Really?

22 Sep

This is not another stereotype rant but I just had to put this post up.

So Turtle and I went to Walmart to get some groceries.  We stopped by the deli to get some chicken wings to snack on…as we planned to watch a movie later that day.  The girl behind the counter was really nice and friendly but I noticed she gave us puzzled looks.  Then out of the blue, she asked me if I liked Fantasia’s new single, “bittersweet.”  I had heard snippets of the song but I told her I had not heard it.  She then did a one minute informercial on Fantasia and Monica.  The she whipped out her cell phone, went to her playlist and played the music for me – or rather she handed me her cell phone to listen to the music while she filled our order.

Don’t get me wrong.  I have Fantasia’s first CD.  And Monica’s last CD (not the current) but I found the conversation odd and frankly annoying.  Like the girl was testing my blackness to see how much about R&B I really knew.  Even Turtle raised his eyebrows a little… like Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

I wonder if she would have done that if I were blond-haired and blue-eyed.

On other notes, I got my cooking mojo back!  We went to a farmer’s market in hunt of the mysterious squid so I could try out this calamari recipe that had been marinating in my brain for a while.  It NEEDS work…

I made an old favorite…the bacon-wrapped tilapia with veggies.

I also made “ofe onugbu” or Bitterleaf Soup.  Yum. Sorry about the smokey picture…I took the shot while the soup bubbled…

Next, I will try my sister’s “ofe nsala” recipe.

34 Responses to “Really?”

  1. EDJ September 22, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    A) I’m hungry.

    B) Whiskey Tango Foxtrot reminds me of the A-Team which I thought was a dam good and hilarious movie.

    C) This is why I don’t make eye contact with cash registrars at the grocery store and I prefer self-checkout.

    D) I think just to make her uncomfortable I would have asked her why she’s asking?

    • lucidlilith September 23, 2010 at 8:58 am #

      A-Team was quite good. I remember the cartoon of the 80s. I think Mr. T never aged.

      I spent all morning obsessing over that girl’s actions. IT REALLY BOTHERED ME.
      *deeeeeeeeep breath*

  2. Reverence September 22, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    1) can i get the tilapia bacon recipe? i have a lot of bacon i need to cook

    2) i am wondering why you even entertianed the lady. you should have given her the i am onlyi nterested in the chicken wings you are supposed to be selling me look.

    • lucidlilith September 23, 2010 at 8:56 am #

      Recipe is in your e-mail….

      I used to be a mean B***h but Turtle keeps trying to make me a nice person. I guess it is rubbing off on me finally…

  3. taynement September 22, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    I know I am always bugging you but I need the ofe onugbu recipe in my life. Infact why don’t you have a food blog..or do you?

    • lucidlilith September 23, 2010 at 8:55 am #

      I will send you the recipe via e-mail.

      I wish I could start a food blog but that will not be good for my waistline. If I had a whole bunch of people to cook for, people that will eat what I cook, maybe. If I cook that much, then all that food will end up on my ass and hips.

      • taynement September 23, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

        *stares down at ass and hips* umm, maybe i don’t want the recipe anymore *cries*

      • Adanne September 26, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

        if only i lived in your neck of the woods you wouldn’t have the problem of needing people to cook for. Maybe I can come camp outside your door.

        • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

          lol…hey if you are in atl, pls come camp at my joint…i got a bedroom, pull-out couch, futon. Take your pick!

  4. Funmi September 23, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    LMAO @ Whiskey Tango Foxtrot. LOL… Na so we sef dey see am o… One guy like that watched a show about people from Belize and proceeded to attempt to bond with me over the practices of “people from my side of the world”.

    This food is making me hungry sha… 😦

    • lucidlilith September 23, 2010 at 8:53 am #

      Wow. he he he…..I did not know that Nigerians were from Belize.

  5. kay9 September 23, 2010 at 4:00 am #

    umm, i don’t see any onugbu in the ofe onugbu. It looks yummy tho. What thickener did u use, cocoyam? I know boiled and pounded cocoyam is the best.

    • lucidlilith September 23, 2010 at 8:51 am #

      LOL…the onugbu congregated at the bottom of the pot…I had to keep stirring ….
      I used cocoyam flour.

  6. kay9 September 23, 2010 at 4:02 am #

    nsala? wait, don’t tell me, u from anambra, right?

    • lucidlilith September 23, 2010 at 8:51 am #

      Anambra kwenu!

  7. Mamuje September 23, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    The cashier should be flogged. Where did that come from?

    Oh, by the way… The food looks yummidy yum!!! Unfortunately for me, I lost my cooking mojo. I used to cook up a storm a while back… Anyway I got some black pasta I want to cook later this month. Will need the calamari recipe later.

    • lucidlilith September 23, 2010 at 8:52 am #

      The calamari was so-so IMO….I need to tweak it some more…maybe wash with lime and salt (like you do with snails) and stirfry in olive oil before adding the chopped peppers…

  8. Myne Whitman September 23, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    If your SO was black and she did that, would it have bothered you so much? Maybe she’s heard of black ladies complaining about people’s attitude because they’re dating white men and she just wanted to be nice? Just forget it sha.

    That your banga looks serious, me likey…

  9. Joxy September 24, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I’m with Myne on this one, maybe she was trying to be nice? Pls can I have the ofe onugbu recipe? I’ve never made it that way before. Glad your cooking mojo’s back.

    • Joxy September 24, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

      Thanks dearie, that was fast! Very much appreciated.

  10. El Divine September 24, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Liliiith!!! found on twitter then FINALLY found ur blog!! love it..

    right now tho…all that fud is making me hungry, and i rem my friend promising to make me peppery yoruba soup ! =) #nowscreaming “TOYOSSIIIIIII!!!”
    #imouttahere

    • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Ha! where have you been? You used to drop by and then kpooof! gone.

      anyhue…glad you found me again.

  11. Nice Anon September 24, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Bacon with fish? Hmmm I’ve tried something a friend of mine makes ” eggs in a blanket” it is ReALLY good.

    I am not a big fan of ofe onugbu. I like nsala however YUM

    • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      I never used to like it …until i started to make it to my liking…

  12. AmakaTacoma September 25, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Are you mixed??? That may be part of it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m on twitter – username is amakatacoma! Happy Blogging!!!!

    • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Mixed ke? LooooooooooL!!!

      I am a negro through and through. Onye Igbo. Nwa Igbo. Anambra, Aguata.

  13. GoodNaijaGirl September 29, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    Bacon wrapped tilapia sounds DEELISH!

    • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      I love it. It is very very delicious and easy to make.

  14. Ibhade October 7, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Next time such a thing happen again in any shop, ….ask about some 9ja artiste sef…….. since the blackness in you wants to be tested abi……..by the time she gives you a blank stare….you walk away with a ‘butter-cannot-melt-in-my-mouth’ smile.

    • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      lol…you sef…your advice can get me in trouble

  15. etoileoye October 7, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    recipes, please

    • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      I will forward via e-mail

  16. Ginger October 10, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Lucid recipe pleease. Did you cook the stinky (ogiri-ed) ofe onugbu or non stinky? I love the hot smoky shot sef. Tell Turtle he’s got competition – That onugbu recipe makes you one hot cake!! lol

    • lucidlilith October 11, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      I made without ogiri. They don’t sell the authentic ogiri at the african store near my place.

Leave a Reply

