Dem don land!

18 Aug

As some of you may know, my sister and her husband and two kids are in town.  They arrived on Saturday and honestly, I now know that having family around is one of the best things in life.   For one thing, you can’t get bored.  Here is the gist so far:

I lost them at the airport – cus customs somehow managed to keep them for two whole hours while Turtle and I ran around frantically looking for them.

Jetlag is a serious issue.  Especially when travelling with a six month old and an 18 month old.

The baby girl whom I call “Didi” and “Mellow Yellow” likes me.  She is Mellow ‘cus she hardly fusses (her mother disagrees with me on this one) and she is Yellow cus she is so light skinned that people think she is mine and Turtle’s.  The older one -a boy – is such a snob.  He won’t let anyone other than his dad hold him.  BUT he likes Turtle.  That hurt.

This family can EAT.  The first day I made them egusi and semolina, the plate of semolina was HUGE.   I wish I took a photo…it must have been 3000 calories of carbs which they decimated in less than a half hour – naija style.

I lost them at WalMart.  Turtle and I told them to sit by the pharmacy and make a list while we grabbed a few things.  When we got back, they were gone.  Turtle looked at me and said, “I knew this would happen.”  We found them in aisle 9.

This weekend I am taking them to tour Atlanta.  My job is to make them so tired that they go to bed early.  So we can have some alone time.  😀

I hope to have pictures in my next post!

PS: would you believe I have been blogging for a WHOLE YEAR?????

8 Responses to “Dem don land!”

  1. Ibhade August 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    lol……tell them welcome ooo for me!…….maybe this huge semolina you dey complain about fit no pass the size my cousin dey wack at a sitting o!….i beg show me the pix b4 i agree with you joor!………heheheee………..kai! your plan no go work sha!…tire ke?….which type ‘some alone time’ you de talk?….my sista…luckily say no be 9ja you dey because you for don learn how to make the best use of any time you fit catch o!….hehehe….greetings to all & have fun.

  2. Mamuje August 19, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    Losing them at Walmart, why am I not surprised? Heheheheheh…. enjoy their company 🙂

  3. LG August 19, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    loll maybe the egusi was verrry sweet, u kno na!
    all d best abt getting dem tired sha *wink*

    1st time here, i likey!

  4. Young Grumbler August 20, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Lol, enjoy your time with them and have fun…and happy blogversary!

  5. Tomi August 21, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    Enjoy your time with them you will surely miss them when they leave. Congrats on your blog anniversary!

  6. Ginger August 21, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Happy anniversary LL. Maybe your next post should be ’10 things I love or hate about Blogging”. lol.

    Enjoy your visitors oo. There’s nothing like family, wahala and all.

  7. Neefemi August 23, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Family is great. Enjoy them and Congrats

  8. Joxy August 26, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    Congrats on your blog anniversary, and enjoy the company of the lil ones, good practice for the future.

Leave a Reply

