Memorial Weekend

2 Jun

Right in the middle of failing Managerial Accounting, I decided a trip to Lake Jackson and a Memorial Day outing with a few gals to lunch and Sex and the City 2 was what I needed.

I was thankful that nobody dressed up way over the top.  Thankfully, no hats, stilettos, oversized gucci bags or overpriced manolos.  We enjoyed a quick bite and saw the movie.

It was good.  Not as good as the first one but all in all, decent.  Everything seemed over-the-top.  The fashion, the banter, the drama where there was none…but the part that got to me was *spoiler alert* the fact that Carrie kissed another guy (her ex Aidan) and got a sparkling rock for it. 

REALLY????????????????????????????

In what world??????????????????????

/melodrama

Give me friggin break.  *another spoiler alert* Big should have gotten his own apartment and two days off from the marriage out of that screw up.

Samantha made me cringe sometimes.  I am surprised she was not executed in Abu Dhabi.

The wedding scene was totally strange…are gay weddings this bizarre?  Liza Minelli singing “Single Ladies?”  Priceless.

Made me forget I was failing Managerial Accounting.

12 Responses to “Memorial Weekend”

  1. taynement June 2, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    ah managerial accounting..memories, didn’t help that I had a jackass of a teacher. I actually think it is easier than financial sha. Hang in there.

    I actually felt the same way about SATC2, I tried to review it on tayne-ment but it ended up sounding like a recap. the whole movie was gaudy, for lack of a better word.

    Re: Carrie and Big – My thought process was if anyone else would understand it’ll be Big, but nyeh that was just one of many many overthe top unrealistic things in the movie.

    • lucidlilith June 8, 2010 at 10:57 am #

      Finance is next in block B of the summer semester. I shake in my boots

  2. Funmi June 3, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    I didn’t really like it. The fashion was gorgeous but over the top and the story was… lacking… to say the least. The first one was definitely better. This one was like an extended commercial, to be honest.

    • lucidlilith June 8, 2010 at 10:57 am #

      I am surprised that they did not wear their clothes with the labels sticking out.

  3. Ms. O June 3, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    I didnt mind SATC2… not the greatest movie out there, but not the worst. I’m sure you are not failing joor! LOL!

    • lucidlilith June 8, 2010 at 10:58 am #

      …yes oh…my only hope is to scrap enough grades to make a B average…at worst a B-

  4. Elle Woods June 4, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    That movie was horrible and so culturally insensitive. i was just cringing from left and right. So all over the place. Its funny how carrie kissed Aidan but in the series, he was the one who always wanted to stay in with a bucket of chicken. Confusicus ni carrie yen.

    • lucidlilith June 8, 2010 at 10:59 am #

      Carrie is one big drama queen. She got her man. She got her gorgeous life and she still somehow managed to find something to complain about.

  5. Ginger June 5, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Oh dear. now you gals are making me a wee bit curious abt SATC 2. Tell me Big divorced Carrie? Who gave Carrrie a rock? aach, I’m not paying no N1,500 to watch this in the Cinema. Pirate bay here i come.

    • lucidlilith June 8, 2010 at 11:00 am #

      lol…i trust naija folks…don’t bother …just wait until you can rent it on dvd

  6. Nice Anon June 8, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    just a lirru question.. so na your dog be dat for ya avarra?

    • lucidlilith June 8, 2010 at 11:00 am #

      Nope. I just like how that cute furry creature looks so pissed.

Leave a Reply

