Major, major…

11 Apr

…major project that will take all summer has been handed to us at work and I will have less time to blog.  So I will cut down my posts to once a week.  Yeah, I know, I am kinda bummed out too.   Moving on…

I was wine-shopping last week when I saw this bottle of wine.  I had to get it because of JustJoxy’s post on Kitchen sink drama…lol.  Who would have thought that we could have wine called “Kitchen sink”  to go with that?

 Anyhue…this weekend, Turtle and I went apartment hunting.  I think this is the second of the trifecta.  We have gone on a road trip and we did not kill each other.  We have gone apartment hunting (and we still are hunting) and we have not killed one another.  The big disagreement is the Atlanta metro traffic and who gets to do the long commute…whatever.

Speaking of Turtle, he inspired this wacky dish I put together (translation: he whined about being hungry by asking me over and over”what’s for dinner?”).  I had always wanted to figure out how to shallow-pan-fry tilapia without having the fillets break apart when i turn ’em.  So I steamed the fish, took some left-over bacon strips, wrapped them around the steamed fish and fried them.  I served it with broccoli and stir-fried green, red and yellow bellpeppers and carrots.  It tasted great! 

He was also the beneficiary of this whole Cavatini bake that I made…my best so far.  I sort of regret giving him the whole thing to take home.  Oh well…

I finally, finally got around to making Afang soup.  It tasted so good, I just forgot about eating it with gari or semolina, had a bowl or two…solo.

I need to run a good eight miles this week along with spinning, TRX and Kettle Bells, to burn all this off. 

Until next Friday my lovelies.  Peace out.

34 Responses to “Major, major…”

  1. Mamuje April 11, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    What an odd name for a bottle of wine. Goodluck with your course….and your dish looks heavenly. The tilapia of course.,:)

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:15 am #

      I know, right? It was a white table wine that is a blend of two grape varieties. The tilapia was delicious. The salt from the bacon seasoned it very well.

  2. Amina Hassan April 11, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    Your delicious looking dishes just reminded me…painfulli I might add that I’ve just had half a portion of fried rice in the office (worst ever made) chei!!! and it’s already after 10pm…oh wells I guess it’s till 2morrow then.

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:16 am #

      Ha ha…it is a good idea to stock up on food. I just hate the idea of dining out and wasting money when I could just make my own.

  3. Funmi April 11, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    Damn… With women like you, we fit find husband??? My repertoire no pass jollof rice, fried rice, okra, pasta bake, fried chicken… All dem konk soups, I no fit sha!In another life I go sabi cook like this sha… ***humming “Soon and very Soon”***

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:24 am #

      lwkmd
      you are so funny.
      being able to cook does not mean person fit find husband for this country o. You have to look like Beyonce too. We don suffer.

      • Funmi April 13, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

        With this food you have laid down, man wey talk say make you Beyoncify yourself ehn… thunder suppose fire am… LOL.

        Btw, need egusi tips men… I have a whole bunch of garri and nothing to eat it with. HELP!

        • lucidlilith April 14, 2010 at 9:18 am #

          I sent you the recipe via e-mail. Soon, your garri will have company. 😀

  4. GoodNaijaGirl April 11, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Sorry to hear you’ll be blogging less often but I do understand how life is.

    Gosh, I need to up my cooking skills…you make me think that every time I read your blog.

    Looking forward to hearing more about the apartment hunting!

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:17 am #

      LOL. Would you believe that I never learned to cook until I became an adult?

      • Ms. Sula April 12, 2010 at 11:25 am #

        Same here. My father is visiting and he said if someone had told him that he would praising my cooking one day, he would have laughed in the person’s face… I just wasn’t bothered to learn… I think it was the “expectation” that made me shy away from it… 🙂

        • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

          Me too! I think I was insulted that people thought cooking was solely a woman’s job.

  5. taynement April 11, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    I miss you already:(

    Teach/Send me some small small recipe na, make I start from bottom. Turtle is a lucky man.

    Apartment hunting as in moving in together?

    Have a lovely week.

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      No problem! Let me know what recipes you want I will send ’em over via e-mail.

      Yes, we are moving in together. We live 1hr and 40 minutes apart and get to see each other on weekends and its kinda tough on a relationship.

      • taynement April 12, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

        I had a question for you in my last randoms. What seasoning(s) do you use to bake chicken?

        • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

          Check your e-mail for my methods. 🙂

  6. Neefemi April 11, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Good luck with the job hunting and work yea… have a great week

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      thanks!

  7. Myne Whitman April 11, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    A wine called Kitchen Sink, lol, that’s a strange one. I hope they’re nit trying to say something about the quality, lol.

    The fish and bacon sound like something I will try. I don’t like frying though and usually just grill or bake my fillets. I have to find out about the cavatini, never heard of that.

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:21 am #

      I think it costs between $7.99 to $10.99 or something like that. It was so-so for me. I am more of a Kabinett or Reisling person. Gerwutramineer is not too bad as well.

      the fish you will like. i have not tried baking it this way but it seems like a healthier option.

      The cavatini is one of my favorite dishes. It is Rotini pasta, with pasta sauce topped with whole mozzarella cheese and baked. Oh divine!

  8. BBB April 12, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    am hungry already
    all this oyinbo food,
    i will love to sabi cook dem oh
    cavatini kini??
    lol

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:22 am #

      lol…look at my respnse to Myne…I think you will like it if you try it.

  9. Lady X April 12, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    Afang Soup? That’s a Nigerian soup right? I thought Turtle wasn’t Nigerian? So he eats Nigerian food? That Cavatini bake looks good. Looks like my sister’s shepherd’s pie. I think I’ll go eat now.

    • lucidlilith April 12, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      Turtle (is Oyinbo) will eat anything Nigerian. Except Egusi. For some reason he can’t stomach egusi soup. He loooooooves goat meat pepper soup. Loves it.

  10. sosexy April 12, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Nice post.. I really like.first time here..

    • lucidlilith April 14, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      thanks for coming by!

  11. Helene April 13, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    The tilapia dish looks SOOOO good! I’ve never pan fried it because I’m afraid it’ll fall apart. Usually I bake it in the oven. I like the idea of wrapping it in bacon and then frying it! I bet my kids would like that!

    • lucidlilith April 14, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      If your kids like it, then that will be the best affirmation that I will ever get…lol.

  12. Nice Anon April 13, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    Oh chi unu! I had no idea turtle wu onye ocha? Gbam!

    Okay now that I am over that bit.. I have never really been that much of a wine drinker. Ever met a wine enthusiast who was all wrapped up in talking about wines that you can’t help but sit there and nod like you know what he’s on about? lol

    • lucidlilith April 14, 2010 at 9:41 am #

      Chineke, where have you been? Turtle wu onye ocha, now. Okwa ihe mu gwara unu last year.

      Anyway…I have this wine primer that I got from Total Wine and Spirits here in Georgia. It has descriptions about every type of wine, regions, varieties, food pairings …etc. Very useful. In fact, I think I will give up drinking hard liquor and just drink wine and the occasional beer.

  13. Adanne April 15, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    The Cavatini looked like cake or pie…some sort of baked goods sha. I was about to ask for the recipe when I saw it’s pasta-based. Can I still get the recipe though?

    You and turtle not killing each other is a sign! You’re moving in together? *big-gasp!* what will the naija community think? lwkmd

    • lucidlilith April 15, 2010 at 9:01 am #

      For the recipe send me an e-mail : lucidlilith at gmail dot com.

      As for Turtle and I moving in together…well we live 1 hour and 45 minutes apart, so we only get to see each other on weekends. We have been dating for a year and a half and it can be stressful with this type of long distance relationship so we have decided to move either closer to each other or move in together. Moving in together is more economical IMO. Atlanta is not cheap.

  14. ibi April 15, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    now you’ve made me hungry……………..

  15. justjoxy April 17, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    Thanks for the shout out me dear, now to hunt for the wine makers and sue them for copyright infringement. Or should that be the other way round? Good luck with apartment hunting, hope you and Turtle find something that works for both of you, and real soon too.
    Now you know I’ll be asking you for that afang recipe abi? lol.

Leave a Reply

