She did it!

27 Sep

Old faithful, my 15 year old Lexus has reached the 200,000 mile mark.

I remember when I got old faithful…I was not overly impressed with her. She had dents on her side like a jealous girlfriend had kicked the doors and sometimes she can’t seem to decide what gear she wants to operate on…going high and going low whenever it suited her.  Besides, her dashboard lights look like a Christmas tree, with the “check engine” light, OD light, ABS light and goodness knows what else all on and blinking.  For months when I started her engine, I would expect to hear a groan, a choke and plume of smoke before the inevitable silence … but she has surpassed my expectations…still chugging along after thousands of miles and minuscule maintenance expenses. Some days I look down and realize I am doing 90 mph on a 70 mph highway and wonder how a car this old still keeps going.  My co-worker calls cars like this “rice burners.”  Asian-made cars that go on and on….(Toyota, Honda etc.)

Although I am gearing up to get a new car sometime this Christmas, God-willing, I still feel Old Faithful has a lot of life left in her.  Her paint is old, her axle is failing, one floor carpet is gone thanks to a bleach accident, her  back seat leather is ripped – a casualty by my brother-in-law, there are baby food stains on her center divider, her trunk opener button is damaged, the CD and tape player died months ago.  She is not the prettiest car in the parking lot but she kinda reminds me of myself…beaten up and tired but still willing to put up a fight.

Here’s to Old Faithful for teaching me what never giving up means.

6 Responses to “She did it!”

  1. anoda phase September 27, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    awwww…how nice, to be writing in such an adoring manner about 4 wheels…good stuff.

  2. taynement September 27, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    I have a 15 year old car too so I understand your nostalgia, you forgot to mention Old Faithful doesn’t come with car payments either haha. Congrats on the mark and may your new car be even better than Old Faithful.

  3. acainto September 27, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    lol! Congrats! And keep rockin’ the highway…

  4. Ms.O September 27, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Aww good job old faithful!

  5. GoodNaijaGirl September 29, 2010 at 1:07 am #

    Go, Old Faithful, go! What are you looking at getting for your Christmas present? 🙂

  6. Ginger October 10, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I thought it was only guys that faithfully adore their old cars. She sounds like she deserves it and more…

Leave a Reply

