted to make up something like telling the staff that I saw a huge cockroach in the vegetable stand…just to see to what extent they would actually do something about it. 

I know…I’m spoilt.  In fact, I expect it the attention now.  So yeah, when I get made fun off by those Publix-loving, Kroger-going, Target-liking co-workers of mine, I just smile and think of all those nice cashiers who call me, “honey,” or “sweetie,” or “sugar.” 

Food Lion makes driving seven miles Wal-Mart so inconvenient. Guilt-ridden. And rude.

(Why oh why am i blogging about grocery stores???  I need my blog-mojo back!)

16 Responses to “I go to Food Lion, so what?”

  1. Mamuje March 30, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Yeah, thats cool…I believe you have to do what you think its right jare. If you like Food Lion then by all means make it your regular.

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:09 am #

      He he he…thanks…some people turn up their noses at Food Lion…especially Kroger goers…weird.

  2. Myne Whitman March 30, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    I don’t think we have those around these parts. When we moved, we almost went to the Safeway which was closer but before long we reverted to our Kroger/Fred Meyer. Bite me but I know I love me some value. LOL..

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:09 am #

      I have never heard of Safeway…but then again…I have never been to Seattle.

  3. 2cute4u March 30, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    This is really cool.First time here.Hope to be back soon

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks! Come back soon!

  4. sosexy March 30, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    New as a blogger and also here.Some stores I frequent and can’t stop for anything.There’s one like that near where I reside.I like your blog.I’d be back.

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:10 am #

      Welcome to blogging!

  5. taynement March 30, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    LMAO..because you are a cook and it only makes sense that you have a connection to grocery stores. I don’t think there’s a food lion in my hood.

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:11 am #

      Food Lion is a southeast chain…I think. Yes, I pay attention to grocery stores a lot…especially fresh ingredients. I cant stand stores that dont have fresh vegetables.

  6. Seriously March 31, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    I am a publix lover because that store is always so clean (I love buying my veggies and meat from clean places) but I will go to food lion if we had one. Heck show me something cheaper than food lion and I am there.

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:12 am #

      I like publix and yes, they are so clean and tidy…but they tend to be a little on the high end…not too much though but just enough…especially their organic foods.

  7. BBB April 1, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    since am in naija
    i dont relate
    sowi!!!!

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:13 am #

      Haaa! I hear you. I sometimes miss haggling in the market. I miss Tejuosho market, a lot.

  8. L.P. April 1, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    I have said this, and I will say it again… Wal-Mart is not necessarily cheaper than Target… My sis and I did a comparison because she didn’t believe and on about 50% of the items, they had similar prices, 40% were slightly lower at Wal-Mart and 30% were lower at Target… All and all, it all came out in the wash… So I’ll gladly trade the slightly higher 40% items for neat rows and short lines at the receptionist. 🙂

    But one thing that Wal-Mart has that nobody can beat EVER is sheer diversity of products! If you can’t find it at Wal-Mart, it hasn’t been created yet. Lol!

    • lucidlilith April 2, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      Wow…this is news to me. I will have to do my own assesment. As for diversity of products, you are so right. I dont bother to go anywhere else until I check at WalMart.

Leave a Reply

