Kettlebells and Warrior Dash

16 Apr

So, I recently started this workout called Kettlebells.  It’s basically a body building exercise that uses  weights shaped like kettles and the body’s momentum.  It is kind of like TRX on steroids.

It is great for upper body strength.  Only last month I could not do two pushups to save my life, now I find myself doing three sets of ten pushups between routines. You work your abdominals, biceps, triceps, shoulders, chestm forearms, hamstrings, lats, quadriceps …all in one workout.  I started with two 15-pound kettlebells, which is the lowest.  You can go up to 80 pounds…but that is never gonna happen with me.

There are so many routines…so many that you constantly shock your body with movement…there are swings, getups, cleans, snatches, presses, squats, burpies, windmill etc..

There is this routine called the man-maker.  Oh yeah, when I heard it, I was like uh-oh!  This does not sound good.  If I remember correctly…

You start  in the push-up position with hands on the bells and do one push up 

Then do one pullup with one bell, first one arm, then another while still in the pushup position

Stand up, hold the bells close to your body and one squat

Then stand and press one bell over your head, one arm, then the other

Go back to pushup position and start all over.

Repeat ten times. 

To be honest, the man-maker is probably easier than goodness knows what the heck the trainer had us doing yesterday.  I felt like my muscles had been stretched over ten miles of hot tar.  But I think I will keep at it because I am officially registered for Warrior Dash, May 22 in Mountain City, Georgia.  Oh yeah.  The craziest race on earth with 3.22 miles of uneven terrain, wooden wall barricade, rope wall, tires, junkyard, forest, fire, water, swamp and mud.  The best part?  Free beer at the end of the race.  I am stoked.  I can’t wait to get tired and dirty. 

I think I am addicted to endorphins.

26 Responses to “Kettlebells and Warrior Dash”

  1. naija mom abroad April 16, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    meen! I like your drive o! It’s good to get in as much shape as you can, cos you’ll need it when the munchkins start coming. The better shape you are in before pregnancy, the easier it’ll be to lose afterwards. I suppose.

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:22 am #

      Naijamom you are scaring me oh! Please dont use the P word…I don’t think I am ready..lol.

  2. Neefemi April 16, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    Should definitely try it out….and yea i feel you about the addiction to endorphins…was so high yday from working out, lol …and goodluck with the race…can never do that

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:22 am #

      i love getting high off endorphins…they make me feel mentally alert.

  3. Myne Whitman April 16, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    I like the high from endorphins but that work out looks a killer. Good luck in your preps.

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      It is a killer. My shoulder was sore for days.

  4. taynement April 16, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    *jealous*

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      awwwww.

  5. Lady X April 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    Go Girl! I think I’m going to show these to my sister. She’s the one that LOVES working out.

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      maybe your sis and I could hang out …and have a “gym date”

  6. Andrea April 16, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Good for you. I dislike working out it feels more like a chore to me.

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:25 am #

      You have to really do something you like …maybe walking or the elliptical to get yourself started…then graduate to other things. I started out small then I found out that my mental state had improved tremendously, so i kept at it. Now if i dont work out, i feel sluggish and depressed.

  7. Funmi April 17, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    You are a beast with the working out sha! Some of us never jog, you dey carry kettle abi wetin you call am? I’m with Taynement on this one… 😛

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      LOL…you are funny. My dear, I do it for health reasons oh. Without it, I would be on antidepressants and serious sleeping pills.

  8. Nice Anon April 18, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    Sounds good! Do you do cardio with it or just the bells?

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      Yes…in between routines (like swinging the bells up and down) you do pushups or situps.

  9. Caramel Delight April 19, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    Good luck with the race. You make my workout look like child’s play!

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      I am sooooooo excited about the race. I can’t wait.

  10. Mamuje April 19, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Goodluck,….dont think this would ever be me. 🙂

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      Hey, you should try it…you might be surprised!

  11. justjoxy April 20, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Kettle gini? Man maker? Na you biko. Keep at it girl, I felt like I’d done a session in the gym just by reading through your post. All the best for Warrior Dash, I’ll be rooting for you 🙂

    • lucidlilith April 21, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Thanks luv!

  12. Joicee April 21, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Darn, now that is some serious workout.
    Im more of a pilates girl…slow and steady!

  13. Ibhade April 22, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    NO WAY AM I TOUCHING THAT! TALKLESS OF DOING IT! lol

    GO G-A-L! you are one strong babe o!

    Why afraid of the P-WORD ehn? ok let me sing 4 u then
    READY OR NOT, HERE I COME,I WILL FIND YOOOUUUU. & TAKE YOU THERE…. pls sing along now…….

  14. Olamild April 23, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Love this!
    I am taking a kickboxing class this summer lol

  15. Good Naija Girl April 25, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Wow; go you! I feel a little embarrassed confession Jillian Michaels’s 30 Day Shred is currently kicking my butt..at level 1!

Leave a Reply

