Mills and Boon Ruined My Love Life

9 Jul

My last post was about Twilight and the overly sappy love triangle between two monsters and a hapless girl.  Quite a few commenters were not too thrilled about the saga and wanted it to go away.  It got me thinking about what I was into as a teenager and the answer was quite blatant: Mills and Boon.

Mills and Boon ruined my love life.  Here’s why:

Harlequin romance is another culprit:

I mean, after spending your teenage years with these novels and the idea of a tall dark handsome rich stranger (aka Fabio) riding up to you on a white horse and sweeping you off your feet, how in goodness’ name are you supposed to pick a mate in a world full of men with average salaries, back hair and beer bellies? 

If men are complaining that women have high standards and all want the same men.  This is why.  For equilibrium…these books (and movies) should be banned.  Remember shirtless Taylor Lautner?  Another generation of girls are being brainwashed with the unattainable male standard of beauty.  Haven’t we learned anything from American society and its female ideal – the size 0, C-cup, blonde mirage?

Just saying….

12 Responses to “Mills and Boon Ruined My Love Life”

  1. cici July 9, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    #co-sign…to infinity

    • lucidlilith July 9, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

      amen.

  2. Neefemi July 9, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    I would read 10 in one sitting. I wouldn’t eat, sleep, just to finish a book. Will read it walking, in church, at a party. I went everywhere with one of these, occasionally stopping to read a more enlightened book. Ask anyone from high skool and they will say the girl who always carried a novel. Sigh. Those were the days.

    Reality of my life however did not let what i read take the same effect, funny enough. You would think it would considering that i took refuge in them books. But i feel you.

    • lucidlilith July 9, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

      so how is ya love life na? lol.

  3. taynement July 9, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    back in the day when i was young and silly I thought my knight in shining armor was tall, white and handsome.(with long hair).

    • lucidlilith July 9, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

      …and filthy rich…and lived on a ranch or owned a shiekhdom…hence the white horse.

  4. Nice Anon July 9, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    The thing about that is that once the man dances “jata jata” on top the woman; she’ll cum (reachthe peak as dem go tok) as if that is how things are in real life.

    Man fit dance “jata Jata” add patra ontop am still nothing.

    • lucidlilith July 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      lmao! Nice Anon, u r too funny. You are so right! Not to talk of ‘jata jata’….when the man jus touch you small, you go dey shiver as if say you get malaria. Shio.

  5. Myne Whitman July 9, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    You and nice Anon have finished me, lol…abeg make una leave my M&B oo…

    I don’t think they should be banned at all, just have the disclaimer, “Do not try this at home” LOL….

  6. Rose July 10, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    Then, they provided an avenue to escape the hassles of teenage life, by immersing yourself in the fantasy even if for just a hundred and more pages. Or less even.

    In reality, chances are slashed to about a quarter. So yep, the love life may be pretty much screwed. 🙂

  7. ~Sirius~ July 12, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    To say these books deceived me is putting it mildly.

    i still suffer when my subconscious expects certain reactions from my better half………*kmt*

  8. Zoé September 4, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Personnaly, I’ve been reading Harlequin novels since I’m about 16 or 17, and I still wouldn’t want a tall dark goregous wealthy young Lord to spend my everyday life with. Those books shouldn’t be banned, they’re too much fun!! All you need is keeping your feet on the ground a little. Even though I love daydreaming and escaping each time I read those romantic stories, their chevalresque male characters could never hold a candle to a cute guy smilling at you in the tube or to your cute normal boyfriend simply holding your hand.. 😉

Leave a Reply

