Apology and Kisses.

18 Jun

As promised, this post is mainly about Mfonobong’s apology.  I am amused at he way the calls me, “a certain Rosie R.”  He he he…oh well.  Anonymity rocks, jare.

It is kinda long and full of explanations but I decided to post a link all the same.

On another note:  Turtle and I had a disagreement about kissing and the frequency of kissing.  He thinks we don’t do enough of that.  I told him Nigerian culture is not a kissing culture.  We kiss but  not like Westerners who are very pro-PDA.  He thinks it a load of horsecrap.  He wants to  be kissed everyday and frequently too.  Oy!  I don’t mean to sound rigid and/or frigid…but I am not one for too much PDA.  It is not in my genetic make-up.  My parents never did it.  My siblings and their spouses don’t do it.  So I was not surrounded by it, hence, my non-PDA persona.

In my defense, I have loosened up a little since I met Turtle.  I let him hold my hand, hug me, and once in a while grab my ass in public (which I really think is not entirely PDA…more like some weird ownership ritual…as in “this ass is mine”..) 

I just wanted to throw this out there…am I over-reacting to his lovey-dovey mannerisms?  Am I a hard ass?

24 Responses to “Apology and Kisses.”

  1. Neefemi June 18, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    i don’t think you are, i hate PDA, ant stand it…but i do love kissing sha, as long as im home, i love to steal kisses too…doesn’t hurt to kiss him more when you are alone i guess

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      I am the same way…in private..no problem..and not too much as in overkill. A kiss here and there is okay but sitting on the couch and making out for a half hour is so not productive.

  2. Audeo June 18, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    I love PDA. Sue me. *insert blush here* when “Superman” was in town, we kissed everywhere. one time in the middle of the parking lot at the Palms at abt 1pm.

    The ass grabbing weird ownership thing works both ways. That ass is mine. Oh and I have kissed all night before. Just kissed.

    But i dont think ure being a hard ass.

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

      Ah…u guys should take it easy…lol. I have a feeling you are one of those couples people just roll their eyes at..te he he

  3. EDJ June 18, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    I dont know that you are a hardass. You guys are affectionate in private I’m sure and its just a fact that some people are more reserved in private. Its certainly better to be an occasional PDA couple than to overdo the PDA. This past weekend I was on the NYC subway and I saw this couple that just had me rolling my eyes and they made everyone in the train car uncomfortable.

    The girl was sitting and the guy was standing in front of her holding the overheard rails for balance. He would bend down every so often and kiss her on the lips. She kept kissing his stomach and stroking his butt and I thought she was going to start giving him a blow job right there! I was so glad to get away from their annoying behavior.

    I believe its better to err on the side of caution when it comes to PDA.

    The ass grabbing thing I think is an ownership thing. I also think it is as simple as the guy wanting to squeeze your behind because it feels good for him.

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      I kind of blame my father (yeah yeah I know…our parents are responsible for all our problems) I can count how many times the man hugged me on both hands. It was not that he was not a loving father. He was just a typical Nigerian igbo man. Very ‘okonkwo’ in Things Fall Apart.

  4. Mamuje June 18, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    In my relationships with Caucasians, I am probably the most tactile person out there (yeah i love the ‘this ass is mine’ gesture) and truly I dont get kissed enough. i love it so I am with turtle on that. So my friend start kissing!

    When I am in Nigeria, you tone things down as its not part of our culture to go overboard with the PDA thing… but when I am outside the shores and I am with a guy I fancy…dem go hold me oh…lol

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

      I told him what you posted and he did a fist pump. U guys should not gang up on me.

  5. BBB June 19, 2010 at 4:30 am #

    kiss kiss kiss
    nuff said

    hehehe
    off to read d apology

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

      Two solid pro-kiss for turtle. LOL.

  6. 48 June 19, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Lol @ “this ass is mine” In my head, I’m a very affectionate person who loves stolen kisses and subtle pda. However in reality – total opposite:( But yeah, hard ass you’re not, it’s just not the way some of us were raised. On the other hand, I think about that whole ‘my family never did so I don’t subscribe to it’ thing and I always say to myself “you hv to create new patterns” I want my children to grow up in a home where they openly see the love between their father and I so that they’re comfortable and equipped with the knowledge of what a healthy love relationship should look like. Plus it sounds like physical touch might be one of turtle’s love language so you might wanna ease into enjoying pda lirru by lirru:P

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      You hit the nail on the head. It nurture not nature abi? It does not mean I don’t plan on rocking his world now and again if I don’t do a little pda, right?

  7. Funmi June 19, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    I am not a PDA person AT ALL so I don’t think you are being a hard ass… I don’t see the point- we were in bed together all night now, HABA! E don do! LOL… Why did we get out of bed, shower and leave the house just to make out and stuff all over again? Na wa o… lol

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

      Gbam! Exactly!

  8. blogoratti June 20, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Guess it will take some time to get used to it…don’t think you are over reacting though.

    • lucidlilith June 20, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

      If i plan to spend the rest of my life with him…I guess I better pucker up then. lol…

  9. Vera Ezimora June 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Babe, did you link ‘Bong’s apology to your e-mail account???? If so, you know we cannot read it right? lol.

    I’m just hearing of this copyright infringement thing. Say what?!?!?!?!?!?!?! Odikwa risky. So, pray, do tell, what was his excuse?

    And per the PDA, kiss the man jare! If you no go kiss am, I go help you oh!

    • lucidlilith June 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

      I know..i just did not want to post his epistle on my blog and was looking for a shortcut…anyhue…its up now.

  10. Helene June 23, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    I’m not a PDA kind of person either. Holding hands in public is cool but full on making out, no!!!!

    • lucidlilith June 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

      yup…i agree!

  11. Myne Whitman June 23, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Madam, just kiss shege out of that guy. So all this your fronting was for nothing? Abeg kiss am well well, lol…

    • lucidlilith June 23, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      You and vera una don come oh!

  12. histreasure June 24, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    kiss him o..before ur disinterest will rub-off on him..just don’t let it get to the point where someone would say..’ argh, u too, get a room’ – IMO

  13. tisha June 25, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    i am good with PDA; not for too long though cos i am pretty reserved. errr no ass grabbing, no siree, if i am with you, i am with you, don’t stray.

    Ass grabbing, tis disrespectful and call me a feminist if you want but i hate disrespect.

    Relationships are about compromise abi, wait till you get behind ‘closed doors’ before you do any ass grabbing.

Leave a Reply

