New York, Jersey, Skiing, Angry Birds et al

4 Jan

I did not mean to disappear for a long time.  Stuff just happened.  Nothing bad…I just got so busy and every time I started to blog, something would come up and I never get to finish my line of thought.

Well, happy new year to you all.  The last year was great.  This year I feel will be better.  Here we go:

Turtle and I went to New York for the holidays.  We had a lot of fun.  We even had time to visit a few extended family friends in New Jersey despite the blizzard.  They wined and dined us and then gave Turtle a brief tutorial on Igbo traditional weddings.  All he was interested in was how much the dowry would cost him….lol.

I went skiing for the first time.  It was sooooooooooooooo scary!!!  IMO whoever said the “bunny” slope is a beginners’ slope is crazy.  There is nothing easy about it.  I wiped out so many times that I got snow in my butt crack.  At one time, I was going downhill so fast and heading for a huge metal beam near the lift that took people up the hill….I could hear Turtle screaming in the distance “TURN!!!!!!!”  but in my head, it was just a slow motion moment…do I hit the pole and break a few bones or do I tip over and fall?  I tipped myself over and fell …but the momentum was so great I kept sliding for a few more yards before stopping just inches from the beam.  I can’t wait to do this again.

Angry Birds has taken over my life.  I heard about this game from the syndicated Elvis Duran morning show.  They say it is very addictive.  Knowing this, I don’t k now why I downloaded this game on my smartphone to entertain Turtle’s little nephew who sat at our table during a surprise birthday dinner they had for Turtle’s mom.  Before long, our table was munchkin central…with all the kids crowding around to play Angry Birds.  I would not be blogging about this if Turtle did not get into it as well, sucking up all the juice from my phone because he would just be on it for HOURS.  When he rejected Howard Stern for Angry Birds, I knew an addict was born.

We went to dinner with some of Turtle’s high school buddies in Rochacha (Rochester) – all married, some with kids.  Inevitably, the conversation turned to potty training kids. Yuck.  *kneels to pray* God, please don’t let me turn into one of those parents that can’t have normal conversations.

I moved to a new position at my job.  I thank God who makes all things possible.  Whatever extra dough I earn will go into my gas bill which is really killing me ya’ll.  I hear prices will climb to $4 this year.  Chei!  Olorun maje! (You know this is serious when I start rebuking things in Yoruba).

I hope you all kill it this year!~  Amen!

 

18 Responses to “New York, Jersey, Skiing, Angry Birds et al”

  1. taynement January 4, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Yo that parents only talking about their kids thing is hella amazing. I am like you do realize I don’t have kids how can I contribute to this convo?

    Congrats at your new position. extra money is never a bad thing.

    Happy New Year

    • lucidlilith January 6, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

      Thanks luv! I read on your blog of all the partying you did in naija. Abeg post some pics jo.

  2. mpb January 4, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    yep this was a sign from God that i should join the angry birds bandwagon.

    • lucidlilith January 6, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      ooooohhhh…don’t go there. trust me….you lose days and become unproductive.

  3. Ibhade January 5, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    Happy new year!….glad you had fun…hope you are ok from all the falls?…no pain no gain they say…so keep on practicing & you would get it right 🙂

    how much the dowry would cost him?.. *laughing*

    • lucidlilith January 6, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

      Can you imagine that it is the only thing that worries him….ol.

  4. Mamuje January 5, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    Happy New Year, seems you had a blast this holiday season. Nice one…

    Still laughing at Turtle’s worries about the dowry…. I cant help but worry for him too. lol

    • lucidlilith January 6, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      I just hope he does not start hearing rumors about igbo women being expensive to marry.

  5. Joxy January 5, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Happy New Year me dear. I apologize on behalf of all those ‘parents’. I am one of them, lol.

    • Joxy January 5, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Oops! Forgot to congratulate you on your promotion, well done girl. Can’t wait for my invitation to the wine carrying 🙂

  6. Good Naija Girl January 5, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Happy New Year! I’m glad you had a good holiday and I hope you’ll keep us posted regarding your upcoming engagement 😉

    Congrats on the promotion!

    lol at the seriousness of things when you start rebuking in Yoruba! Na wa o!

    • lucidlilith January 6, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      Engagement ke? My dear at this age, all i want to do is just run off to vegas. It might just happen.

  7. EDJ January 5, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Happy New Year! Glad you had fun skiing. Where’d you go? The Catskills?

    You know, I tried to get on the Angry Birds wagon but the version I downloaded from the marketplace was really really slow and refused to run! I am hooked on Bubble Blast 2 though.

    Glad you had a great holiday. 2011 is off to a great start for you with the promotion as well! Congrats.

    • lucidlilith January 6, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

      Thank you so much! I am thankful for the extra cash too as small as it is 🙂

      For skiing we went to Swain Resort.

      • EDJ January 7, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

        I really have never been skiing. Its sad. Maybe next winter?

        Extra cash is always helpful!

        By the way I just realized my blog is listed under Progressive, thanks much! lol

  8. Ginger January 6, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Missed you NY baby!!!!
    methinks this is a great start to a great year!!
    Do soothe poor Turtle’s worried purse. Igbo brides don’t cost that much anymore. I think our elders have realised the folly of their ways…..
    eanwhile you’ve killed all the romantic notions i had about skiing being a tame sport. I shall make do with skating on an ice rink.

    • lucidlilith January 6, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      My dear, skiing is tough to master but once you get it, It can be exhilarating!

      btw- your xmas blog post made me hungry.

  9. Ibhade January 12, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    Hello sister, i tagged you among THE STYLISH & VERSATILE BLOGGERS AWARDS….pls visit my blog to know what is expected of you…tnxxxx

Leave a Reply

