Medical Mystery

13 Jul

You’all know that I have this horrible neuropathic pain that shoots up my right arm, down my right leg and basically dances all over the right side of my body, right?  Well, for the past two months I have been bouncing from doctor to doctor trying to figure out what is wrong with me.  I got a cervical and brain MRI last week which came back clear, thank goodness.  My new neurologist ruled out MS and Fibromyalgia which was a good thing too. 

It turns out that my condition is quite common in women and a lot of neurologists have been treating this for decades.  According to Dr. N, there seems to be a spike in the number of women who have this in recent years.  He said that over the last few decades, the number goes up and down, no one knows why this is the case.  The good thing is that these women that have been studied have no long term strutural damage.

Now here is where it gets weird.  Dr. N believes (that there is a school of thought) that this kind of pain is actually a form of migraine.

Very strange, yes – but – it makes perfect sense to me because I hardly get headaches (unless I drink too much wine) and I never get migraines, at least as an adult. (When I was a little I had migraines all the time and then it just stopped when I became a teenager).  It makes sense because when I am stressed the pain is amplified times 10.  It seems the brain sort of re-wired the way it handles pain sensations concentrating most of it on the right side of my body.

Turns out there is nothing to do but treat the symptoms.  I am relieved that we have an idea or at the very most a guess of what we are dealing with.

7 Responses to “Medical Mystery”

  1. Neefemi July 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Yea, mumsy has the same thing. She took out her tooth cos she thought that she had some pain there. Well the tooth is gone and she still has the same pain. It has been very frustrating for me to say the least cos i just want her to be cured. it is well with you

  2. blogoratti July 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Good thing you have an idea about it all…take things easy yea.

  3. Nice Anon July 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    Def good to have an idea now and medicate the symptoms like you said. Ndo o!

  4. Myne Whitman July 14, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    That kind of pain can be easy sha. Pele. At least it won’t get worse than that.

  5. Caramel Delight July 15, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I’m glad you have an idea. It would have been frustrating if you were fighting shadows with no name. Ndo.

  6. histreasure July 16, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    at least, u know what’s going on..you’ll be fine..Thank God the MRIs came back clean o, ah…

  7. Helene July 18, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Glad to hear you may finally have an answer as to what’s going on. I get migraines every once in awhile and though they are not as exteme as in the form of an all-over pain like yours, the only thing that works is a strong dose of caffeine, a cold washcloth over my forehead while I lay down in a quiet dark room. Maybe try the same thing when it happens, if possible, and hopefully it’ll help!

Leave a Reply

