From Samsung to Samsung to the Throne!

8 Dec

I returned the LG Ally I was so excited about because it was too slow.  Shiny on the outside, not much on the inside.  I decided I was either going to get an Droid 2 or a Droid X but Motorola phones are kinda stodgy and clunky.  So I paid the restocking fee, reactivated my old Samsung Glyde and decided to wait for Black Friday to see if I could get a Samsung Fascinate at Best Buy for $1 but the idea of standing in line for a phone I may or may not get did not appeal to me.

Fortunately, Turtle was due for an upgrade too.  He took me along with him to Verizon to get his new phone.  Somehow in the middle of all the negotiations, I got a Samsung Fascinate.  Or rather he paid for it after all the rebates.  My original plan was to have his credit card with a preset spending limit to go shop for clothes.  But I figured this was waaaaaaay better.

Needless to say,  the next Monday,  I thoroughly annoyed people … whipping out my Samsung and just looking oh-so-important-and-connected.  I especially made a bee-line for those darn pesky iphone users that think the world revolves around them.

The best thing about having this cool phone is that I can take it to the bathroom with me without having to be all sneaky.

Lemme explain.

I am  not a patient person.  Not in life and not in the bathroom.  Sitting and waiting to go is just torture to me, and I usually get up and leave when I feel like I am close to being done, which is never the case… and sometimes, I have to go back.  Yeah.  Annoying.  To distract myself from twiddling my thumbs and being impatient, I take reading materials with me  … so at least I am doing something while I wait.  At home this is not an issue.  I’ve got magazines in my bathroom.  BUT at work, try sneaking past all those admin assistants or random people in the  hallway while heading to the bathroom carrying a book or magazine.  Yes, nothing says , “I’M GOING TO DO A NUMBER TWO,”  more than that scenario.

But with my Fascinate, I can discreetly go the bathroom and while I wait for my innards to cooperate, I check the news or get on twitter…yes… Taynement…that tweet about my android app being all weird was sent while I was on the throne.

/TMI

5 Responses to “From Samsung to Samsung to the Throne!”

  1. anoda phase December 8, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    lol…to think I was really waiting to know what the throne is/was…I thot it was a new kind of phone…lol.

  2. taynement December 9, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    Geez Luiz, Luzid. Don’t be putting my name and throne in the same sentence lol. I am happy for you, welcome to the 21st century! enjoy!

  3. EDJ December 9, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Lol. Welcome to the 21st century indeed and welcome to Android, I think it is an awesome phone system! Blackberry and iPhone are just eww.

    I take my phone to the bathroom at work as well, but I end up playing games like Bubble Blast 2. TMI? Perhaps.

  4. jollof December 10, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    “I thoroughly annoyed people with whipping out my Samsung and just looking oh-so-important-and-connected. I especially made a bee-line for those darn pesky iphone users that think the world revolves around them.” – my favourite part…and the one about the number 2 scenario. Just don’t drop your Fascinate in the yb accident loo (eeww).

    Btw, it looks so much like an Iphone in fact are you sure ‘Samsung’ printed on the top isn’t the only difference? Sure fooled me

    I see you updated your header (your eyes I presume or United colors of Benetton). We’re no longer using the same theme (but I guess you noticed) See you soon 😀

  5. Ginger December 15, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Lucky lucky you LL. Enjoy. I’m all ready to go queue somewhere and get Samsung Galaxy or Fascinate. Thats a lighter load than a laptop while on the throne!

    That was a joke o…

Leave a Reply

