Halloween, Hijacked

2 Nov

I am not a big fan of Halloween (or as I like to call it – “Dress Like a Slut Day”).   We have come a long way from the early Celtic and later Catholic traditions of Halloween.

Funny thing is – no one actually remembers that the next day is All Saints Day and the reason for Halloween – All Hallows Eve – the night before All Hallows Day is meant to be spiritual.  But of course it has been hijacked by secularists and capitalists who make a killing off:

  • Candy
  • Dentists’ bills
  • Costumes
  • Alcohol
  • DUIs
  • Car wrecks

Not that it even comes close to Christmas and the consumerist culture that surrounds it.

Anyhue, after arguing with Turtle about my points above, I gave in and went to one out of two Halloween parties scheduled for the weekend.  To bring a little spirituality into the event, I went as a nun…he he he….

It was fun.  We met this really nice South African couple and marveled at people’s creativity with costumes.  This lady really freaked me out.

I could not resist taking photos of these folks obviously having a good time.

On another note, I made my very first Quiche.  It was just okay.  I think it needs work….less cheese, layer the green onions and add the black pepper early on so it does not float to the top! Oy.

I also made one of my favorites – stuffed pork chop.

This version which I got when I lived in North Dakota actually puts the stuffing ON the chop and not IN the chop. I wanted to experiment with cooking wine instead of white wine and I think it went to vinegar- ry on me. I think I will stick to white wine for this recipe.

That’s all folks.  Am off to run 3- 4 miles!  Yippeeeee!!!  Endorphins here I come!

5 Responses to “Halloween, Hijacked”

  1. anoda phase November 2, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Interesting…I didn’t really know the history of haloween/all saints day…thanks for enlightening me…

  2. Mamuje November 2, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Nice…looked like you have some Halloween fun. My was a normal day. I worked!

  3. Mamuje November 2, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Mine* I meant to say

  4. Ginger November 8, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Someone had fun on Halloween. Turtle is good influence 🙂
    We had the most awful rainy cold Halloween. I spent it happily underneath the covers (alone too).

  5. ibhade November 9, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    I heard some 9jas tried to bring the idea into Nigeria….but was not successful becox it is deemed demonic in the christendom…..why celebrate/honour the dead & evil?… Thanks for explaining what hallowen is really about BUT i still don’t like the idea….hope ypu had fun sha?

Leave a Reply

