I guess it’s my turn…

23 Apr

…to write about 10 things I love, since I have been tagged by Taynement.  So here goes…(this could be boring for those of you who know me so well…)

I see Red: As in the red in Redbox and the red in Netflix envelopes.  When you love movies as much as I do then these services would be household staples in your home.  If you want new (or almost new) releases, you go to Redbox. If driving to a kiosk is not your thing, stream directly to your TV or computer with Netflix or just wait for your selection to come in the mail.  I have been able to catch up with my favorite TV shows because of Netflix.  I feel a little strange that my favorite color is blue (…sorry Blockbuster, I tried to love you but you made it hard). To date, I think I must have watched about 7,000 movies in the last 11 years.

K-Dramas: This is one of the few things I love to splurge on.  My love affair started about three years ago when I picked up a copy of Palace: Princess Diaries.  I saw one episode and I was hooked.  Ever since, I have spent endless hours on eBay bidding on Korean Drama DVDs.  A good region 3 DVD set will set you back $100 at least.  As an experienced Korean Drama addict, I have found that historical dramas like Dae Jang Geum and Jumong are among the best ones.  Jumong took me two years to complete.  That is 81 episodes…81 hours following a story.  *sigh* this is love.

Redbull:  While some people like coffee, I get my kicks from Redbull.  Some cold days I may deviate and have a cappuccino but all in all, my day does not start until I have my Redbull.

Shopping at Ross:  Besides being a thrifty way to spend on designer clothes, it saves me so much time!  When I have an event to attend, rather than running around in the mall trying to find an overpriced dress, I just head to Ross and dedicate an hour to riffling through the racks.  I have gotten so good at this that I can find what I need in a half hour.

Wine:  I don’t know how this whole wine loving thing started but now, I am constantly searching for that perfect bottle of Pinot Noir, Carmenere, Kabinett, Gewürztraminer, Riesling, or Beaujolais.  It is amazing how a single sip can change your whole evening.

Cooking:  Ya’ll already know about this.  Dining out irritates me … especially when the food is so-so.  I will only dine out if a) I am on the road…even then I try to pack something for myself b) I am socializing with friends c) It is a tried and true eatery I patronize to get a break from my own cooking.

Working Out:  Not working out makes me feel sluggish and weird… I guess I need endorphins to function.  Without exercise, I can get depressed and mentally flat.

Books: I love books.  When I was younger, I read EVERYTHING, which, in hindsight was not particularly a good idea. But as an adult, I am more selective.  I tend to prefer foreign books or books that are about stories set in other countries.  If I can’t travel, I might as well dream, right?

Vanilla Ice cream: When I am upset and crying, it’s the only thing that can make things right.  At least temporarily. 

Writing: Need I say more?

So I guess I have to tag someone…okay then…I tag  NeefemiCaramel Delight and Nitty Gritty.

17 Responses to “I guess it’s my turn…”

  1. Neefemi April 23, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    K Dramas….interesting…never seen a one…will try looking out for those

  2. Ibhade April 23, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS!
    WOW! THANKS FOR NOMINATING ME!
    AM BLUSHING![sorry! u no go c am for my charcoal face sha! lol]
    well, i just updated my blog few secs ago , so it would have to be next post ehn?
    BUT AM A NOVICE IN THIS; PLS EDUCATE ME? tnx XOXO
    CONGRAT TO Neefemi & Caramel Delight.

  3. blogoratti April 23, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Hey nice!

  4. taynement April 23, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    oooh I like your list cuz of the pictures.

    Sooooo when are you gonna set time out to discuss movies with me. Although I have had my current net flix movie for about a month.

    Your list made me look forward to graduation all over again, Kdramas are on my list to check out. I will never ever again take my free time for granted again.

    Booo to workout and cooking (the boo stems from envy, thats awesomeness)

  5. Funmi April 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Now I want vanilla ice cream… Did you really have to do that??? 😛

  6. Mamuje April 23, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I am addicted to Indian Series…I just got back from the cinema where I went to watch a bollywood movie alone. I might just get into this K-Drama too.

    As much as I love cooking, I love eating out. 🙂

  7. justjoxy April 24, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    K-Dramas? Never heard of them, musl have a look see. Ice cream? My kinda gurl. Cooking? Yay. Love your list.

  8. mpb April 24, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    WOW!!! Dude, I haaaaaaaate places like ROSS, were clothes are so jam packed and disorganized. It drives me crazy to sift through the mess lol.

  9. Myne Whitman April 25, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    Historical K-dramas? I don’t think I have seen one but if they’re shot anything like some epic Chinese movies, then they may be worth trying.

  10. Lady X April 25, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    I love Ice Cream. My favourite would have to be Baskin Robbin’s Pralines and Cream! Heaven! I took way too much Red Bull in High School and now it does nothing to me. Sad I know.

  11. A Witty Fool April 25, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    LOL. Nice blog. I LOVE books, reading and writing. I kinda like wine, but only in certain moods. I dont watch TV or movies so much, dont drink RedBull either, but I love the colour red. and I HATE exercising… with a passion, but I am getting into doin it now, cuz it needs doing. I like my ice cream chocolate and I never heard of K-dramas until now. I’ll research them.
    🙂

  12. BBB April 26, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    awwww
    ice cream

  13. Caramel Delight April 27, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Ohhhhh I was just reading along and enjoying your list and then there is my name. Lovely, I haven’t done a good meme in ages.

    PS I loove reading. I over did the Red Bull when I was writing my dissertation so now it doesn’t work so well for me anymore. Please one day DHL some of your food down my way.

  14. Adanne April 27, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Funny, I just wrote a blog post about books. I really should try this working out thing…I always feel sluggish.
    My friends and fam have gone being on my case about getting me to work out to telling everyone who didn’t know already that I will never work out – I guess I don’t want to prove them wrong lol

  15. naija mom abroad April 27, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    I used to be a movie and book freak, now my tv is constantly tuned to nickjr and I can’t remember the last time I read a book. Can only watch movies after the munchkins have gone to bed though I still go to the movies once in a while when we can *sigh*

  16. lucidlilith April 28, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Phew! guys! I finally had time to take a break from work and finals to make a few comments…

    Neefemi: i guarantee you will be hooked

    Nitty Gritty: I am coming to read your 10 this weekend oh!

    Taynment: you and I will need our own talk show to handle this right.

    Funmi: sorry…it does that to me too.

    Mamuje: I loved Indian movies growing up…but now not as much.

    Joxy: I guaranteed you will be hooked if you start watching them

    mpb: Girl, Ross is the cat’s meow. the clothes are so cheap too..cheaper than TJ Maxx and Marshall’s

    Myne: if you like epic Chinese, you will LOVE historical k-dramas

    Lady x: I know….my tolerance level is rising as we speak…i should slow down

    A witty fool: you should make your own 10 list too!

    Caramel D: lol…DHL may sue me for contaminating their vans with okporoko smell…

    Adanne: you should try starting out small, like going for a one hour walk every day….then build up to short jogs…

    Naija mom: lol….wow, is this what i have to look forward to? nickolodeon? Turtle has to get a second job so I can hire a nanny.

  17. OriginalMgbeke April 29, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    I wish I could love working out. I see it as a chore.
    Oooh, maybe I’ll have you recommend some sweet wines to me…I’m thinking of building a mini bar of some sorts.
    I definitely feel you on the books. Just discovered a local library in my hood and I was so excited to stuff my bag with a ton of books.

Leave a Reply

