My stuff. His “crap.”

10 Aug

So I managed to survive Accounting, Finance and Business Planning.  This leaves only three classes to go in my program.  I see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Turtle and I finally moved to our new place.  It was quite the experience and we pulled through together.  I mean, everyday we look at each other and ask in a round about way…”are we doing okay?” 

We had a mini house party and invited folks over to enjoy a pool get together and some food.  I made chicken gizzards.  The white folks were not big fans but the black folks liked it. 

Check out our kitchen “menu” board.  He wanted to throw this out but I thought it would be a cool thing to have this instead of writing notes on a refrigerator pad….

Turtle kinda had an off weekend.  First he left the hazard lights (blinkers to those in the US) on his Mustang on – and that killed his battery.  I had to give him a jump.  Then, he stepped into the pool with his cell phone and we had to order a new one.  Then one of his friends accidentally took his wallet after the party so he could not even pay for a new cell phone.  Poor thing.  I had to pay for it.  Poor me.

Anyhue…it is kinda revealing when you take stock of what people accumulate.  I know the boy is into the 80s.  But his collection of t-shirts, pint glasses, frames and odd furniture leaves me befuddled. 

Let me give you visuals:

MY FAN

HIS FAN

MY LAMP

HIS LAMP

MY ALARM CLOCK

HIS ALARM CLOCK

It is like a time warp gone wrong…I tell you.

And – we are still getting used to having two of everything…knives, spices, tvs, etc….

On a sad note…my nnukwu mama (big mama) died.  She was my last surviving grandparent.  She died peacefully in her sleep.  She will be missed. 

25 Responses to “My stuff. His “crap.””

  1. Neefemi August 10, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    RIP to your grandma, hope you are doing fine? May God be with your family at this time

  2. Mamuje August 10, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    RIP grandma….she is in a better place.

    I am still laughing at Turtle’s fan. Hahahahahahahhahahahhahhahahaha

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:17 am #

      Trust me. The first time I saw it, I laughed too.

  3. Azazel August 10, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    RIP to your grandma…
    Lol @ the alarm clock and fan..
    The fan killed me

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:17 am #

      it reminds me of the one I had growing up in Surulere.

  4. taynement August 10, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    lol the contrast on each item was cute.

  5. Ms.O August 10, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    R.I.P. Grandma Lilith…

    That fan had me ROTFLMAO!!! like wow! you guys are too cute though!

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      Somehow it ended up in our bedroom…go figure.

  6. mpb August 11, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    LMAO!!!!! I have never really fully appreciated “vintage”…probably my third world mentality. I absolutely love modern and contemporary!

    May your big mom rest in peace, hugs.

  7. Nice Anon August 11, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    Awww RIP to your Grandmother.

    Turtle sure puts the V in vintage

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:16 am #

      he he…antique and vintage are very cute words for a guy who just does not like to throw stuff away as long as it works.

  8. Omosi T August 11, 2010 at 3:01 am #

    Sorry for you loss.

  9. Caramel Delight August 11, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    May your Big Mama rest in peace Amen.

    PS My parents actually had all that kind of stuff when I was growing up in Lagos! Talk about time warp! All I am waiting for you to show me is an old school Kelvinator fridge 🙂

  10. Ibhade August 11, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    May mama’s soul rest in peace…..it’s a life well spent…i rejoice with you rather…..Turtle likes antique?

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:14 am #

      Antique ke? I call it junk.

  11. joicee August 12, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    My condolences, Lucidlilth

    It seems like you and your man will balance each other when it comes to decorating then., old school and new school

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:14 am #

      decorating is putting it mildly…lol

  12. Ginger August 15, 2010 at 4:09 am #

    Antique appreciation is a learned process. You’ll get there.

    Accept my condolences about Mama nnukwu. May her soul rest in peace.

  13. Ginger August 15, 2010 at 4:10 am #

    lwkmd! Antique appreciation is a learned process. You’ll get there.

    Accept my condolences about Mama nnukwu. May her soul rest in peace.

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      I am tickled at how you guys tactfully call it antique.

  14. histreasure August 15, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    my sympathies on ur grandma’s passing..

    lol @ your Turtle..it’s an acquired taste, you won’t understand..lol..still lovely to look at though, me, i’m all fr modern and contemporary

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      modern and contemporary is very me too.

  15. Myne Whitman August 15, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    May your granny’s soul rest in peace.

    So what will you do with the double stuff? Whose will you give away?

    • lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:13 am #

      We have already donated most of “his” stuff to the Salvation Army. He was really depressed for a while but he knows its for the best. 😀

  16. lucidlilith August 18, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Thank you guys for all the kind words on nnukwu mama’s passing.

Leave a Reply

