What a Week and End!

19 Jul

A high school buddy of Turtle’s got married last saturday.  The wedding was awesome!  The reception was one big paaaaarty…and Turtle looked so handsome as a groomsman.  It was enough to make me forget the dress drama. 

When it comes to weddings, there is always dress drama…. I ordered a dress from the same online store I use frequently for black tie events.  The dress looked good on the model so I thought it would look good on me.

Doozie #1:  despite the fact I paid for Express shipping, they did not process my order until Wednesday (the wedding was on Saturday). 

Doozie #2:  the dress with the color I wanted was damaged and they called to see if I would prefer fuschia rather than red.  It was Wednesday and I had no time to waste so I said okay. 

Doozie #3: I almost missed the reheasal dinner entirely because the dress arrived at 6:30 pm on Friday.  I raced…yes raced to Atlanta, making the drive in a little over an hour to midtown where everyone somehow were aware of my dress drama.

Major Doozie: It was hideous…overly poufy and did not flatter my figure.

Thank goodness for a plan B dress which in all fairness was a simple summer dress I had purchased for casual events but decided to take along with me for the weekend.  I simply took shawl/sash that came with the hideous dress, and tied it around to make a bow/sash on my simple summer dress. 

Good thing is … guests gave me compliments on the dress…and I gave a silent prayer of thanks to the god of fashion emergencies and wardrobe malfunctions for not making me a laughing stock.  Just imagine what would have happened if I showed up in that poufy dress (that would give ugly bridesmaid dresses a run for their money)…am sure the reception conversation starter would go like this: “that is what she almost missed the reheasal dinner for?”

Anyhue – the bride and groom looked so happy and perfect for each other.

And I gave Turtle lots of smooches…as you guys insisted…he he he he…

So after a whole day of partying from reception, to lounge to bar…..yep … we were at it until 2 a.m. I think…I left early to go on my whitewater rafting trip.  It was so much fun despite my fatigue.  I would do this again.  (Yes…I am waaaaaay in the back on the left).  I am still tired but I just had to squeeze in this post between work projects.

27 Responses to “What a Week and End!”

  1. Mamuje July 19, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Hey lovely one…. always wanted to do white water rafting…but never gotten around to it. You looked stunning in that dress…

  2. Mamuje July 19, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Gorgeous dress and look like you had fun.

    • lucidlilith July 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks dear! Everyone liked it…so I am glad I took it as a last minute thought…either that or Turtle would have had to hand me his credit card for major shopping early Saturday morning.

  3. akaBagucci July 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    all’s well that ends well, aye?

    • lucidlilith July 20, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      yup! seems like it!

  4. EDJ July 19, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Ah kpele oh! I once had the same problem with a dress and had to go to my backup plan! I see you have given in a little on the PDA thing! Lol, congrats.

    I also have a wedding for Alpa Chino’s friend in late Nov. i plan to start looking for a dress in October! Lol.

    • lucidlilith July 20, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      Guuurrrrlllll…u berra start now!

      As for the pda…by the end of the evening…everyone was asking me when we were getting married already.

  5. Nice Anon July 20, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    I saw your biceps! Ah dash me naw

    • lucidlilith July 20, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      LOL…those tiny things? when I shake em in the mirror, they jiggle….

  6. Joxy July 20, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Yay, you finally put a body to the name, lol. Glad it turned out right in the end, nice dress 🙂

    • lucidlilith July 20, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      I debated the who semi-revelation but I was like what he heck…you cant tell a good story without pictures.

  7. Caramel Delight July 20, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Yeahhhhhhhh! Thank God for quick thinking! You all look lovely. White water rafting? You’re on your own 🙂

    • lucidlilith July 20, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

      Thank God for that oh. You should try it…it is so much fun! Just don’t fall out of the raft…people have lost their lives …. especially if they don’t know what to do …not to scare you sha.

  8. Myne Whitman July 20, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    The dress was lovely as are the other pics, but you can guess the one I like the most? LOL..

    • lucidlilith July 21, 2010 at 8:49 am #

      Chei Myne…you and Atala are prolly the kind and queen of loovu wantin tin…

  9. histreasure July 21, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    you looked fab..see the beauty in simplicity? and i can see u fun and then some loving..(and someone took time to record it..lol

    • lucidlilith July 21, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      lol…yes, and i know who that was…thankfully I got one good photo of her too with her guy. weddings are so much fun!

  10. joicee July 21, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    Hmm… what a weekend you had indeed… You looked good in your dress.

    • lucidlilith July 21, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      Thanks luv!

  11. AlooFar July 22, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    who messed with the lovely pictures? 😉

    • lucidlilith July 27, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

      Anonymity….he he he….i don’t want my pals stumbling on this blog and going wtf?!

  12. Original Mgbeke July 25, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    I see your lovely toned arms, naiiicee. The dress looks cute and seems like y’all had a ball.
    You dey very into interesting activities o, I need to be like you when I grow up. Always wanted to do white water rafting.

    • lucidlilith July 27, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

      More like flabby arms…nne gravity is a b*tch oh.
      As for rafting…it is not as bad or hard as it looks. Just dont fall in the water.

  13. Tori July 27, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    OMG, is that turtle in picture 2? The name makes PERFECT sense!!!

    • lucidlilith July 27, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      Em ….no Turtle is in picture number 5…as in the guy I am smooching with…..

      • Tori August 4, 2010 at 9:14 am #

        Lol, i figured that much out. The guy in picture 2 reminds me of Turtle from Entourage. :$

  14. Neefemi July 28, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    awwwwwwwwwwww PDA, loves it

Leave a Reply

