A Measure of Peace

1 Apr

A measure of peace… (a term coined by Emeka who for a really smart dude, does not blog…yes…I am calling you out, bro)

So, a lot of you guys in blogville may have noticed my last few posts have really been about bitching and moaning about one thing or the other. That will now STOP (except for instances where bitching and moaning is considered appropriate). From now on, I promise to TRY to count my blessings and focus on things that will give me spiritual energy, inner peace, happiness, health and sense of self-worth. (Eat your heart out Deepak Chopra).

I have learned a lot from bloggers…more than I could have done on my own.  You guys really do feel like family to me.  There are those I call twin, big sis, baby sis and best friend…they know themselves. 

I will work hard to have the determination of Myne Whitman to wipe off the dust on my two novels and finish them. At least. Whether or not they get published will not matter much to me (until I get my first rejection letter and curl up in a fetal position for weeks).

I will try hard to have the optimism and thankfulness of Good Naija Girl. Seriously, I don’t think I have ever read a depressing post on her blog. I will try to be more thankful for what I have and not focus on what I don’t have (I reserve the right to dream of a cream-colored Escalade once in a while).

I will try to take one day at a time and have the humor of Helene (with less cynicism that I am known to ooze). And the empathy of NaijaMomAbroad…she makes me think of my mom all the time although we are probably the same age…lol.

Thanks to a lot of advice I got from you guys, I am getting along with my co-workers and classmates and no longer dreaming of beating anyone to a bloody pulp.  Thanks to Adanne, I am reading, “Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office,” and beginning to live by those words. Thanks to Taynement, I learn to chuckle at the little things people do and embrace all things random. Thanks to Azazel, I learn to THINK of things from another (albeit weird) perceptive.  Thanks to Workforced and Failbooking, my co-workers now believe I am the one most like to “cackle” randomly from my desk.  Thanks to Diane (who strangely enough is not on my blogroll), I am now a believer of taking fashion risks.  Thanks to Vera, I started this blog and met ya’ll.

If I did not mention everyone, it’s because I know you have better things to do than sit and read of all the people I am thankful for.  Plus, this aint an awards show…moving on…

A few random things:

Turtle and I drove to Tennesse last weekend to enjoy a scenic boat ride.  I took this picture of Lookout Mountain.  It has an interesting history…Settlers fought some Cherokee Indians on the North Slope and during the Civil war, some general fought another general on the Mountain or something like that.   Hey, I’m no historian. Get the full gist here.

A shout out to the Spartans!  Turtle coaches boys and girls track and field, and his female track team has won four meets in a row.  They are still undefeated as I type.  His boys aren’t doing as well as he hoped.  Girls rule and boys drool.  Ha ha! (Sorry about the blurry image…I took it with my cell).

I finally got around to making Jollof rice and chicken.  I have been experimenting with different recipes that I seem to be forgetting my naija dishes.  This weekend, I will be making Afang soup.  Yay!

Have a peaceful Good Friday and a Happy Easter. Remain thankful and blessed ya’ll.

P.S.  Okay I have to do one mean thing this coming week…this one thing and that’s it.  My blogroll with shrink because I have a fulltime job and a part time MBA program to attend to.  So, any blogger who does not post at least once a month may see their blogs disappear.  Sorry…this is really ruining my ‘nice girl’ image.  (I can hear JustJoxy, Mamuje and Lady X snickering and raising their perfectly arched eyebrows …yes I am trying to be a good girl..I just don’t know how long this phase will last).

16 Responses to “A Measure of Peace”

  1. blogoratti April 1, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Interesting but true that-bloggers inspire bloggers.
    Interesting too that you feel the need to focus on happiness and inner peace….amongst other things. That’s the way to go!
    Lest i forget..all the best with that MBA program. Cheers!

  2. Myne Whitman April 1, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out dear. Please finish those novels, maybe by then I’ll be a big time publisher, hehhee. Even if not, it would be great to read more naija stories. Hope you’re on that webite?

    That Lookout mountain looks great. I was in Tenessee last year and we went on the General Jackson boat ride but I don’t think it was the same views.

  3. Reverence April 1, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    ooooh road trips, how fun…

    i guess i am getting deleted 😦

  4. taynement April 2, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    Bestie! I know I don’t have to but I will anyways. Thanks to you I am reminded that there are open minded naija sisters who are willing to try (almost)anything and thanks to you I am reminded that I am not half the cook I want to be *insert angry face*

    Being thankful is always a good idea, as a human being you will always have whine and bitch moments but as long as we keep it in check. Have a lovely weekend!

    Ps – good girl you say? buahaha..

  5. GoodNaijaGirl April 2, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    I really admire you blogging consistency!

    It’s interesting: I find you always look for the funny aspect of things, even if you’re venting about them, so give yourself some credit. I do think I am a more grateful person in general for making myself ponder things that I’m grateful for. It’s not always easy but there is always something to be thankful for.

    And I’m no angel: I rant sometimes and I have another blog that’s been the repository for my angst for almost four years now.

    Have you shared the story of how you and Turtle met before?

  6. GoodNaijaGirl April 2, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Also: thanks for the shoutout and I am in full agreement of eliminating infrequent blogs from the blogroll. I’m mean that way.

  7. Lady X April 2, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    Haha I like reading your blog 🙂 I agree with GNG! Tell us how you two met!

  8. Helene April 2, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    We all rant on our blogs from time to time! Thanks for the shout-out!!

    That chicken dish looks YUMMY!!!!!

  9. justjoxy April 3, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Thanks for the shout-out! Perfectly arched eyebrows? Moi? lol. Yes please, how did you meet?

  10. Vera Ezimora April 3, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    Ah, thanks to Vera oooo!!! Where would Rosie — abi na Lucid dem dey call am now — be if it weren’t for one beaurriful Vera? Amaro kwa’m. Way to be modest. LOL.

    Nne, this your good girl image, I won’t lie … I don’t buy it. In short, it’s doing me as if you’re trying to do me April Fool sef. But I refuse to be fooled! LOL.

    Anyway, ka Chineke mezi okwu.

  11. Mamuje April 4, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I agree oh (I say Nay to people who blog sparingly jare)… Babe you have to be optimistic, but you are allowed to rant and rave once in a while…besides I use blogging as an outlet for my vexation sef.

    P.S my eyebrow isnt arched anymore oh…apparently I have been growing a shrub there lately 🙂 As often or as little as you want to blog, jut know we are here for you. Enjoy the holidays.

  12. Azazel April 4, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Thanks lily ..
    This was awesome.

  13. lucidlilith April 6, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    Justjoxy, Lady X and GNG, I will have to do a post on how we met. It is rather boring. No looking across the room and making eye contact or any such thing.

  14. Ibhade April 8, 2010 at 3:24 am #

    Well,hope am not late in commenting sha?
    Firstly, well-done on your MBA.
    Secondly, blogging is an outlet for feelings of all kind.
    Thirdly, na only you wan chop that 2 drumstick? KAI! the jollof rice looks too small sha!
    Fourthly, so you can cook AFANG soup? PLEASE how is it prepared before OGA send me packing ! heheeeeee
    HAPPY EASTER IN ARREARS! *wink*

  15. toyin April 8, 2010 at 3:46 am #

    hi dear!!!!
    I’m fine, very fine…thanks for stopping by!!!! I intend to do a thankful post at least once a month 🙂 Once a month better than once in 3 or 4, shey?

  16. Adanne April 10, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Glad you found Nice Girls Don’t Get The Corner Office useful
    I took away seven points from the chapter on branding and marketing myself that I’m trying to incorporate and it’s already starting to make a little difference.

    I found that I make the best tasting jollof rice when I cook for large parties. I need to have one soon.

Leave a Reply

