Twi-hard?

6 Jul

I would not call myself obsessed over Twilight anymore.  I remember borrowing the first book from the library.  I read it in four and a half hours. I was hooked.  I read the next three books just as obsessively… I could  not wait for the movies to come out.  When it did, I was not very disappointed given that many movies adapted from books usually fall flat. 

Authors and movie makers everywhere keep scratching their heads as to why this flighty book with shallow characters and even more less talented actors generate so much money.  Here’s why:

This country has between 25-28 million teenagers.  With raging hormones. Add their big sisters and probably mothers and you have a bonanza.

Parents also like it because it is clean.  No profanity, no sex (at least in the first three books before the weird interspecies romance thing), a lot of heavy breathing and making out … and could someone put a shirt on Taylor Lautner…that boy’s torso is seriously distracting. 

The theme is central to what many young girls and women want from romance, the boy next door or the bad boy no one can tame.  We want romance without the raunchiness that has pervaded pop-culture.  We want clean, pure, unadulterated love. 

Over the weekend, I rented the first two movies, Twilight and New Moon so I could brush up on the storyline before seeing Eclipse.  While re-watching the movies, I saw how sappy and teeny-bopper it really was, yet I also saw how it could be so endearing to young people and some middle aged women. I guess the hold Twilight has on me is gone.  I mean, it is fantasy and I refuse to see it beyond that.  I don’t buy the team Jacob or team Edward hype.  IMO… that marketing ploy ruined the whole saga for me.  I personally don’t have a vampire and werewolf fighting over me.  If I did, I would be horribly terrified of the whole situation.

I can’t wait to see Breaking Dawn. 🙂

17 Responses to “Twi-hard?”

  1. taynement July 6, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    I.just.want.the.whole.saga. TO DIE!!!!!. Why won’t it die??????!!

    • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      lmao!
      Calm down honey…only one book left…hopefully there won’t be any spinooff tv shows.

      • taynement July 6, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

        They split the last book in two. I am very sure it was to torture me.

        • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

          lol…you are too much. Have you read any of the books. It would be bearable if you did read the books.

          • taynement July 6, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

            No thanks! True blood is enough vampire for me, at least they speak and not just breathe…I did watch twilight on the plane, to give it a chance. See, i tried.

  2. neefemi July 6, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Lol, what TM said although i am Team Jacob…and lol at being terrified, i think i might be flattered for a second right before i call down the wrath of Jesus.

    • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      lol at wrath of Jesus.

  3. Caramel Delight July 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    LWKMD @ Taynement. Just breathe nice and easy. The whole franchise is not going anywhere soon. I am a vampire genre fan and that is what carried my two legs to twilight. I think they spend too much time looking into each other’s eyes and breathing but I’m still going to watch it on Friday 🙂

    PS Lucidlilith abeg why would bring t-shirts into this conversation??!! Didn’t you hear the boy say he gets hot? Allow him be free and us to swoon 🙂

    • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      I am such a huge vampire/werewolf fan.
      Abeg Taylor is not even 20 yrs old and you could have seen me ogling the boy at the movies…its downright embarrassing at my age. The boy needs to cover up.

  4. Ibhade July 6, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    am lost o!….don’t know jack, but from the comments i get the gist…hehehe…..must be an interesting romance story for SOME.

    • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

      he he he…rent am now..you’ll see how nice and ridiculous the whole thing is.

  5. OriginalMgbeke July 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I have ZERO interest, and don’t understand the hype. The lead actors even look annoying sef.

    • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      lwkmd!
      original don land!

  6. EDJ July 6, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Lol. I saw Eclipse. Its not that serious. I love paranormal storylines/romances. I LOVE True Blood and Vampire Diaries.

    However, Twilight is very very immature and I don’t understand the attraction. I pick Harry Potter over Twilight any day. Also, why is there the whole Team Jacob v. Team Edward thing? Even to the point of asking a Supreme Court Nominee which team she supports! Has anybody read the books? SPOILER ALERT**She picks Edward. There is no “fight” to be had.

    Its cute, but I cant shake the strange feeling that every time a teenager watches/reads Twilight their IQ drops just a bit.

    • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

      Jeez…EDJ…i should not have read this at work…I am laughing so hard right now.

      Have you read Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins? I am betting that is the next big thing.

  7. Nice Anon July 6, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    I fell asleep watching the first movie. So BORING! What the hell is the whole hype about? And that is why my little cousin thinks I SUCK.lol

    Biko let the whole thing DIE jare.

    • lucidlilith July 6, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

      You guys are so funny. The problem is that if you dont read the books you will not really like the movie. The books are really good and easy and enjoyable. The movies are so-so.

Leave a Reply

