This week in family news…

2 Sep

They loved the Aquarium.  Total Win.

Tornado freaked out over big fishes.  He didn’t mind the smaller fish but the big ones scared the bejezzus out of him.  Here is a picture of my brother-in-law trying to get Tornado to pose behind a fish tank. The boy kicked and screamed and twisted and flailed…

Best quote so far from the bro-law: “We look like we are in a washing machine.”

Anyhue…I shot a video of this beaver doing his thing.

Something that strikes me as odd is how much Nigerians love to shop.  I mean, here I am trying to dispel this ideology that everyone from a third world country is dirt poor and uneducated.  I preach, berate, lecture and get defensive when I hear of some do gooder’s trip to [insert remote village here] to build a [hospital/school/bridge/clinic]. 

Enter my sister and her family and their seemingly bottomless wallet.  They have seriously done some damage to my on-going negotiations with Turtle on a hypothetical discussion regarding whose family gets to pay what portion of a hypothetical wedding.  After seeing the shopping bags piled up in a corner of the guest room, I think Turtle is re-thinking his stance on the 75/25 idea.

Tornado and I are getting to be good friends.  He even hugged me once last week.  And last night, we watched tv together for like a minute and a half on the couch!

So, I was laying in bed last night when I suddenly realized that Turtle was about to leave for a five day cruise/bachelor’s party.  A cruise.  Without me…not fair!  In jealous fit, I said, “Well you better bring me a souvernir or something.”  Now, we both have tradition of buying pint glasses or shot glasses or a t-shirt in any city we visit and of course I knew that he would bring something home but I was in a bitchy mood.  Turtle looked at me and said, “You ruined the tradition.  You know you don’t ask for souvenirs, we just get them anyway.”

I said, “I have not ruined the tradition.  I was making sure you remembered to bring something back.”

He turned over in bed and replied, “Well the only thing I am sure I am coming back with is a hangover.  Good night.”

Me and my big mouth.

11 Responses to “This week in family news…”

  1. Ms. O September 2, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Aww sounds like you are having a blast with the family!! LOL @ your big mouth!

    • lucidlilith September 7, 2010 at 11:07 am #

      abi oh.

  2. taynement September 2, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    You said the W-word. hehe. I am TOTALLY ignoring the word “hypothetical” in front of it. You said the W-word. 😀

    lol@minute and half.

    • lucidlilith September 7, 2010 at 11:07 am #

      It is “hypothetical” since he has not put a ring on it yet…he he he…

  3. Omosi T September 2, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Lol, in defense of your sis, EVERYTHING is overpriced in Naija. So people go to Yankee to shop and any fun activities are incidental.

    • lucidlilith September 7, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      Tell me about it… I keep trying to get them to sightsee.

  4. Mamuje September 2, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    You and ya big mouth!!!!

    Nigerians can shop? Is that news? You don forget your people again…

    • lucidlilith September 7, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      Gurrrlllll…it has been so bad. You have no idea how many stores we have been to:

      Macy’s (twice)
      JC Penney
      Payless, DSW, Rackroom
      Dick’s Sporting Goods
      Ross
      Marshall’s (twice)
      TJ Maxx (twice)
      Walmart (six times)
      Target

      …and these are just the ones I had to go to…I have no idea what they do when I drop em off at the mall…

  5. EDJ September 3, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    HAHA he will be JUST fine. I’m guessing he will still bring something back for you.

    TURTLE, IF YOU’RE READING THIS, MAKE SURE YOU BRING SOMETHING FOR HER! OTHERWISE WAHALA (I’m sure he knows what wahala means).

    Also, the shopping thing, I think its because they don’t come here often. I mean if you only went shopping once a year you would buy a lot that one time wouldn’t you? They have to cram a year’s worth of shopping into a week so I see how it might look like a lot.

    I’m glad your family is having fun. Are you going to take them anywhere else? I visited Atlanta once during our summers here when I was abt 10years old and my relatives took us to World of Coke and CNN.

    • lucidlilith September 7, 2010 at 11:03 am #

      He followed your advice! I got a cool cap and a liquor flask encased in leather.

      I took them to CNN and Underground Atlanta.

  6. Helene September 9, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    They do look like they’re inside a washing machine…LOL!

    Excuse me, but a 5-day Bachelor cruise??? Something’s just wrong about that. Someone’s trying to really live it up before getting married, huh?

Leave a Reply

