The reason I can’t lose weight these days.

2 Dec

Remember my post about my cooking mojo coming back?  Well – obviously:

*breaks into autotune song*

It’s climbin in my window
It’s snatchin my waistline up
tryna feed me so I need to
hide my pots, hide my pans
hide my pots, hide my pans
hide my pots, hide my pans
and hide my blender
cuz its feeding errbody out here
you don’t have to come to the kitchen
It’s lookin for you
It’s gon find you
It’s gon find you
so you can run and tell that,
run and tell that
run and tell that, homeboy
home, home, homeboy

/performance

Okay – so lately, I have been very busy trying different things and revisiting old recipes.  One of Turtle’s favorites..Stuffed Pepper.

My sister gave me this Ofe Nsala recipe and i gotta tell ya, it is now one of my top three soups.

Fish Stew made with Salmon and fresh spinach and served with white rice. Yum.

My attempt at making Meatloaf.  I had to re-do it using Turtle’s mom’s recipe.  Meatloaf is my cryptonite.  I don’t know why they come out like a block of stone.  I have only been able to make a really yummy one once and then I lost the recipe.

I finally made Scotch Eggs thanks to Ms. O! Can you believe one egg is like 230 calories????

Now for my proud moment:  *drumroll*  Shrimp Paella, courtesy of Alhaji’s Groove!

Prep the spices and tomatoes and celery in olive oil and butter …

Add the parboiled rice, water, stir and stick in the oven…

Then add shrimp and peas…

Stick back in oven and then bam!

And over Thanksgiving, the best tasting Moi Moi I have ever made (thanks to a new technique) came out to play with my tastebuds…

Thank goodness I have this stack waiting for me when I go home at night…*sigh*

That’s all I got folks!  Pray for me and my waistline abeg.  I have gained 7 pounds and I have been running everyday to get rid of it with no signs of improvement.

35 Responses to “The reason I can’t lose weight these days.”

  1. Gaminegirlie December 2, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    The reasons I won’t mind

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      he he he…I would normally NOT mind but when your clothes dont fit, it tends to be a miserable day.

  2. IjusCant December 2, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Do you mind sharing some of your recipes…pretty please with Ofe Onugbo on top 🙂

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 9:46 am #

      No problem, send me an e-mail at lucidlilith at gmail and what recipes you want.

  3. Ibhade December 2, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    Now am really hungry!…..waistline?…me no worry at all!…..YOU SURE DO LIKE COOKING O!..*thumbs up*

    p.s….help me tell turtle say he is a lucky man! *grinning*

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 9:47 am #

      I don’t think he knows that. He is always complaining about this dish being too dry or that dish being too spicy…lol. He is so spoiled.

  4. taynement December 2, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Jesus is Lord. Ofe nsala is my fav soup. I love scotch eggs. I think I will be stalking you after I graduate.

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 9:48 am #

      I your case, I will not really call it stalking…he he he…don’t worry. Some day, you will come to my neck of the woods.

  5. Tomi December 2, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    LOL @ Your adaptation of the song to your weight loss theme. My mouth is watering looking at the pics of the dishes! Just saw im on your blogroll, thanks a bunch:) Do put up some recipes!

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 9:49 am #

      I am glad you noticed the “bed intruder” theme. I honestly don’t think I am that good a cook to be putting up recipes but I can send you some via e-mail.

  6. Nice Anon December 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Ihe erimeri everywhere. Biko ele ebe isiri wete your foil tin for the moi moi?

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      Walmart – Gote ndi obele ha na kpo “pie pans.”

  7. Caramel Delight December 3, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Chai you will not kill me for my Mother! Please let me move in!!! So this is the high life that Turtle is enjoying? Good times!

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      All the way from London???? How will you commute to work? lol.

  8. Ginger December 3, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    My gut reaction about your waistline? Ntoo! mmeee! for eating all this scrumptious dishes by yourself.
    *sulkingly walks off to eat her macaroni cheese..

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

      lmao! You are funny. I like mac and cheese…especially when you add ground beef…

  9. Ginger December 3, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    Did you change you header?
    Are those sexy brown eyes staring at me, yours or google borrow borrow?

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

      Yes…I wanted to change my blog theme but all the one I saw out there were so myeeehh. So I changed the header. And no, my eyes are not that sexy.

  10. EDJ December 3, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    wow. When I grow up I want to be just like you.

    • lucidlilith December 3, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      Okay, now I feel old.

      • EDJ December 5, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

        Lol. Kpele. I must say when I read your post about being a generational fence sitter I was truly surprised to find out how old you are.

        I probably made you feel old again, didn’t I? My bad.

  11. mpb December 3, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    biko m choro recipe too. moin moin is my kryptonite….it nevers “forms” solid for me. expect an email. thanks.

    • lucidlilith December 7, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      I sent you the recipes via e-mail dear.

  12. joicee December 4, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I can see you really love to cook, Turtle is one lucky one. With all this delicious food, enjoy jare..the waistline will take care of itself.

    • lucidlilith December 7, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

      i enjoy the food then i suffer with wearing tight clothes….lol.

  13. Sugabelly December 5, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    Chineke God Lillith! I rebuke you! Are you trying to make me fat through the Internet?

    In fact, this is the last time I am coming to this blog again for my own health and safety.

    Just looking at this food has made me gain five pounds!!

    But abeg what is that scotch egg recipe? Please and the ofe nsala too!!

    • lucidlilith December 7, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

      lol..sugabelly you are just too funny.
      Please don’t rebuke me oh. I just hate eating in restaurants…I prefer to spend$20 at the grocery store to buy fresh ingredients than to buy lunch at a restaurant. Besides, cooking is way cheaper than eating out.

  14. Caramel Delight December 6, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    I will give up work if I am assured food like this oh! You know you are now going to have to set up another blog for receipes!

    • lucidlilith December 7, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      I can barely maintain this one blog not to talk of a food blog. But sha, it is a good idea…i will ponder.

  15. 2cute4u December 7, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    Mouth watering..

    • lucidlilith December 7, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      thanks.

  16. myne Whitman December 7, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    All those look yummy, even the pot roast. I need to try that one of these days.

    As an asaba girl, Ofe Nsala is number one soup in our house. And I’ll be topping up my spices right from source here, lol…

    • lucidlilith December 7, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      I must say, I had never tried cooking it before. My sister even brought me “achi” to use rather than boiled and mashed yam substitute. It was really good!

  17. GoodNaijaGirl December 7, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    This post is making me hungry…seriously!

    • lucidlilith December 7, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      Now you are making me hungry. am off to run off these extra pounds.

Leave a Reply

