Deal or No Deal?

14 Jun

On Saturday after watching the England vs. US game, Turtle made me a sandwich.  After the first bite, I had a mini meltdown.  I stood in the middle of my kitchen and started to cry. I think I was complaining about my nerve pain.  I must have been saying something about being tired of taking medication and being in pain all the time.  He was kinda shocked but he listened and hugged me.  Then he asked, “was my sandwich that bad?”

Soooooo –  I went for a some tests today (Monday).

It is common knowledge that being nice to your wait staff is critical to not getting spit or pubic hair in your food.  I have a new one to add:  be nice to medical staff ‘cus you never know which one will be wielding a shock prod or a needle.  I kid you not.

So my doctor decided to refer me to an orthopedic surgeon who referred me to a neurologist for a nerve test.  I imagined this test involved wires and not much.  Ha ha.

To begin with, I got off on the wrong foot with the nurse or technologist that ushered me into the examining room, telling her she mispronounced my first name.  I was kinda nippy about it.  She did not look amused.  She got her chance to show her displeasure by attaching  wires up and down my arm and then sending jolts of electricity through my arm like this:

Each time, I would cry out because it was very uncomfortable and sort of painful.  She looked at me like I was overreacting and said, ” you are moving like I was charging up your heart!”  I was thinking, you try shooting electrical currents through your body and see how you like it.

Next, the neurologist came in and pretended to listen to my complaints before sticking a needle in six parts of my arm to “listen” to my nerves  Before he did this, he swore it would not hurt.  He lied.  I think people in neuroscience have no idea what a pain scale really means. 

As for the talking nerves, I guess my complaints to all three doctors don’t really count since my nerves can better tell them what is wrong with me – the words coming out of my mouth mean nothing.  So what did the nerves tell Neuro Doc?   Nothing.  He said I had no nerve damage, no carpal tunnel damage either and this meant we could rule those out.  I spent almost $90 in co-pays over one month and a crapload of discomfort to be told this.

So it’s back to square one.  IMO, doctors are overpaid guessers.  I have this image of being on the game show, “Deal or No Deal” whenever I make a doctor’s appointment. It is like they open case after case after case hoping to find that million dollar diagnosis.

If only House was a real doctor….if only.

13 Responses to “Deal or No Deal?”

  1. taynement June 14, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    You ain’t never lied about doctors. i went in for a cold once and came out with steroids, antihistamine and hydrocodone and noone could tell me what was up with my nagging cold.

    Re: your nerve pain. Ndo oh. Is there a chance it could be something else other than nerves?

    • lucidlilith June 15, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

      lol..go in for apendix surgery and come out with staph infection….

      IMO- i feel it is neuropathic pain or some form of neuralgia..since it affects the right side of my body.

  2. EDJ June 14, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Lol @ Turtle saying “was my sandwich that bad”, he sounds awesome!

    I hope the doctors eventually figure out what the problem is. I can’t imagine what it is like, but kpele!

    • lucidlilith June 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks dearie…i hope so too.

  3. Mamuje June 15, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    Well sorry about your health and hope you feel better soon.

    • lucidlilith June 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks…i manage…

  4. Ginger June 15, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    sorry babe. get well soon

  5. OriginalMgbeke June 15, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Pele o! This nerve pain sounds like it is not the business at all. Hia!

    On the flip side, Turtle is sooo cute. 🙂

  6. justjoxy June 16, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Pele dear, feel better soon.

  7. Caramel Delight June 16, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    We need House! Or some good, patient doctors. I hope you get a diagnosis soon. Ndo dear.

  8. Myne Whitman June 17, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    If only indeed, lol, I was watching him just a few days ago. Pele dearie, I hope the pain is sorted out soon.

  9. Ms. O June 18, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Doctors are a load of horse doodoo! Aww feel better!

  10. Azazel June 18, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    It’s human nature for doctors/nurses to respond the way they did..
    Remember that they to are human, and u started off on the wrong foot.
    Get better soon hun

Leave a Reply

