What generation?

23 Nov

I have always been a middler.  When I took the Myers Briggs personality test in college, I got upset because all of my answers fell in the middle.  My instructor told me not to worry about it as this only meant I was capable of doing anything I wanted.  Then last year I took a strengths quest test for professional reasons.  Again, all my strengths fell in the middle with one or two in the fringes.  This time, I just brushed it away.  I figured at this age, I had been through enough in life that I did not need a test to define me.  Besides, this decade, I only have one mantra:  peace of mind –at any friggin cost.  Anything else is just bullshit.

Besides that – I have always wanted to know if I am a gen x or y.  There are some days I feel like an x and some days I feel like a y.  I found out there is a name for it.  I’m a “cusper.”  Those people born somewhere in the late 70s…the 77, 78 and 79 …maybe even 1980.  They are those too young to have experienced life as an Xer and too old to be fully considered a Yer.  They remember the pre-internet days, the days of three-channel television, the days before MTV, the days of remote control-less evenings (yes- those days of walking all the way to the tv to change the channel), the days when the streets were still fairly safe and terrorism was a word you used only for school bullies.  Just as we remember those times, we are equally adept at texting, facebooking, blogging, messaging, downloading, emailing, youtubing, photos-sharing on flickr, mixing videos on vimeo, writing simple code for applications and so on.  We are “cuspers” or “tweeners” of some kind.  We can plug into the world when we want or plug our ipods in our ears.  It can be a blessing and a curse depending on how you view it.

At work, when I am forced to discipline a few people I supervise, I see the Xer in me.  I have a no nonsense attitude towards college kids of these days that feel they need to tell me all their problems especially the one problem that led them to show up late for work (think: “I had to pick up a morning after pill”). On days like those, I feel old and desperate.  I want to hold them by their shoulders and shake them until their teeth rattle in their head.  I want to yell at them and tell them they are part of the luckiest generation in the world-the ones that had to work the least hard and yet experience more rewards.

And then there are the days I have a conversation with an older relative or even a random elderly stranger and I feel like a Yer because they disapprove of certain lifestyle choices or they refuse to text or email or facebook.  They prefer the traditional phone call which really cuts into my day and time.  Who talks on the phone these days?  I feel like a Yer when I argue vehemently on the role of women in society.  Especially with people with pre-20th century ideologies.

The funny thing is many people see me as a Yer rather than an Xer.  I look really young for my age (thank goodness for genetics).  My baby sister actually told me I looked like a young boy when I cut my hair.  I remember passing for 17 years old when I was actually 27 in order to get half off a buffet entry fee.  Once when I went out with my MBA buddies, I was the only one that got carded despite the fact that I was the second oldest in the group.  It is when I open my mouth and talk that people realize that I am really older than I look.

Oh well…I really don’t worry about it too much but once in a while, the question sneaks right into my head…are you a gen Xer or Yer?

7 Responses to “What generation?”

  1. Ibhade November 23, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Lucky you….i mean the good genes…..as whether am an Xer or Yer?…………………..me dunno o…..am a middler like you….so a cusper?…..i prefer to send mails than to call, i like old-traditional values than this modern-liberal values & i believe this generation are very lucky to have all these technology at their fingertips & ready to shake them also IF they come late to work becox i believe they have no genuine reason than I OVERSLEPT due to the partying i had with friends? As much as i embrace this modern era, i wish to keep SOME of our old-fashioned values……to create a balance than one taking more prominence & the other neglected……..so where would you place me LILITH?

  2. Joxy November 23, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    Xer.

  3. 2cute4u November 24, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    I guess I’m an all rounder depending on the situation, sometimes I would prefer to talk on phone and at other times, I would rather not..
    I lack the impatience for lateness irrespective of the reasons and it really has to be cogent else, there would be no sparing..
    I’ve been on low cut for a while and people scream when I let them in on my age, yet I look in the mirror and see the age/maturity smiling back at me and giving me a cheery wave..
    It sucks both ways I tell you..

  4. Ginger November 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    ….according to some random test I took, the defining criteria was ‘How many social networks you belong to’ (4 and above), and how many text messages you send a day’ (above 30). Nothing too deep. So yeah I am a Yer who chooses to be an Xer, thank you very much.

    “I had to pick up a morning after pill” What’s that? Like TMI!! like you’re so irresponsibly responsible? duh

  5. anoda phase November 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    lol @ “I had to pick up a morning after pill”…what an excuse for turning up late to work!

    I guess I’m a Ygen, even though the Xgen in me often shows up…

  6. Tomi December 2, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    I like the XY tag same tag the male chromosome has! There is some advantage to being able to claim being a member of both groups, you can play what card best fits the occasion.

  7. GoodNaijaGirl December 7, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    I’m a cusp baby too and I definitely feel like I’m more of an Xer when it comes to my reaction to the “kids of today”. Darn! I can be soooo crotchety and set in my ways at times to…but at the same time I’m such an internet junkie.

Leave a Reply

