Ugly Fight

24 Jun

Yes the fight was ugly.  Uglier than all previous fights we have had.  It started months ago when we decided to move in together.  We looked for nice apartment communities and finally settled on two good ones.  The Belmont (closer to him) and The Colonial (closer to me).  We talked about it, test drove from each place to work to figure out commute times and compared rent and utilities.  At the end, he still wanted The Belmont with its awesome club house, pool and grilling area (I no go lie the Kitchen was really very cool looking) and I wanted the The Colonial, with its proximity to shopping centers, proximity to my good friend, the kitchen wall i could paint whatever color I wanted, and really big walk-in closets.  The closet was what sold me.  Okay, I lie…the shopping centers were just too good to pass up.

VS.

So began the shouting match, the ultimatums and the name-calling.  Somehow it went from apartments to which football (yes, I said football not soccer) team was better.  He got mad because I said Americans should get over the famous unfair foul that was called and move on.  He said I was unpatriotic.  I rolled my eyes.  He argued some more, face-to-face, on the phone and finished off by text messages.  I texted horrible mean things, he texted back more horrible mean things. 

Three hours later we both signed the paperwork to our new place at the ….wait for it… The Colonial.

*sigh*

I just had a taste of married life.

22 Responses to “Ugly Fight”

  1. EDJ June 24, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I am sure it was not easy to stand your ground against such an awesome pool area and club house but good job.

    Concerning football, Americans will never get over the “foul” even though many of them didn’t care about the world cup to begin with. In 2014 when all of this is long gone they will mutter about how they don’t want to watch the world cup that year because “the referees are so unfair”. I am glad Team USA is doing well though.

    Both apartments look great! I’m jealous because to find that kind of space in NY you’d need to head wayyyy into the suburbs and it still wouldn’t be very affordable! I hope co-habitating is fun!!

    • lucidlilith June 24, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

      Thanks. I felt so much better after reading your comment. “Holding my ground” does not begin to start describing the whole thing.

      As for the USA thing. He really does see me as American first. Any time I make fun of baseball or football or Republicans, he gets into a tizzy. I just roll my eyes and tell him to get a life.

  2. Lady X June 24, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    You’re getting the apartment you wanted! So does it feel like a victory? Or do you feel a little bit bad for having your way? I have to say I “lol-ed” when you said he called you un-patriotic.

    • lucidlilith June 24, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

      Victory? Yes. But then I know he will hold this over my head for a long time as in: “I gave in to moving here, why can’t you do THIS small thing for me?”

      I mean, there is a wedding reheasal coming up soon that I don’t think I can attend but he wants me to. I can already hear him cashing in that chip.

  3. taynement June 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Congratulations on getting a place. I chuckled too at the unpatriotic comment, I guess he sees you as American first then Naija second lol. Have fun decorating your place and making it yours!:)

    • lucidlilith June 24, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

      Oh, that is prolly the best part of this moving wahala.

  4. Azazel June 24, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Hey congrats on ur new place, and congrats on ur marriage..

    • lucidlilith June 25, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      “marriage?” oh i shiver at the thought! *wink*

  5. Nice Anon June 24, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    lol@ getting a taste of married life.

  6. Mamuje June 24, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Great girl/// I love my African women jare.

    • lucidlilith June 25, 2010 at 8:51 am #

      …thank you…i don’t really know whether or not to tell him that I really run the show…lol.

  7. histreasure June 24, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    lol @ the ugly fight..but really, did he think u were gonna give up the walk-in closet for his club house..lol

    enjoy making the house into a home!

    • lucidlilith June 25, 2010 at 8:52 am #

      walk-in closet vs. club house …lol.
      he does not know women well…

  8. Neefemi June 24, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    lol…..go girl….

    • lucidlilith June 25, 2010 at 8:52 am #

      he he he….

  9. andrea June 24, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    “I just had a taste of married life”.haha, love this post. Didnt he know that you are going to win.. Oh women.we rock

    • lucidlilith June 25, 2010 at 8:52 am #

      Well said. Men can make more money and head the family. But we rule the house, eh?

  10. Ibhade June 25, 2010 at 1:44 am #

    lol…i always wander why men think they can win a fight ….UNLESS we women ALLOW them to *wink*…..GO G-A-L!…

    • lucidlilith June 25, 2010 at 8:53 am #

      “allow them to”

      lol!

  11. Fabulo-la June 25, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    Lol Walk in closet? Well what did he expect?
    lool

    • lucidlilith June 25, 2010 at 8:53 am #

      abi oh!

  12. MS.O June 25, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    LOL! As long as walk-in closet and shopping centers where involved, I didnt really see him winning. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

