2010 has been great!

14 Dec

I have done my annual self assessment and I profess that this year was not bad at all.  In fact, it may have been one of my most productive.  I am one semester away from graduating, I am about to get a mini promotion of some sort, I have settled into my relationship with Turtle and we are working on our lives together for the future, my family is happy and healthy…in fact, I feel blessed.  Especially knowing I have my blog fam and their support.  Seriously, you guys are my rock.  You have helped me through so much and made me feel that no problem was to big to be solved.

Okay – moving on….

We had flurries in Atlanta!  I was so happy to see snow that I took a video from our apartment balcony:

By the way…the black car you see briefly is my new 2007 Honda Accord.  Okay, not quite new but I bought it from a friend for a steal.  See why 2010 has been great?

We went out to dinner with a few of Turtle’s colleagues and I had one of the most awesome Margarita Swirls at Uncle Julio’s in Atlanta.

I must have had one too many because soon I was sending out buzzed tweets:

Tweet 1: Just had dinner at uncle julios in atl…awesome margaritas!
Tweet 2: I should not be spensing this much.money
Tweet 3: Scuse my spelling …its the margs
Tweet 4: Am not drunk I swear. Btw…is there such a thing as dweetting…as in drunk tweeting?
 

On another topic, I was organizing my recipe book and it got me thinking…maybe I shoud make part of this blog a food blog…you know … having a recipe of the week or something.  I am not sure if I want to go this route but I think that it may be a good idea as some people ask me for recipes and tips all the time.

Last week I made a new quichey kind of dish called Mediterranean Frittata.  Turtle says I am so good at making quiche dishes.  This one was goooooooood!!!!!

We finished the whole thing in one day.  Bad greedy couple we are…

This last weekend I was in the mood for jollof rice and chicken so I made some with a little twist.  I used diced tomatoes and bell peppers with half a tin of tomato paste.  I must say, it was a good way to change it up a bit.

I sort of wish I made more than half a pot.

I decided to bake rather than fry the chicken.

 

To be continued…..on my next post!

10 Responses to “2010 has been great!”

  1. lovli December 14, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Where do you get snails from in ATL? I live in Florida but will make the trip for some snails,

    • lucidlilith December 14, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      There is a store about 5 miles from where I live that sells it. Send me an e-mail and I will give you their phone number. Also, a lot of farmer’s markets have snails.

  2. mpb December 14, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Men that looks so freaking yummy!

  3. Ibhade December 15, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    Am happy so for you…..& that would be nice, i would copy the recipes i like…..weldone & have a merry xmas.

  4. Ginger December 15, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Ada igbo, glad to hear 2010 was a good one for you. Wishin you even better years ahead! Meanwhile, reading you recipe i was transported back to the deepest reach of Igboland. Na wa o! Eju, Isam, ede. Next thing you’ll tell us Turtle pounds yam lol!

  5. Ginger December 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    A recipe post is a wonderful idea. Just do it small small o. Dont go too exotic on us.

  6. Good Naija Girl December 16, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    This entry is making me HUNGRY…seriouisly! I like the idea of a recipe portion of your blog.

    I’m glad that 2010 was so great. Congrats on your new ride! 🙂

  7. Adanne December 20, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Woot! Woot!! on the new car…thou deserveth it lol
    Good to know 2010 was a good year for you. Mine was half & half (too many deaths & sticker shocker stuffs) but the good stuff more than made up for the bad. looking forward to reading what 2011 brings for you.

  8. Adanne December 20, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    And periwinkles & snails? can the store ship orders? that would have been nice to have for christmas!

  9. 2cute4u December 22, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    So good to have so much to be contented for..
    Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year..

Leave a Reply

